Old 02-11-2005   #1
CD Freaks Junior Member

HOWTO Convert DVD from NTSC to PAL

I have a home made DVD-R containing episodes and a menu in NTSC format, and want to convert it to PAL. Let me say I am a complete noob in DVD authoring and have never done it before.

First things first -Is there any way to convert from NTSC to PAL (and the other way around) without recompressing the source (I would not be bothered if black bars appeared top and bottom like with widescreen movies) ?

This would be the ideal situation since the image quality would remain exactly the same.

Also, each episode has an annoying bar at the top of the image (with horizontal lines across it), as shown on attached image, and I was wondering what the best way of removing this would be ?

Thirdly, my initial experiment with converting just the VOB containing the menu resulted in the menu screen becoming blocky after the conversion (due to recompression I assume). Because of this I plan on grabbing the menu (2 pages) as an image and then creating a new menu in PAL format using these original images. How can I then re-create the menu buttons ?

Does this kind of thing sound like a job for DvdReMake, or should I use some other software ?
Attached Images

Defenestration is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2005   #2
MyCE Resident

Re: HOWTO Convert DVD from NTSC to PAL

DvdReMake does not do conversion. You have to use a multiple of software to achieve that. There's a guide to convert NTSC to PAL. Also I know DVD2SVCD has this capability. Don't let the name fool you. It can convert many formats.

To make the horizontal lines disappear, you would use some Avisynth filter (I don't remember the name off hand) and frameserve to whatever app. you choose to use.

Quote: