Old 27-12-2008   #1
CD Freaks Rookie
 
Lou van Wijhe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hilversum, Holland
Posts: 32
Is BD-RE less than 25 GB (23.3 GiB)?

For checking my edited movies I used to burn them on BD-RE first. This week I finished a rather long one (114 minutes including menus etc.) and carefully calculated the bitrate to make it fit on the BD-RE disk but to my surprise it didn't.

When I checked the BD-RE disk with VSO Inspector and with Windows, a disk capacity of 22.6 instead of 23.3 was reported. When I checked a blank BD-R disk it indeed appeared to be 23.3.

Is there a capacity difference between BD-R and BD-RE? Or is there a difference in this case because the RE disk has been initialised and used and the R disk is blank?

Lou

Both disks are Verbatim ones.
__________________
Software: Sony Vegas Pro 8 and DVD Architect Pro 5 under Windows Vista Home Premium SP1
PC: Intel Core2 Duo CPU E4500 2.20GHz, 4GB, LG GGW-H20L Blu-ray burner

Last edited by Lou van Wijhe; 27-12-2008 at 23:45. Reason: P.S.
Lou van Wijhe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2008   #2
CD Freaks Rookie
 
Lou van Wijhe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hilversum, Holland
Posts: 32
Re: Is BD-RE less than 25 GB (23.3 GiB)?

I just burnt a Verbatim BD-R disk. The capacity before the burn was 23.3 GiB and after the burn it still was 23.3.

So, it looks as if the capacity of a BD-RE disk is indeed smaller, at least the capacity of the ones I use.

Lou
__________________
Software: Sony Vegas Pro 8 and DVD Architect Pro 5 under Windows Vista Home Premium SP1
PC: Intel Core2 Duo CPU E4500 2.20GHz, 4GB, LG GGW-H20L Blu-ray burner
Lou van Wijhe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2008   #3
CD Freaks Media Expert
 
dakhaas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,952
Re: Is BD-RE less than 25 GB (23.3 GiB)?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lou van Wijhe View Post
I just burnt a Verbatim BD-R disk. The capacity before the burn was 23.3 GiB and after the burn it still was 23.3.

So, it looks as if the capacity of a BD-RE disk is indeed smaller, at least the capacity of the ones I use.

Lou
I will check it up. But if I'm right BD-RE is slightly smaller. But also my mind suggests that the difference should be smaller as what you posted. SO I really need to look at it later this week.
__________________
---------------Queensryche OPEN-----------------

Open your eyes. Just say what you want to say?
Open your eyes, you see yours isn’t the only way .
Open your eyes. To you everyone is blind.
Open your eyes and your mind.
dakhaas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2010   #4
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
I was just using AVCHD coder, which will automatically fit to the most popular disc sizes, and noticed that it would not fit on a BD-RE when I selected the standard BD-R 25GB. So it got me thinking, either the capacity constant was incorrectly entered into the program - which I thought unlikely give it has been around for a long time and gets frequent updates - or perhaps BD-RE capacity was really less. I have not had a chance to test with BD-R, but from what I am reading this may indeed be true.
jmayer33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2010   #5
MyCE Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 37
if your using imageburn to format your bd-re:

in the write tab of the setting...check on the right side in the middle of the tab that preferred format without spare areas is checked.

i was told by a friend that unchecked it will use like 100 megs for something else. i cannot confirm this so if this isnt correct... my apologies
m00sehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2010   #6
MyCE Resident
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: The frigid West of Chicagoland
Posts: 916
Quote:
Originally Posted by m00sehead View Post
if your using imageburn to format your bd-re:

in the write tab of the setting...check on the right side in the middle of the tab that preferred format without spare areas is checked.
This resulted in a BD-RE that could not even be read by, let alone play at all on, my BD-RE compatible standalone Blu-Ray player. A format with spare areas is required for playability on that particular player.
__________________
Main system:
Mobo: Asus P8P67 Pro (B3)
Core i7-2600K @ 4.7 GHz
16GB of DDR3 1600 @ 1333 (in dual-channel)
GeForce GTX 470
-LG BH08LS20 BD-RE SATA [Dec. 2008]
2TB WD Black (Boot drive)
2 x 1TB SATA Samsung F3 (RAID 0, for video editing work files)
2 x 1TB Seagate 7200.12 (RAID 0, for encoded video output)
750W Antec TruePower New Blue
RJL65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2010   #7
MyCE Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 37
i dont know what to tell you but ive always had that checked and have not encountered any problems. ive done this on multiple ridata sl be-re and tdk dl be-re

btw my standalone player is a sony bdp-s500 using the latest firmware 5.10
m00sehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2010   #8
MyCE Resident
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: The frigid West of Chicagoland
Posts: 916
Quote:
Originally Posted by m00sehead View Post
i dont know what to tell you but ive always had that checked and have not encountered any problems. ive done this on multiple ridata sl be-re and tdk dl be-re

btw my standalone player is a sony bdp-s500 using the latest firmware 5.10
I used both Sony and Verbatim BD-REs. And I have a newer Sony Blu-Ray player, a BDP-S550 with the most recent firmware. (The BDP-S500 is actually older than the BDP-S550.) However, I have not tried playing back the BD-RE since I updated the firmware (I tried it on slightly older firmware).

