Old 06-04-2010   #1
MyCE Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 44
How to use SATA II hard drive as boot drive in older motherboard ?

I have a MSI - KM4M-V motherboard .
My IDE drive died so I want use the WD 500GB SATA II Green drive as boot drive.So what can I do set this up ?
SuperDuty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010   #2
MyCE Resident
 
Mr. Belvedere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: (╯°□°)╯ ლ(ಠ益ಠ)ლ
Posts: 19,341
Re: How to use SATA II hard drive as boot drive in older motherboard ?

Just plug it in i guess. The board has sata.
__________________
"Use the force Harry!" - Gandalf
Mr. Belvedere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010   #3
Senior Moderator
 
mciahel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 17,090
Hi,
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperDuty View Post
I have a MSI - KM4M-V motherboard .
My IDE drive died so I want use the WD 500GB SATA II Green drive as boot drive.So what can I do set this up ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Belvedere View Post
Just plug it in i guess. The board has sata.
No. "Just plug in" does not work.
This motherboard is equipped with an older Via chipset that is not as compatible as expected. A Sata II HDD must be converted to Sata I operation mode to work properly on Via based Sata controllers.
Luckily, most WD HDDs have a jumper setting for this purpose. I'd suggest to check WD supprt website for details.

Additionally, the motherboard Bios version should be at least version 1.3 (which introduced a newer Sata controller bios).

Michael
mciahel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2010   #4
MyCE Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 44
Hi,
Your mciahel right it's Jumpered Pins 5 and 6.
How can I slow down the start up screens to see the Motherboard Bios version is ?
MSI Live update says Bios up to date I don't think so the Sata Bios should be version 4 it's not it's version 2.

THANKS
SuperDuty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2010   #5
MyCE Resident
 
eric93se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,622
Re: How to use SATA II hard drive as boot drive in older motherboard ?

Use CPU-Z (its free) it can tell you the MB BIOS version.

I recommend manually downloading the BIOS and doing the update with the computer offline.
eric93se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2010   #6
Senior Moderator
 
mciahel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 17,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperDuty View Post
Your mciahel right it's Jumpered Pins 5 and 6.
Good to read this jumper still exists
Quote:
How can I slow down the start up screens to see the Motherboard Bios version is ?
Press the Pause key According to MSI Germany, latest Bios for that motherboard is 1.4

Michael
mciahel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2010   #7
MyCE Resident
 
Mr. Belvedere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: (╯°□°)╯ ლ(ಠ益ಠ)ლ
Posts: 19,341
Re: How to use SATA II hard drive as boot drive in older motherboard ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mciahel View Post
This motherboard is equipped with an older Via chipset that is not as compatible as expected. A Sata II HDD must be converted to Sata I operation mode to work properly on Via based Sata controllers.
I never knew this, i'm sorry if i misled anybody.

Thanks for the info mciahel!
__________________
"Use the force Harry!" - Gandalf
Mr. Belvedere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2010   #8
Senior Moderator
 
mciahel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 17,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Belvedere View Post
I never knew this, i'm sorry if i misled anybody.
No problem.
Many users aren't aware of such special features. Another "feature" is (partial) incompatibility with optical Sata drives

Michael
mciahel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010   #9
MyCE Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 44
Hi,
I use the Pause Key got version 1.2.
I'll try to Flash Bios the CD way got message.
MESSAGE: Insufficient Memory !
I have 1.5 gb.
SuperDuty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010   #10
Senior Moderator
 
mciahel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 17,090
Re: How to use SATA II hard drive as boot drive in older motherboard ?

Hi,

you may go through this: http://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=90642.0 and follow some links given there if needed.

Also check this: http://us.msi.com/support/sup_tshoot.asp

If your motherboard already supports booting from USB, then using a bootable USB stick is worth considering.

Michael
mciahel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010   #11
MyCE Resident
 
Mr. Belvedere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: (╯°□°)╯ ლ(ಠ益ಠ)ლ
Posts: 19,341
Re: How to use SATA II hard drive as boot drive in older motherboard ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mciahel View Post
No problem.
Many users aren't aware of such special features. Another "feature" is (partial) incompatibility with optical Sata drives

Michael
Hurray for Sata! You know, somewhere i'm still glad i still use old Pentium 3 and 4's with IDE and basic Operating Systems..
__________________
"Use the force Harry!" - Gandalf
Mr. Belvedere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010   #12
MyCE Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 44
hi, I'm back took awhile to Flash Bios from version 1.2 to 1.4 USB drive problems.
I guess the Sata ports are raid only.
Because I what the Sata drive as a OS Boot drive.
I thought the newer version will solve the problem.
I have a Sata adapter that plug into the IDE socket on motherboard.
I'll let you how that works.


SuperDuty
SuperDuty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010   #13
MyCE Resident
 
eric93se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,622
Re: How to use SATA II hard drive as boot drive in older motherboard ?

Look in the bios, you should be able to configure the SATA as non raid.
eric93se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010   #14
MyCE Resident
 
getit29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Standing Right behind you
Posts: 2,417
Re: How to use SATA II hard drive as boot drive in older motherboard ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperDuty View Post
I guess the Sata ports are raid only.
I've never heard of such a thing as the SATA ports being Raid only you can set
them in the BIOS for IDE mode as eric93se suggested. I'm not real sure what it is
listed under in your BIOS as I do not use MSI products anymore but still it should
be listed there some where.
__________________
Fight organized crime! Do Not Re-elect any career Politicians the next time you vote.

Main system burners
1 ASUS DRW-24B1LT cross flashed To Lite-On iHAS624 in external enclosure
1 Liteon iHAS 124-04B true iHAS124-04 Liteon drive
1 Liteon iHAS 524-98A true iHAS-524 Liteon drive
1 ASUS DRW-24B1LT cross flashed To Lite-On iHAS424
1 ASUS DRW-24B1LT cross flashed To Lite-On iHAS324
1 Samsung S203B

Secondary system
1 Samsung S203B
1 Liteon 20A1S
1 Liteon 160P6S

System Specs
getit29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010   #15
Senior Moderator
 
mciahel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 17,090
Hi,
Quote:
Originally Posted by getit29 View Post
I've never heard of such a thing as the SATA ports being Raid only you can set
them in the BIOS for IDE mode as eric93se suggested.
Basically, you are correct. The hardware supports RAID and non-Raid operation modes. Now it is up to the motherboard manufacturers (and their Bios "programmers") what options they offer to the user. I have heard that some early Asus motherboards with Via chipsets were lacking such options.
Quote:
I'm not real sure what it is
listed under in your BIOS
Unfortunately, the manual isn't helpful here.

If the options are similar to my MSI S939 Board (with the same southbridge), then there should be the options
  • Disabled
  • Sata
  • Raid
Listed unter "onboard Sata Controller"
But since this is a totally different board, this must not necessarily be true.

Michael
mciahel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010   #16
MyCE Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 44
Hi'
I check Bios .again.
Phoenix-AwardBIOS v6.00PG
W7061VMS V1.4

Standard CMOS Features - No Sata just IDE

Advanced BIOS Features
Boot Sequence -
Floppy
LS120
HDD-0
SCSI
CDROM
HDD-1
HDD-2
HDD-3
ZIP100
USB-FDD
USB-ZIP
USB-CDROM
USB-HDD
LAN
Disabled

Intergrated Peripherals -
VIA OnCHIP IDE - OnChip SATA ( ENABLED )


In DISK Management
DISK 0 ( C: ) 18.64 GB
Basic
18.64GB
Online

DISK 1 Unallocated
Basic
465.76GB
Online

Also the new BIOS change the CPU Name from Sempron to AMD ATHLON MP - AMD ATHLON (tm) XP 1600+

THANKS, SuperDuty
SuperDuty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010   #17
Senior Moderator
 
mciahel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 17,090
Re: How to use SATA II hard drive as boot drive in older motherboard ?

So, what's the problem now?
Since the new HDD is empty, it can't be chosen as boot device.

My suggestion: Unplug the old HDD, then boot from your OS install disc, install your operating system and see what happens

Michael
mciahel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010   #18
MyCE Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 44
Hi,
The Standard CMOS Features still can't see the SATA Drive.
Even after reformat drive using NTFS.
Went into Advanced BIOS Features - Boot Sequence set CDROM then SCSI.
Ran Windows XP to installed ,says no HHD to install.

Guess I'm Newbe at this
SuperDuty
SuperDuty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010   #19
MyCE Resident
 
Mr. Belvedere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: (╯°□°)╯ ლ(ಠ益ಠ)ლ
Posts: 19,341
Re: How to use SATA II hard drive as boot drive in older motherboard ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperDuty View Post
Ran Windows XP to installed ,says no HHD to install.
Ah yes, that is a common problem. You will require to put the SATA drivers on a floppy disk drive (or usb stick). When Windows XP comes up with the message "Press F6 for additional drivers", you press F6 and have it load the drivers on your floppy.
__________________
"Use the force Harry!" - Gandalf
Mr. Belvedere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010   #20
MyCE Resident
 
DiiZzY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Nordic Region, Sweden
Posts: 3,676
Re: How to use SATA II hard drive as boot drive in older motherboard ?

