Old 16-04-2005   #1
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
Xabi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 75
Which Audio to select?

Ok guys, I am backing up a DVD and want to removie some audio I won't use.

It has:
1. AC3 5.1-ch English - 292 MB
2. AC3 2-ch English - 145
1. AC3 2-ch English - 174

Which one should i remove and what is the difference between 2-ch and 5.1-ch?
Xabi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2005   #2
MyCE Resident
 
pipemanid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In The Mountains
Posts: 5,374
Re: Which Audio to select?

The Dolby Digital (or AC-3) audio standard allows for a number of full range audio channels (up to 5) and a LFE channel (subwoofer). The following configurations are possible.

1.0 Monaural without LFE
1.1 Monaural with LFE
2.0 Stereo without LFE
2.1 Stereo with LFE
3.0 Front L and R plus center or monaural surround without LFE
3.1 Front L and R plus center or monaural surround with LFE
4.0 Front L and R plus center and monaural surround or surround L and R without LFE
4.1 Front L and R plus center and monaural surround or surround L and R with LFE
5.0 Front L and R plus center and surround L and R without LFE
5.1 Front L and R plus center and surround L and R with LFE

Additionally the 2.0/2.1 format may be encoded for Dolby Pro Logic/Dolby Pro Logic II surround sound and the 5.0/5.1 format may be encoded with Dolby Digital Surround EX for a center surround channel.

Remove all but the AC3 5.1 and you will be OK.

NOTE: For those who don't agree with the preceding information, feel free to contact Ray Dolby at Dolby Labs, the source of this explanation. One of the brightest men in the industry and a genuinely nice guy.

"Thanks to the remote control I have the attention span of a gerbil." /.
__________________
Main System
Intel D865GBF P4 3.2E 4GB DDR400 2x Maxtor 250GB BenQ 1650 BenQ 1620 Matrox P650
InWin Q500/Antec True550 Dual 19"LCD

Backup System
Intel D865GLC P4 3.0E 4GB DDR400 2x Maxtor 250GB BenQ 1620 BenQ 1650 Matrox P650
InWin Q500/Antec True550 Dual 17"LCD

Workhorse System
SuperMicro P6DBS P3 850MHz x 2 1GB SDRAM 4x Seagate UW 9.1GB LiteOn 1633S Pioneer A-305S Matrox G450
InWin Q500/PC Power & Cooling 510 ATX Dual 15"LCD

Play System
AOpen AX4SG P4 2.8E 2GB DDR400 2x Maxtor 160GB BenQ 1620 BenQ 822A Matrox G550
Antec CS600/Antec True550 Dual 17"LCD

Server/Firewall
Biostar P4TDK P4 2.4GHz 2GB DDR400 2x Seagate 160GB BenQ 1620 LiteOn SOHD 167T
Matrox G450 Antec CS600/Antec True550 19" CRT

All Computers Use TB SantaCruz Sound Cards & RealMagic Hollywood+ DVD Decoder cards
pipemanid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2005   #3
Retired Moderator
 
AZImmortal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,941
Re: Which Audio to select?

one of the two 2-ch audio tracks is likely to be the director's commentary (probably the second one), so if you want to keep that, you'll want to hang onto that as well. otherwise, keeping only the 5.1 audio track will cover all your bases.
__________________
Vob Blanker | DvdReMake (Pro)

I don't respond to questions through PM that should be asked in the forum
AZImmortal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2005   #4
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
Xabi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 75
Re: Which Audio to select?

Thanks for your help guys.
Xabi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2005   #5
MyCE Resident
 
Mr. Horse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 536
Re: Which Audio to select?

So I take it 5.1 audio is compatible with a stereo speaker system?
Mr. Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2005   #6
Top Referrer
 
bcn_246's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 3,649
Re: Which Audio to select?

There is no point having 5.1 sound if you have a 2-ch output, as it will just be converted too 2-ch by the computer/standalone/tv anyway, if you do have a 5.1 output, then keep the 5.1 and lose the 2-ch.

Ben
__________________
Click HERE to join CDFreaks... do it or I will dead you.
bcn_246 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there a way to select an audio track with DVDFab? leroyorel DVDFab / DVD Region+CSS Free 10 26-01-2006 14:31
Cannot Select Audio/Subtitles on players snmva8 Movie copy software 1 11-11-2003 10:02
Which audio to select BBrelsford Movie copy software 3 28-04-2003 19:35
Select default audio track Menion2k Movie copy software 0 30-03-2003 01:44
Which Audio to select using DVD2One? Viper32 Movie copy software 5 09-03-2003 01:36


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:49.
Top