Old 02-11-2003   #1
MyCE Resident
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,941
How can I find out what graphics card I have?

A computer that was once used, got formatted, so everything was cleared out of the system. When I right-click the desktop to change the colo(u)r settings, it won't go higher than 16 colo(u)rs.

Before it was formatted, there was no problem with the colo(u)rs. Someone suggested that it might be the drivers, which must have got trashed in the fomatting, that must be the problem.

I don't know where the disk is to install the drivers back into the harddrive, but I'm sure you can download them from somewhere (the graphic card's manufacturer's website). But the problem is, that I don't know what graphics card it is.

So, is it possible to find out what graphics card I have? Is there a program that is able to detect who makes it, or is there a windows-built program able to do that (already in windows)?

Please, the colo(u)rs are getting really annoying (Imagine using a computer with 16 colo(u)rs!)

Thanks for your time, hope someone can help
theone1_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2003   #2
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 17
Hello,

The best and most accurate way is to physically open the computer and check the graphics card.

Cheers.
Doughnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2003   #3
MyCE Resident
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,941
I have solved my problem. Thanks anyway.

The way I found out what graphics card it was, was by looking at the first screen on system startup (In DOS). It said what graphics card it was (SiS 6236, I think). Thanks anyway
theone1_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2003   #4
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 1
rightclick on your desktop, go to settings and under the moniter picture it should say "Moniter on Soso Videocard"
temperx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2003   #5
CD Freaks Troll
 
Stoner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,373
Quote:
Originally posted by temperx
rightclick on your desktop, go to settings and under the moniter picture it should say "Moniter on Soso Videocard"
That info will not be available until you install drivers for said components.

The correct and easiest method was mentioned by theone1.
Stoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2003   #6
Retired Administrator
 
Dee-ehn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: On my chair
Posts: 15,198
I remember from a very long time ago, that there were certain dos utilities that could read the name of the VGA card from its BIOS. I just can't find such a tool anymore... anybody?
Dee-ehn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2003   #7
CDFreaks Resident
 
BoSkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sthlm
Posts: 5,606
Re: How can I find out what graphics card I have?

Nero InfoTool ( current 2.07 ) > Hardware tab
BoSkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2003   #8
Retired Administrator
 
Dee-ehn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: On my chair
Posts: 15,198
Re: Re: How can I find out what graphics card I have?

Quote:
Originally posted by BoSkin
Nero InfoTool ( current 2.07 ) > Hardware tab
Does that work without a video driver installed?
Dee-ehn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2003   #9
CDFreaks Resident
 
BoSkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sthlm
Posts: 5,606
video driver disabled

Quote:
Originally posted by Dee-ehn

Does that work without a video driver installed?
Try disabling it in DM and see if it still works...as below :

Embedded Images

View/download images and remove advertisements by registering now! (it's easy, free and takes less than a minute)

You must be registered in order view images in this forum.
BoSkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2003   #10
Retired Administrator
 
Dee-ehn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: On my chair
Posts: 15,198
Re: video driver disabled

Quote:
Originally posted by BoSkin
Try disabling it in DM and see if it still works...as below :

Embedded Images

View/download images and remove advertisements by registering now! (it's easy, free and takes less than a minute)

You must be registered in order view images in this forum.
I'm not really sure if disabling has the same effect as not installing a driver...

I'll test this however the next time I have to install a Windows PC, I'm quite curious to find out!
Dee-ehn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2003   #11
CDFreaks Resident
 
BoSkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sthlm
Posts: 5,606
disable

Quote:
Originally posted by Dee-ehn

I'm not really sure if disabling has the same effect as not installing a driver...
Quote:
Disable =

to make a device nonfunctional
.
For example, if you disable a device in a hardware configuration,
you cannot use the device when your computer uses that hardware configuration.
Disabling a device frees the resources that were allocated to the device.

When you disable a device, the physical device stays connected to your computer.
The drivers are available again when you enable the device.
---
Important

If you disable a device that is required to start the system, such as your floppy disk drive or DVD/CD-ROM drive, these devices will not work, and your system might not start.

Last edited by BoSkin; 07-11-2003 at 10:06.
BoSkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphics card nu user General Hardware Forum 3 01-09-2006 02:00
A new graphics card DuncanJF General Hardware Forum 19 08-03-2006 11:20
Graphics card furqaan Newbie Forum 16 14-04-2005 00:15
Hello! Graphics Card? Razamajazz Newbie Forum 5 28-11-2004 22:11
Which graphics card? Lvsitano General Hardware Forum 5 19-10-2003 02:14


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:55.
Top