My LG BH08LS20 burner may also be partly to blame: It formatted BD-RE discs "without spare areas" that are not compliant with the video BD spec (which means that the only player which can even recognize such a formatted disc is the BD burner that originally wrote on the disc). But again, that was before I updated the firmware of the burner.
__________________
Main system:
Mobo: Asus P8P67 Pro (B3)
Core i7-2600K @ 4.7 GHz
16GB of DDR3 1600 @ 1333 (in dual-channel)
GeForce GTX 470
-LG BH08LS20 BD-RE SATA [Dec. 2008]
2TB WD Black (Boot drive)
2 x 1TB SATA Samsung F3 (RAID 0, for video editing work files)
2 x 1TB Seagate 7200.12 (RAID 0, for encoded video output)
750W Antec TruePower New Blue
RJL65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2010   #9
MyCE Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJL65 View Post
I used both Sony and Verbatim BD-REs. And I have a newer Sony Blu-Ray player, a BDP-S550 with the most recent firmware. (The BDP-S500 is actually older than the BDP-S550.) However, I have not tried playing back the BD-RE since I updated the firmware (I tried it on slightly older firmware).

My LG BH08LS20 burner may also be partly to blame: It formatted BD-RE discs "without spare areas" that are not compliant with the video BD spec (which means that the only player which can even recognize such a formatted disc is the BD burner that originally wrote on the disc). But again, that was before I updated the firmware of the burner.
well that seems to be the difference here. my burner is pio 203 with 1.10 firmware.

but getting back to the OP. its this formatting with spare area that may be the reason why he only has 23.3 gigs on a disk
m00sehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010   #10
MyCE Resident
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: The frigid West of Chicagoland
Posts: 916
Quote:
Originally Posted by m00sehead View Post
if your using imageburn to format your bd-re:

in the write tab of the setting...check on the right side in the middle of the tab that preferred format without spare areas is checked.

i was told by a friend that unchecked it will use like 100 megs for something else. i cannot confirm this so if this isnt correct... my apologies
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJL65 View Post
This resulted in a BD-RE that could not even be read by, let alone play at all on, my BD-RE compatible standalone Blu-Ray player. A format with spare areas is required for playability on that particular player.
An update on this:

It did work (as far as playing back BD-REs that had been formatted as described in the first quote is concerned) - as long as I keep the firmware of my BDP-S550 updated. Unfortunately, the most recent firmware update for that player is more than eight months old now, and some commercial BDs still refused to play on that player.
__________________
Main system:
Mobo: Asus P8P67 Pro (B3)
Core i7-2600K @ 4.7 GHz
16GB of DDR3 1600 @ 1333 (in dual-channel)
GeForce GTX 470
-LG BH08LS20 BD-RE SATA [Dec. 2008]
2TB WD Black (Boot drive)
2 x 1TB SATA Samsung F3 (RAID 0, for video editing work files)
2 x 1TB Seagate 7200.12 (RAID 0, for encoded video output)
750W Antec TruePower New Blue
RJL65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010   #11
MyCE Resident
 
Dartman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,945
Re: Is BD-RE less than 25 GB (23.3 GiB)?

My Panasonic bd-10a plays BD-RE just fine as long as the disk is any good and yes they are a bit smaller then 25 GB in actuality.
The way they actually calculate the size and disk overhead probably has a lot to do with it.
Your hard drive is never quite as big as they claim becuase of the games they play with the format size and the way they calculate the bytes.
Most programs will let you set a custom disk size so just set it to whatever size you know actually works and you should be fine.
Dartman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010   #12
MyCE Resident
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: The frigid West of Chicagoland
Posts: 916
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dartman View Post
My Panasonic bd-10a plays BD-RE just fine as long as the disk is any good and yes they are a bit smaller then 25 GB in actuality.
The way they actually calculate the size and disk overhead probably has a lot to do with it.
Your hard drive is never quite as big as they claim becuase of the games they play with the format size and the way they calculate the bytes.
Yes, DVD and BD media and hard drive manufacturers advertise their capacities in billions or trillions of bytes (base 10). Thus, a "25 GB" BD-R or BD-RE holds roughly 25 billion bytes.
__________________
Main system:
Mobo: Asus P8P67 Pro (B3)
Core i7-2600K @ 4.7 GHz
16GB of DDR3 1600 @ 1333 (in dual-channel)
GeForce GTX 470
-LG BH08LS20 BD-RE SATA [Dec. 2008]
2TB WD Black (Boot drive)
2 x 1TB SATA Samsung F3 (RAID 0, for video editing work files)
2 x 1TB Seagate 7200.12 (RAID 0, for encoded video output)
750W Antec TruePower New Blue
RJL65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best prices for BD-R and BD-RE 50 GB jimbo1mcm CD, DVD and Blu-ray Writers 49 22-06-2010 21:21
Sony Blu-ray Disc (bd-r) 25 Gb Hot!! MegaDETH CD, DVD and Blu-ray Writers 2 13-03-2008 19:12
Bd-re Dl (50 Gb) ? madbrain Bargain Basement 2 03-03-2008 00:44
Is it Possible to transfer an HD-DVD 30 GB Movie onto a BD-R 25 GB Auzzie Kid CD, DVD and Blu-ray Writers 1 03-01-2008 21:43
Plextor PX-716A - Is it worth 48.95 Canadian = 44.23. US $ = 23.63 GB Pounds? Jim Plextor Writer 11 09-06-2006 07:14


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:23.
Top