Old 22-01-2003   #1
CDFreaks Resident
 
itzbinnice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 1,145
How To Burn Auto Play CD?

Tried 3 times to make a CD that will load to an install of a program, it failed all 3 times.

Below is method I used that I copied from a site, obviously I'm doing something wrong. Without the autplay the CD is just fine and will install if I click the Setup.exe file.

Please advise how I make get it to work with Autorun.
BTW Autorun is enabled and does work on other CD's.

Below is information I received:
AutoRun on Windows
The AutoRun feature on Windows is implemented by putting
an INF file in the parent directory of the CD.

Create a text file called "AutoRun.inf" using a program such as Notepad.
Include the following text,
replacing "whatever" with the name of the application you wish to launch:

[AutoRun]
open=whatever.exe
icon=whatever.ico

The third line (icon=whatever.ico) is not required.
It allows you to change the drive icon of the CD.
How to make a custom icon for 16-bit and 32-bit projectors (TechNote 611)
explains how to create custom icons.
For additional information on creating an AutoRun CD,
refer to Microsoft's article on creating an AutoRun-enabled application.
itzbinnice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2003   #2
CDFreaks Resident
 
cico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,445
Re: How To Burn Auto Play CD?

Quote:
Originally posted by itzbinnice
Create a text file called "AutoRun.inf" using a program such as Notepad.

[AutoRun]
open=whatever.exe
icon=whatever.ico

The third line (icon=whatever.ico) is not required.
these are the right settings... anyway, you could just compare with other autorun.inf files
both autorun.inf and whatever.exe must be in the root of the cd (well, actually whatever.exe could be somewhere else, but you must specify it in the "open" line: open=\dir\whatever.exe).
__________________
"Hi! I am a signature virus! Put me in your signature to help me spread myself around this forum!"

Clockwork Tangerine

There is no spoon. Stir your coffee with your finger.

See, the problem is that God gives men a brain and a penis, and only enough blood to run one at a time.

badger badger badger badger badger badger badger badger badger badger badger badger MUSHROOM MUSHROOM



My new pc is here!!

Asus a7n8x deluxe - AMD Athlon xp 2800+ barton 512k cache 2080 MhZ (166*12.5) - 512 mb ddr 400mhz (pc3200) (x2) - maxtor d.max plus9 6y080p0 80gb u-ata133 7200rpm 8mb cache - Sapphire ATI RAD9600Pro 128M DDR TvOutDVI 8X - Coolermaster tube cables - Cooler master hhcl61 silent heat pipe socket a - Pioneer DVD-106s 16x40 - Lite-ON ltr-52246s

The bo$$ would like to see you
cico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2003   #3
CDFreaks Resident
 
itzbinnice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 1,145
Cico85

Thanks for the reply, however that's exactly what I have done.

I have checked other autorun inf files and many contain either a icon or an additional install.inf file.

It's seems so easy to do but it won't work.

I have the exe. file in a temporary directory, in Win Explorer I merely click on the file and the setup windows displays.So there's nothing wrong with the program. When I burned the CD with the inf file, I put it in the drive, the hour glass appears for a short time, then nothing. I go in Explorer, click on the exe file on the cd, then the programs setup screen appears and it's ready to go.
I check the inf file on the CD and all the correct information is there.
I am really at a loss here, any other suggestions?
itzbinnice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2003   #4
Alcohol 120% Software Administration Team
 
netman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 120
try specifying a complete path for the exe file in the autorun.inf file. also, do other cds autorun on your machine?
__________________
netman
netman@alcohol-software.com

They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.

Benjamin Franklin, Historical Review of Pennsylvania, 1759.
netman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2003   #5
CDFreaks Resident
 
itzbinnice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 1,145
netman

Don't know what you mean by
"try specifying a complete path for the exe file in the autorun.inf file."

This is exactly what I have in the autorun.inf file
with "whatever" being substituted for the actual programs name.
[AutoRun]
open=whatever.exe

And answer is yes to "do other cds autorun on your machine?"
itzbinnice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2003   #6
Alcohol 120% Software Administration Team
 
netman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 120
i mean you should either place the 'whatever.exe' file in the root directory or write the line as:

open=c:\temp\whatever.exe

according to everything else that should do it.
__________________
netman
netman@alcohol-software.com

They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.

Benjamin Franklin, Historical Review of Pennsylvania, 1759.
netman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2003   #7
CDFreaks Resident
 
itzbinnice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 1,145
netman

Either this current cold spell in the north has given me brain freeze, or I am just too stupid to understand your instructions.

your instructions are:
"i mean you should either place the 'whatever.exe' file in the root directory or write the line as:

open=c:\temp\whatever.exe

according to everything else that should do it."


By doing this the autorun.inf file will be looking in the C:\temp folder rather than the CD itself where the exe file is located.
I don't want to keep the file in a temp folder, just want it to run off the CD like it's supposed to.

Am I missing something here?
itzbinnice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2003   #8
Alcohol 120% Software Administration Team
 
netman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally posted by itzbinnice
I have the exe. file in a temporary directory, in Win Explorer I merely click on the file and the setup windows displays.So there's nothing wrong with the program.
the autorun.inf file needs to point to the exact location of the exe file. if it is not located in the root directory of the cd then you need to specify the full path to the file. the target file is located on the cd, isn't it? if so, where exactly on the cd is it located?
__________________
netman
netman@alcohol-software.com

They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.

Benjamin Franklin, Historical Review of Pennsylvania, 1759.
netman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2003   #9
Retired Moderator
 
BadReligionPR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: CT USA
Posts: 1,225
I am a bit puzzled at your further explanation of full path, if he did put a drive letter in the path it wouldn't work on all drives...

Just to check a working autorun cd here, it contains

Quote:
[autorun]
OPEN=SETUP.EXE
ICON=DISTRIB\DISTRIB.ICO
__________________
BRPR

Pumping Iron & Sweating Steel (for 30 years) - Joe Grushecky And The Iron City Houserockers - "Labels come and go. The music remains. Music companies are generally the enemy of the musician."

Junior's Bar where the band is playing, just for me.
They play real loud, they move the crowd,
It's a poor boy's symphony.
Junior's Bar, until they kill the neon lights,
I hope I don't go home alone tonight.
Iron City Sampler


Free Peltier
BadReligionPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2003   #10
CDFreaks Resident
 
itzbinnice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 1,145
BadrReligionPR

I too am puzzled about the full path.
Thanks for showing an example, I do have several myself that I looked at from CD’s I own.
Some have an Icon, some have an additional launch file, and some just a setup.exe file.
Maybe it’s just this particular program that is stubborn. I already have 3 copies that won’t autorun, but will install if I click on the exe file on the CD.

As an experiment I will find a program with a setup.exe file and see if that works.

Netman
The path is the CD where the exe.file is located.

There is no full path as you speak of, it’s on the CD as I have said numerous times.
I can't assign the CD a drive letter, if perhaps that is what your suggesting,
that makes no sense whatsoever.
itzbinnice is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dvd auto play imba Movie copy software 12 23-12-2009 22:13
Auto play on standalone? Vcodec Newbie Forum 7 15-10-2007 06:49
Prevent auto-play and windows pop-up message on cd or dvd insert Sois Newbie Forum 9 19-02-2007 08:34
How to burn a cd to auto run ? bstonmike1 Burning Software 1 10-02-2007 17:38
Burn CD-R for auto help bckane General Software 2 18-02-2005 17:34


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:33.
Top