Old 22-10-2006   #1
MyCE Rookie

What is the Best Disk Image Editor and Virtual Drive Manager?

Hi, I'm a newbie to forums and such. I've been on a couple already. But I wanna know which software is the best for editing and/or mounting Disk Images.

Now I looked into a couple of software that I've found such as UltraISO and WinISO until I came across PowerISO. Now for me I love this piece of becuz of it offers you the three functions for disk images: 1) Disk Image Editing; 2) Virtual Drive Management; 3) Disk Image Burning. Also the reason why I kept it is due to the compatibility for the numerous Disk Image File Extensions it can support. This is the list of extensions PowerISO can support:

.iso; .daa; .bin; .cue; .nrg; .img; .mdf; .mds; .bwi; .b5i; .gi; .cdi; .pdi; .p01;
.pxi; .ncd; .c2d; .cif; .lcd; .fcd; .vcd

I would like to confirm the popularity behind these disk images and where they come from. [.daa] is a Direct Access Archive and i've seen this disk image type before. I am not sure if PowerISO is the only software this image is only compatible for. From I've read it is [Wikipedia actually: Direct Access Archive article ]. But like I've seen it a couple of times. People actually use this type of disk image.

But sometimes I feel that PowerISO is not a reliable piece of software, so now I'm asking this question the whole point of this thread. What is the best Disk Image Editing software, and what and how many disk image file extensions does it support? Also which is the best Virtual Drive Manager, and what and how many disk image file extensions does it support? Whether freeware or shareware I would like to know.

Thank you and goodbye.
XangelMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2006   #2
New on Forum

Re: What is the Best Disk Image Editor and Virtual Drive Manager?

Check out "Acronis True Image 10.0 Home"
http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing...cts/trueimage/
and "Acronis Disk Director Suite 10.0"