Old 31-05-2002   #1
Retired Senior Admin
 
OC-Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cdfreaks review lab - Norway
Posts: 5,644
Overclocking to Lite-On 48125W, post your experience!!

Get the binary backup files ....

Quote:
IMPORTANT MESSAGE:

It has been brought to our attention that hosting the binary files as described above, may be in violation of copyright laws. For this reason we have decided to remove these files from our server pending the investigation of the legal implications.

We are very sorry for this. More information will be available soon.

PLEASE DO NOT MAIL OR PM US AND ESPECIALLY DO NOT MAIL OC-FREAK FOR THESE FILES! IF YOU WANT TO SUPPORT US PLEASE DO NOT MAIL US. MESSAGES WILL BE DELETED AND NOT REPLIED TO

The CD Freaks Management
And read how to use mtkflash here.

My experience is that the firmware is well tweaked, write quality is high (better than LTR-40125? with any firmware version out so far).

Seems like the drive adjusts the writespeed/strategy during writing now since it sometimes dropped writespeed. This should in theory also give better quality discs.....

What's your experience?
__________________
I'm a real freak in many aspects!

Last edited by MP|3; 25-07-2002 at 17:21.
OC-Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2002   #2
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Scotland
Posts: 99
Re: Overclocking to Lite-On 48125W, post your experience!!

Quote:
Originally posted by OC-Freak
Seems like the drive adjusts the writespeed/strategy during writing now since it sometimes dropped writespeed. This should in theory also give better quality discs.....
Sorry, slightly off topic here but my CyberDrive CW058D does that too!!! I've never heard mention of it anywhere else though. If I'm using some low quality media (not low speed rated) then it may increase to 20X then drop back down to 16X when it should be speeding right up.

I'm glad you've mentioned it because I kept quiet thinking no one would believe me
Bilto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2002   #3
MyCE Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 92
My experiance is very good, works very well.

Shit it's fast! I got good value for money when I bought a 32125W then made it a 40125W and now a 48125W

I must agree, this f/w is tweaked a little better than vWS03 for the 40125W....

Off for some CCD 4013 tests now, and to see how well my LTD-163 keeps up, as it will be 'border line' @ 48X CAV recording "on the fly".

Great job Lite-On. The "6" series with the fast RW speed should't be too far now....


__________________
You get what you pay for...
Clint_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2002   #4
CDFreaks Resident
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,695
:-(

My Taiyo Yuden 24x cannot be recorded at 48x, they have thousands of c2-errors beginning at 62min then.

But 22x-40x P-CAV (with 40x @ 45min) is still faster than 19x-40x P-CAV (with 40x @ 70min)...
alexnoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2002   #5
Retired Senior Admin
 
OC-Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cdfreaks review lab - Norway
Posts: 5,644
My TY 24X was automatically limited to 40X anyway.....(yes I have smartburn on).

Time for TY to move to Phthalocyanine DYE?
__________________
I'm a real freak in many aspects!
OC-Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2002   #6
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
sphere man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: netherlands
Posts: 90
ok i updated my 40125s to the 48125w, its instald right now windows detect it great, but now the next prob nero doesnt recognice it and so does cdrwin, that are my 2 fav progs to burn with , so if anyone knows the answer please let me know


greetz sphere man
__________________
Pentium IV 2,4GHZ on a asus p4pe mobo, asus 4800TI 128mb agp, 512mb pc2700 ddr, promise ultra100 tx2 addon, , liteon dvd 12x, 2x 40gig hd's, 1x 80gig hd ,2x 10gig hd in stripe config on a sata controller, zip drive, sony dru500ax, usb 2.0 nec addon, windows XP PRO
sphere man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2002   #7
Retired Senior Admin
 
OC-Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cdfreaks review lab - Norway
Posts: 5,644
make sure you have nero 5.5.8.2.... That one works for me.

