Old 09-08-2005   #1
New on Forum

free redbook software?

Hi,

I am a musician that has just finished recording my band. I am about to send the music off to be replicated onto CDs (not CD-Rs) from a glass master. I must send the replication house a Redbook compliant CD that meets certain error specifications (and can verify the number of errors). I know there is software out there that I can purchase that will do this but I am wondering if there is any free software out there for this purpose?

Thanks.
stilloriginal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2005   #2
MyCE Resident

Re: free redbook software?

While it may not scan to exact specifications, most of the available C1/C2 error reporting software, used with a drive that returns believable reports, would be a start.

That is, K-Probe with Liteon, CDSPEED with many drives that it can do error scans with.

Since it is certainly possible to produce a CD that returns no C2 errors under this style of test, that should be your target - it's not guaranteed to meet more demanding specifications, but any CD showing more than a trivial amount of C2 is not to be trusted. C2 are not fatal errors, but they are the high water mark - next step after C2 is uncorrectable (audio loss, data possibly recovered by data block ECC).

Unlike DVD, where you will routinely see rates of second level (PIF) errors, you do not expect to register second level (C2) errors on a well written CD, though professional test equipment may disgree, so you must set a higher standard in self-testing using a standard PC drive with scan capability.
Matth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2005   #3
New on Forum

right. I haven't done this yet so I am still new to the lingo but that is what I am trying to do. burn a redbook CD and then test to make sure there are no C2 errors and not too many C1 errors either.