Old 29-07-2008   #1
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Can I upgrade my CPU?

i am wondering if i can upgrade my CPU with a better one, as it is starting to slow down. i have a Compaq Presario S5200NX.....yes, i know its old, but its been very reliable for my needs, and i just dont have the money to buy a new one... it is a 2.7ghz celeron with 1gig of ram. the only thing i've added to it since new, is a 512 stick and a radeon 9250 card.

my board specs:

Motherboard Supplier ASUS
Motherboard Name Manufacture name: P4G533

HP/Compaq name: Echo
System BIOS Supplier ASUS/Award
Form Factor uATX
Processor Brand Intel
Processor Socket Type mPGA478
Processor Family P4 and Celeron (Willamette, Northwood)
Proc. Front Side Bus Freq. 400 MHz


any help would be great
nakkor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2008   #2
SG
MyCE Resident
 
SG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South West, UK
Posts: 840
Re: Can I upgrade my CPU?

Yes. There are several socket types. You need to find out what socket type your is, e.g. socket 478, socket 370, etc.

Then look for a new one with the same socket type.
SG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2008   #3
MyCE Resident
 
roadworker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,518
Re: Can I upgrade my CPU?

You can upgrade to a Pentium IV,but it has to be a Pentium IV Processor with
Willamette or Northwood Core.
roadworker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2008   #4
MyCE Resident
 
eric93se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,622
Re: Can I upgrade my CPU?

nakkor, Your cpu is not worth upgrading, the performance would not increase much. I would just wait to buy a new pc.

Welcome to the forum
eric93se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2008   #5
Senior Moderator
 
mciahel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 17,090
Re: Can I upgrade my CPU?

Hi,

I think, there should be a increase in performance if that crappy crippled Celeron is replaced by a Northwood PIV.
Another bottleneck might be the HDD (and possibly a messed Windows installation).

But I agree to the others, I wouldn't spend much money on that system.

Michael
mciahel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2008   #6
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Re: Can I upgrade my CPU?

yes you can upgrade the cpu having done so myself. a useful website to visit is: http://www.powerleap.com/
run the software and it will tell you the P4 cpu as this POS PC has a 400mHz mobo so you have to find the right cpu (they cost a little more). Anyhow once you get the info from here search the internet for the best price. i go one for $200 or so also throw in another stick of RAM for good measure if not already done so.
dagenhamdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2008   #7
MyCE Resident
 
eric93se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,622
Re: Can I upgrade my CPU?

well, for 200$ you can get a *modern* cpu+MB+RAM and more, rather than upgrade old technology.

Regardless, welcome to the forum dagenhamdave,
eric93se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2008   #8
MyCE Resident
 
getit29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Standing Right behind you
Posts: 2,417
Re: Can I upgrade my CPU?

I believe I'll have to agree with some of the others just save up some money and get yourself
a new system. I see no sense throwing money into an older system just to find out its still not
going to do what you want it to do on speed. I'd have to say especially now days since the price
of new PC's is so cheap you'd be better off buying a new system or better yet build you own PC
that way you get exactly what you want. It is not that hard to build one even if you've never had
any experience of working on or building one before.
__________________
Fight organized crime! Do Not Re-elect any career Politicians the next time you vote.

Main system burners
1 ASUS DRW-24B1LT cross flashed To Lite-On iHAS624 in external enclosure
1 Liteon iHAS 124-04B true iHAS124-04 Liteon drive
1 Liteon iHAS 524-98A true iHAS-524 Liteon drive
1 ASUS DRW-24B1LT cross flashed To Lite-On iHAS424
1 ASUS DRW-24B1LT cross flashed To Lite-On iHAS324
1 Samsung S203B

Secondary system
1 Samsung S203B
1 Liteon 20A1S
1 Liteon 160P6S

System Specs
getit29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2008   #9
SG
MyCE Resident
 
SG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South West, UK
Posts: 840
Re: Can I upgrade my CPU?

...In short, people are saying that a new motherboard with a better processor is the way to go. And in all likelihood, a motherboard that takes better RAM. Advantage of this is that modern RAM (DDR2/DDR3) costs less than standard RAM (DDR).
SG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2008   #10
MyCE Resident
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 867
Re: Can I upgrade my CPU?

A frind of mine had that exact Compaq model.
It is very low end.
-Processors must be 400FSB...I think there's a 2.8
-Northwood 400FSB that would be the fastest but hard to find (eBay).
-5400 RPM hard dive.
-IIRC, there is an empty seat where the AGP slot should be.
-PC2700 memory

Too many deficiencies to make upgrading this board practical.
What I have done on the cheap with a box like this is to install a D865GLC board.
It's still quite old but it is a full-featured board and can take most all the Northwoods.
On-board video with an AGP slot in waiting.
Dual channel with 4 ram slots.
Hyper-threading with correct CPU.
Send a PM if you want more info.

You still may have to look at your power supply.
Might not be worth the trouble.
jflan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2008   #11
MyCE Resident
 
DiiZzY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Nordic Region, Sweden
Posts: 3,676
Re: Can I upgrade my CPU?

Dont even bother get anything new to that computer...
//Danne
DiiZzY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2008   #12
MyCE Resident
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: The frigid West of Chicagoland
Posts: 916
Re: Can I upgrade my CPU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiiZzY View Post
Dont even bother get anything new to that computer...
//Danne
I agree with this recommendation. Any upgrades to that system will cost much more money than what that system is worth - and even then, its performance would be nowhere near as high as that of even a cheap new low-end system of today.
__________________
Main system:
Mobo: Asus P8P67 Pro (B3)
Core i7-2600K @ 4.7 GHz
16GB of DDR3 1600 @ 1333 (in dual-channel)
GeForce GTX 470
-LG BH08LS20 BD-RE SATA [Dec. 2008]
2TB WD Black (Boot drive)
2 x 1TB SATA Samsung F3 (RAID 0, for video editing work files)
2 x 1TB Seagate 7200.12 (RAID 0, for encoded video output)
750W Antec TruePower New Blue
RJL65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2008   #13
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 9
Re: Can I upgrade my CPU?

You can only go sofar with an upgrade, might aswell get board, processor and ram. I recon you'll be looking at £120 for something like an AMD 5000 with a board an 2gb ram!
That'll boost things a bit!
thesystemisdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade CPU durkinjt General Hardware Forum 51 02-04-2008 17:36
Need input regarding a CPU upgrade. UTR General Hardware Forum 28 30-09-2007 17:59
Advice on a CPU upgrade Hyperspace General Hardware Forum 10 15-03-2007 06:56
CPU upgrade, help please Merlin007 General Hardware Forum 5 16-08-2005 01:09
CPU Upgrade taag General Hardware Forum 2 11-10-1999 10:10


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:52.
Top