Old 14-11-2005   #1
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9
SONY RW DW-Q28A ?Firmware?

HeyAll,

Is there firmware for this burner? Is that what I need? They say there is no drivers for this...therefor, do I need firmware? This NEW burner is peeing me off. Roxio does't see it, Nero doesn't finish a burn, DVDXCopy doesn't see the media after ripping a movie......HELP ME PLEASE!!!!
lokotony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2005   #2
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Re: SONY RW DW-Q28A ?Firmware?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lokotony
HeyAll,

Is there firmware for this burner? Is that what I need? They say there is no drivers for this...therefor, do I need firmware? This NEW burner is peeing me off. Roxio does't see it, Nero doesn't finish a burn, DVDXCopy doesn't see the media after ripping a movie......HELP ME PLEASE!!!!
SONY DW-Q28A = SONY DRU-800A =LiteOn SOHW-1693S
You must backup the firmware before flash the other firmware.
You can use "LtnFW" to backup the firmware.

after that, you can download the firmware patched by CodeKing
http://codeguys.rpc1.org/firmwares.html
hideyourbaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2006   #3
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
RazielCR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Jose, Costa Rica
Posts: 81
Re: SONY RW DW-Q28A ?Firmware?

Do you Know what type of firmware I have to download?, What´s the one who works better?
RazielCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2006   #4
MyCE Resident
 
_chef_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: @FX labs .de ...playing LLAMATRON :-]
Posts: 31,135
Re: SONY RW DW-Q28A ?Firmware?

One from here: http://codeguys.rpc1.org/firmwares.html#SOHW-1693S
__________________
Enable DMA with micrAp$0ft Enable DMA free at your will busTRACE => Upper/Lower Filters Util
DevCon
***HOW TO ... Delete the Upper & Lower Filters!***

If you expect help then please use the powerful SEARCH. Try ThreatFire
I am looking for DVD-R for Authoring & HD DVD media. Please PM me if you can help me.

Vamos Tribbles! V-a-m-o-s!!
_chef_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2006   #5
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
RazielCR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Jose, Costa Rica
Posts: 81
Re: SONY RW DW-Q28A ?Firmware?

So i can flash the Q28A using the original 800A firmware?
RazielCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2006   #6
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 67
Re: SONY RW DW-Q28A ?Firmware?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RazielCR
So i can flash the Q28A using the original 800A firmware?
or even LiteOn SOHW-1693S FW


I've crossflashed to DRU-800 KC4B with good results.
Look HERE

NetLion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006   #7
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Re: SONY RW DW-Q28A ?Firmware?

HI, i have SONY RW DW-Q28A, and one day, a few months ago, when i was burning, the, the burning stopped, and from them onwards i have had various problems with the darn drive. I tried all kinds of firmware mentioned in here. the problem is that it will not burn anything; dvdr or cdr. It will not read dvd, it will read cds when it feels like, not all the time. If it doesn't read successfully, the computer shuts off immediately. Iam getting sick and tired of this. Does anyone know how to fix this?
mojo123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006   #8
CE Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Almost there
Posts: 4,443
Re: SONY RW DW-Q28A ?Firmware?

This sounds more like a hardware problem than anything to do with firmware. Try the drive in another PC and if it still exhibits the same symptoms, it's probably time to buy a replacement and some peace of mind.

If you've crossflashed and want to try with this drive's original firmware once more, use one from here to flash it back to a DW-Q28A.

The latest official firmware (KYS4) for the DW-Q28A is listed here.

Good luck!
Cressida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006   #9
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Re: SONY RW DW-Q28A ?Firmware?

Hi Cressida, thanks for replying. I think this is the burner's problem, i have researched this drive and there seems to be more people having similar problems with it. When i asked Sony, they dont support this drive . I tried all the frimwares, including KYS4, and the same problem persists. When i try to burn, the computer shuts off. I was hoping someone would find an answer to this. Does anyone else have and wild ideas for me to try to fix this problem or finding the cause of this problem? Thanks, your help is appreciated, Bye
mojo123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006   #10
CE Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Almost there
Posts: 4,443
Re: SONY RW DW-Q28A ?Firmware?

Sorry to hear your drive's still acting up, mojo123. I have one of these too and it works fine with KYS4. The equivalent Lite-On Model 1693S is quite highly regarded in this forum as well.

I still think the best way to decide to keep or replace your Sony is to test it in a different computer, thus ruling out any compatibility issues with your system. If that's no option for you, at least make sure to test it in your PC connected on the secondary IDE-channel as a single master drive (set the jumper on the drive correctly and do not connect any slave drive) for maximum compatibility. While you're at it, you may as well replace the IDE-cable in case it's damaged and also check the 4-pin Molex power connector for a proper fit at the back of the drive. Your computer shutting off sounds like you may have a power supply problem or an overload situation happening somewhere on your motherboard. Again, if you could install the drive in another PC, it would be easy to determine whether the problem lies with the drive or with your present configuration.

I don't think any of this will solve your problems and drives are known to die for no apparent reason, but at least you'll have tried before replacing it. And at current prices it just isn't worth it to spend a lot of time or money on trying to repair a faulty unit. But you can always hope for a miracle (or a cdfreak with a solution )!
Cressida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2006   #11
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Re: SONY RW DW-Q28A ?Firmware?

Yea, I complained to my computer maker of this. Literally i yelled at them. They said they would be happy to replace the drive with "another" model, and i think they did this on purpose, give me the faulty model, they must get like a special deal on it or something. But now i have to pay for shipping and handling..jeez..lol, yes I am very cheap Cressida, thanks for the advice, I do have another computer, I guess I can test it before sending it to the manufacturer. I don’t know about the IDE and other stuff you were talking about, I am a computer illiterate, lol. But I know how to replace a drive, thankfully

Thanks again Cressida, if anyone has any other ideas, please do post, replacing the drive would cost me months, and i still use the drive to read cds. Ok Bye
mojo123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help. Sony DVD RW DW-Q28A Pogoc7 CD, DVD and Blu-ray Writers 1 18-11-2006 19:58
Sony DVD RW DW-Q28A KYR6 firmware failure OzzyOsmond CD, DVD and Blu-ray Writers 4 28-05-2006 17:35
SONY DW-Q28A - firmware disaster benhuczek CD, DVD and Blu-ray Writers 4 05-04-2006 22:10
Sony DVD RW DW Q28A 2badmice LiteOn / PLDS / Sony Writer 9 31-12-2005 02:34
Sony DVD RW DW-Q28A problem patrickflower Newbie Forum 1 07-10-2005 12:41


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:20.
Top