Old 11-01-2010   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
How to make use of the AV-In port?

Hi thar! I have a very irritating problem with my laptop, or one of it's ports we can say... My Asus G2S has an AV-In port, no it's not out, it's IN. It says so with letters on the side. The laptop even came with a cable to connect the red, white and yellow ones into, which then is connected into the laptop.
However, I have no idea how to make use of this? Is there any software needed? Can I do it directly with Vista? I want to connect my Wii or Xbox 360, so I can play on my laptop screen. I've searched everywhere, googled it up and down but no results.

So, to clarify. I have the AV-In port, I have the necessary cables, but I do not know how to make the image pop up on my screen. There were no software supplied with the laptop to make use of this port. Do anyone know?

Thanks for all help (L)
Shailent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010   #2
MyCE Resident
 
eric93se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,622
Re: How to make use of the AV-In port?

You need to search for free "video capture" software. Does the manual say anything?
eric93se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010   #3
Senior Moderator
 
platinumsword's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5,611
Re: How to make use of the AV-In port?

One of the uses would be to view files on a Camera.

The picture below is an example of a cable that could be plug-in to the AV port and will allow you to view the pictures from a camera on the larger screen size.

Attached Images
 
__________________
Monster HDP 2500 / Toshiba 55UL610U / Onkyo TX-NR818 / Energy RC-70,RC-LCR,CF-70 / Velodyne EQ-Max 12 / Oppo BDP-83 / LG LDA-831


Three simple rules:

1. Never Change the Deal
2. No Names.
3. Never Open the Package.


platinumsword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010   #4
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Re: How to make use of the AV-In port?

Just a picture to show everyone :P
Embedded Images

View/download images and remove advertisements by registering now! (it's easy, free and takes less than a minute)

You must be registered in order view images in this forum.



And no, there were no manual with the laptop. Alright, I'll check the web for some video capture software! I'll be back and let you know!

I even got and FM/DTV antennae with the laptop but nothing to tell me how to use it:P (This is off-topic, sorry.)

Edit:

Found a program that at least gave me a picture on the screen:

Embedded Images

View/download images and remove advertisements by registering now! (it's easy, free and takes less than a minute)

You must be registered in order view images in this forum.

Embedded Images

View/download images and remove advertisements by registering now! (it's easy, free and takes less than a minute)

You must be registered in order view images in this forum.

Thats a lot of progress! (For me atleast...)
Now, can anyone tell my why the picture won't show correctly? All cables are correctly plugged. Might it be my resolution?
And to the guys above, thanks a lot!

Last edited by Shailent; 11-01-2010 at 07:34. Reason: Progress
Shailent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010   #5
MyCE Resident
 
eric93se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,622
Re: How to make use of the AV-In port?

Here is a thread you might want to read through. Link
eric93se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010   #6
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric93se View Post
Here is a thread you might want to read through. Link


Checked everything, but nothing on my problem :\ I have the xbox on-screen, except it flickers, as you can see from my pictures. So, the first problem was solved, but only raised another one. Anyone?

I don't know if it might be something wrong with my AV-In port, or the cable between the composite from the xbox and the port. Last time I saw something similar was when my composite was badly connected to my TV.
Shailent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010   #7
Senior Moderator
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: In the present, the past was so long ago...
Posts: 7,453
Re: How to make use of the AV-In port?

Have you looked in Device Manager to see what capture device it is?
olyteddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010   #8
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
No, I didn't see the need for that. When I connect my camera to the S-video in port on the same cable. (See picture above.) I get a stable picture and it works perfectly.

Do you think it might be driver related?
Shailent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010   #9
MyCE Resident
 
eric93se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,622
Re: How to make use of the AV-In port?

Could definitely be the driver, but you need to know exactly what the device model is. If you use windows update to automatically update the driver, but that doesn't always go as planned.
eric93se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010   #10
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Ok, checked around in Device Manager. The closest thing I came was "TV tuner device", which is updated with the latest driver from Asus.com. However, the driver is almost 3 years old...
Shailent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010   #11
MyCE Resident
 
eric93se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,622
Re: How to make use of the AV-In port?

Try some more free capture software Some will work while other won't (with that hardware).
eric93se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2010   #12
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Re: How to make use of the AV-In port?

No luck :\ I'm out of options or luck. Maybe I'll just buy a S-video output cable for the xbox, seems easier :P
Shailent is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AV Receiver harley558 Consumer electronics 1 24-10-2009 02:42
AV Reciever harley558 Consumer electronics 1 22-10-2009 02:14
Liteon DD-A100X - AV input quality poor/unable to record from AV Tidus21 Consumer electronics 1 24-05-2007 23:48
AV receivers stealthwolf Consumer electronics 0 24-12-2004 12:02


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:37.
Top