Old 23-07-2003   #1
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Lancaster, UK
Posts: 1
CDXCopy Xpress error on loading. "SoftICE" loaded?

I have recently installed numerous encoding and authoring software (AVE2SVCD, Cinema Craft Encoder, AC3Machine) and now when I try to launch DVDXCopy Xpress I get an error message on screen saying "Program cannot work with SoftICE loaded".

Have have searched all the faq's for any mention of SoftICE but cannot find any mention of it.

Has anyone ever come across this error message?
Earthworm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2003   #2
CD Freaks Member
 
TexasGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 188
Damn, they really must be afraid with the decompilation to build in such a protection. Damn.
TexasGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2003   #3
Retired Administrator
 
Dee-ehn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: On my chair
Posts: 15,198
Hi Earthworm

SoftICE is a program that is indeed used for cracking all kinds of software. When running a program, you might be asked for a code, serial number or whatsoever. With SoftICE, you can record the position where the program is running, decompile the program and crack it (well it sounds 1000x easier than it is).

Some programs/protections check if SoftICE is running, in order to make sure nobody's trying to crack. If you get this message when there's no SoftICE installed, I presume that there's another program attempting to scan the software you are running. Maybe you can check it that, by closing all progams running in the background!
Dee-ehn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2003   #4
Optical storage technical expert
 
spath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 994
Geee, once again some lazy programmers
bought ready-made protections and in
the end annoyed only their customers,
since of course crackers cut through
such crap as easily as a chainsaw in butter.

Anyway, version 2.52 should fix this.
spath is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ImgBurn "Slow Loading Times" Bob ImgBurn 14 06-08-2007 21:53
error message: The instruction at "0x00615a12" referenced memory at "0x012557b8". c_mcbrutal Nero & InCD 0 29-11-2005 02:44
covers "serious beats 31" "wamdue project" "tiesto-magic5" ??? djrolo Dutch: De Woonkamer 7 05-06-2000 00:20


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:43.
Top