Old 20-06-2005   #1
New on Forum

Sony DVD RW DW-U14A problems, concerning 8x VERBATIM DVD-R.. (newbie)

Hi,

I'm quite new to all this.. I've had this recorder for months and it has never played up before. I always use DVD-Rs, ranging from expensive ones to cheap Tesco ones lol.. However, I've recently purchased 50 Verbatim 8x DVD-Rs and they do not work It gets to 1%, and then fails..

As I am quite frustrated, and have no idea if this is something that can be fixed, or I just have to get on with life, I would greatly appreciate ANY help..

Thank you in advance,
jahoe

Last edited by jahoe; 20-06-2005 at 20:03. Reason: Added extra info for readers..
jahoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2005   #2
CDFreaks Resident

Re: Sony DVD RW DW-U14A problems, concerning 8x VERBATIM DVD-R.. (newbie)

your drive is a DRU-510A OEM. this drive is not made by liteon.
i think it's a Ricoh...

the 8x dvd-r mediacode might be not supported by your firmware. as the drive is old, i don't think that a firmware update can help but you can try.
here's the newest fw for your drive:
http://forum.rpc1.org/dl_firmware.php?download_id=1618

Last edited by code65536; 20-06-2005 at 21:33. Reason: Edited link
chok0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2005   #3
New on Forum

I just posted here becasue this is the "Sony DVD Burner" section, I was unaware that I posted in the wrong place..
Old 20-06-2005   #4
CDFreaks Resident

i don't know if sony means only liteon rebadges...

what firmware is on your drive?
have you tried an update?

if you have the newest firmware (2.0e) you should try other media.
Old 20-06-2005   #5
CDFreaks Resident

Quote:
Originally Posted by jahoe
I just posted here becasue this is the "Sony DVD Burner" section, I was unaware that I posted in the wrong place..