Uhm... how would an USB stick help?
Use nLite and slipstream
//Danne
DiiZzY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010   #21
Senior Moderator
 
mciahel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 17,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperDuty View Post
Hi,
The Standard CMOS Features still can't see the SATA Drive.
Even after reformat drive using NTFS.
Went into Advanced BIOS Features - Boot Sequence set CDROM then SCSI.
Ran Windows XP to installed ,says no HHD to install.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Belvedere View Post
Ah yes, that is a common problem. You will require to put the SATA drivers on a floppy disk drive (or usb stick). When Windows XP comes up with the message "Press F6 for additional drivers", you press F6 and have it load the drivers on your floppy.
This is really odd since this would indeed mean, the Sata controller is not running in IDE compatible mode
The Sata controller in 8237 southbridge should run in IDE mode unless it is set to RAID. AHCI and other advanced modes are unknown to this controller.

Michael
mciahel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010   #22
MyCE Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 44
Hi,
Which Sata driver I use ?


VIA PIDE/SATA RAID Drivers & Utility

DescriptionWin XP/2K Ver: 5.1.2600.540
Win 98/Me Ver: 2.0.950.540
Win Vista Ver: 5.11aUpdate Date2008-04-30




VIA VT8237(R) SATA RAID Driver (For floppy driver)

DescriptionVIA SATA RAID driver
1. Extract the file in the RAID folder and Copy all files to the floppy.
2. Press F6 to install driver through the floppy when booting and loading RAID function.Update Date2006-09-15



http://www.msi.com/index.php?func=do...=1&prod_no=589
SuperDuty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010   #23
Senior Moderator
 
mciahel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 17,090
Re: How to use SATA II hard drive as boot drive in older motherboard ?

You need the "for Floppy" driver.

Apart from that, these are very old. You have been told where to get the latest stuff from Via directly.
The "for Floppy" stuff is part of the Hyperion Pro driver package also and accessible after extraction of the archive. Please also check the readme and other textfiles you find after extraction.

Michael
mciahel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2010   #24
MyCE Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 44
Hi,
Sorry about slow reply I been updating Windows XP on SATA II Drive. The Floppy Raid Driver work using F6.
Windows sees the whole drive no 130GB limit plus no unallocated space.
Visited the VIA web site they have newer drivers.
Right now using MSI latest drivers see how these works.

THANK YOU VERY MUCH EVERYBODY
SuperDuty
SuperDuty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2010   #25
MyCE Resident
 
Mr. Belvedere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: (╯°□°)╯ ლ(ಠ益ಠ)ლ
Posts: 19,341
Re: How to use SATA II hard drive as boot drive in older motherboard ?

Quote:
This is really odd since this would indeed mean, the Sata controller is not running in IDE compatible mode
The Sata controller in 8237 southbridge should run in IDE mode unless it is set to RAID. AHCI and other advanced modes are unknown to this controller.
Well....

Quote:
This motherboard is equipped with an older Via chipset that is not as compatible as expected.
Quote:
Uhm... how would an USB stick help?
Some XP discs support more usb devices than others, depends on how old it is. Some USB devices have a floppy partition

Quote:
Use nLite and slipstream
Even better, but not possible when you only have one computer and that one isn't working.

And SuperDuty? Make a bootable backup (image) of your system, now that it's working.
__________________
"Use the force Harry!" - Gandalf
Mr. Belvedere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hardware problem: SATA II hard drive set to UDMA Mode 5 PunchsucKr Solid State Drives (SSD), Hard Drives (HDD) and NAS 10 15-11-2009 16:53
Please Help: Hard Drive boot problems (Western Digital WD800BB Caviar 80 GB Hard Drive (20 Pack)) wvfireman45 General Hardware Forum 1 10-09-2008 00:45
Samsung 183L Sata drive has stopped working, won't boot from drive or work in windows LukeT Samsung / Toshiba / TSST Writer 4 19-11-2007 10:29
Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000 1TB SATA II 7200RPM 32MB Buffer Hard Drive only $320 Shipped ghetocowboy Bargain Basement 11 21-06-2007 03:47
Seagate Barracuda 750 GB SATA II hard drive reviewed @The Tech Lounge geno888 Solid State Drives (SSD), Hard Drives (HDD) and NAS 0 22-05-2007 17:34


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:20.
Top