Old 18-03-2005   #1
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Find Region Code on DVD disk?

Is there some simple software (freeware) that will tell me what region a commercial and/or DVD R movie is set at?
Roderick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2005   #2
Bob
Resident lunatic
 
Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Looking for my zigzags ~ I come from the no place and i go to the no where
Posts: 17,877
Re: Find Region Code on DVD disk?

Should be right on the disk. Mine have it on them.
__________________
"You've got a hole in your soul if you don't dig the Blues" .....My Not So New Anymore *Build* is Finished.

Click HERE to join CDFreaks.com

Keith Richards ~ "If You Want The Last Laugh........Join The Rolling Stones"
Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2005   #3
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Re: Find Region Code on DVD disk?

I should be more specific, - I am testing some PAL- NTSC DVD conversions and because they are not playing in my DVD player - I want to check what region they have been coded with.
Is there software that simply identifies the region of a DVD(+/-R) ?
Roderick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2005   #4
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 14
Re: Find Region Code on DVD disk?

The main software players -- WinDVD, Power DVD -- will tell you this under "Configuration". Or use Nero Infotool, DVDInforPro and a zillion others.
joegib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008   #5
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
Re: Find Region Code on DVD disk?

Quote:
Originally Posted by joegib View Post
The main software players -- WinDVD, Power DVD -- will tell you this under "Configuration". Or use Nero Infotool, DVDInforPro and a zillion others.
great post.
thydzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013   #6
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 13
How do I find out what the region code is on a Mac (for any DVD)?
akent35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2013   #7
MyCE Resident
 
_chef_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: @FX labs .de ...playing LLAMATRON :-]
Posts: 31,135
drvutil
__________________
Enable DMA with micrAp$0ft Enable DMA free at your will busTRACE => Upper/Lower Filters Util
DevCon
***HOW TO ... Delete the Upper & Lower Filters!***

If you expect help then please use the powerful SEARCH. Try ThreatFire
I am looking for DVD-R for Authoring & HD DVD media. Please PM me if you can help me.

Vamos Tribbles! V-a-m-o-s!!
_chef_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2013   #8
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by _chef_ View Post
drvutil
Did a google search on "drvutil", and got nothing useful at all! In fact, it is questionable what that is. Also, if it exists, it is for Windows.

By the way, I did do an exhaustive search. I also said I needed such a program FOR A MAC.
akent35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2013   #9
Administrator
 
Kerry56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: West Texas
Posts: 16,880
^You'll probably need one of the free decryption programs for Macs. Start with the Mac version of DVDFab. http://www.dvdfab.com/download.htm

There is a section of DVDFab, called DVDFab HD Decrypter that will still work even after the trial ends.
Kerry56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2013   #10
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kerry56 View Post
^You'll probably need one of the free decryption programs for Macs. Start with the Mac version of DVDFab. http://www.dvdfab.com/download.htm

There is a section of DVDFab, called DVDFab HD Decrypter that will still work even after the trial ends.
Thanks, Kerry56. In another forum, someone mentioned that Apple's DVD Player can tell one what a DVD's Region Code is. I trued it, and it does work. But, I'm going to try your suggestion.

Thanks again!
akent35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2013   #11
Moderator
 
Terramex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 964
@akent35
Apparantly just a typo of chef; he meant the terminal command drutil.
__________________
BenQ EW164B(x2), LG GSA-5163D(x2), GH20NS15(x2) & LS15, Optiarc AD-7200S(x4), 7243S, 5280S-CB-PLUS, Pioneer BDR-S08XLT, Plextor PX-755SA, PX-B940SA@Pioneer BDR-205, Samsung SH-B123L, Sony DRU-810A@BenQ DW1640
Terramex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2013   #12
MyCE Resident
 
_chef_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: @FX labs .de ...playing LLAMATRON :-]
Posts: 31,135
Exactly!

.....that is THE tool for any mac freak and user!
__________________
Enable DMA with micrAp$0ft Enable DMA free at your will busTRACE => Upper/Lower Filters Util
DevCon
***HOW TO ... Delete the Upper & Lower Filters!***

If you expect help then please use the powerful SEARCH. Try ThreatFire
I am looking for DVD-R for Authoring & HD DVD media. Please PM me if you can help me.

Vamos Tribbles! V-a-m-o-s!!
_chef_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2013   #13
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by _chef_ View Post
Exactly!

.....that is THE tool for any mac freak and user!
WAY better to be a mac freak than a windows freak!
akent35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVD region code help porlorlorl Copy Protection 1 21-10-2006 17:22
Set region code to 1 from a region free dvd-r dgrx AnyDVD 14 23-04-2006 22:45
Benq 1640 region came with region code 0,region code 1 disk won't play in Powercinema writetime BenQ / Philips Writer 3 31-08-2005 06:18
Can a home region lock dvd player play all region code movies? yomiko Consumer electronics 4 27-05-2004 04:11
Remove region region code PX-708a ernstblaauw Plextor Writer 2 25-10-2003 18:25


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:05.
Top