CD-R win will most likely not suppoort it yet....
__________________
I'm a real freak in many aspects!
OC-Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2002   #8
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
sphere man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: netherlands
Posts: 90
thx oc-freak

i will try it right away
__________________
Pentium IV 2,4GHZ on a asus p4pe mobo, asus 4800TI 128mb agp, 512mb pc2700 ddr, promise ultra100 tx2 addon, , liteon dvd 12x, 2x 40gig hd's, 1x 80gig hd ,2x 10gig hd in stripe config on a sata controller, zip drive, sony dru500ax, usb 2.0 nec addon, windows XP PRO
sphere man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2002   #9
CD Freaks Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 227
Can I go back to LTR-40125W?

I have a orginal LTR-40125W Firmware: WS03

My question is:

If i update to my drive to a LTR-48125W. Can I go back to LTR-40125W then?

Realy want to know.

/Dyzan
Dyzan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2002   #10
Retired Senior Admin
 
OC-Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cdfreaks review lab - Norway
Posts: 5,644
yes, you can by using mtkflash....and a bin firmware
__________________
I'm a real freak in many aspects!
OC-Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2002   #11
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
sphere man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: netherlands
Posts: 90
yes you can go back to your old f/w
just back it up go to the manual of mtkflash and there you learn how to do it


greetz sphere man
__________________
Pentium IV 2,4GHZ on a asus p4pe mobo, asus 4800TI 128mb agp, 512mb pc2700 ddr, promise ultra100 tx2 addon, , liteon dvd 12x, 2x 40gig hd's, 1x 80gig hd ,2x 10gig hd in stripe config on a sata controller, zip drive, sony dru500ax, usb 2.0 nec addon, windows XP PRO
sphere man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2002   #12
CD Freaks Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 227
Yes!!!!!

I know about mtkflash.... I have update the firmware earlier from WS01 to WS03.

But thanks! Thats all I needed to know.

Will try it when I get home.

Guess I have to update my own Firmware page.

http://home.bip.net/mikaj/40125w/

/Dyzan
Dyzan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2002   #13
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
sphere man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: netherlands
Posts: 90
hmmz i just burnd a music bin file with fire burner in 1minute 30seconds

anybody know another prog that can burn bin/cue files i heard nero could do it but i really dont know how tryed everything

greetz sphere man
__________________
Pentium IV 2,4GHZ on a asus p4pe mobo, asus 4800TI 128mb agp, 512mb pc2700 ddr, promise ultra100 tx2 addon, , liteon dvd 12x, 2x 40gig hd's, 1x 80gig hd ,2x 10gig hd in stripe config on a sata controller, zip drive, sony dru500ax, usb 2.0 nec addon, windows XP PRO
sphere man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2002   #14
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
sphere man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: netherlands
Posts: 90
ow another question is there somewhere around already a 48x media checker just curious


greetz sphere man
__________________
Pentium IV 2,4GHZ on a asus p4pe mobo, asus 4800TI 128mb agp, 512mb pc2700 ddr, promise ultra100 tx2 addon, , liteon dvd 12x, 2x 40gig hd's, 1x 80gig hd ,2x 10gig hd in stripe config on a sata controller, zip drive, sony dru500ax, usb 2.0 nec addon, windows XP PRO
sphere man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2002   #15
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Scotland
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally posted by sphere man
anybody know another prog that can burn bin/cue files i heard nero could do it but i really dont know how tryed everything
I mount them on Daemon tools and do a CD 2 CD on the fly copy.

CDRWin, BlindWrite, Nero and a few other apps burn bin/cue. What's wrong with FireBurner? It's a great little burning prog.
Bilto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2002   #16
CD Freaks Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 227
Benchmarks?

Does any body done benchies?

How much faster?

/Dyzan
Dyzan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2002   #17
CD Freaks Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: New York City
Posts: 350
The flash went fine from my Liteon 40x (S model) to 48x. It would not write at 48x with Mitsui or Tayio Yuden media that were 24x rated but which had reached 40x with the older Liteon 40x firmware. The overall speed however was 34.6x, a great improvement over the 40x write speed. I did have smartburn on however.

CMC 40x rated disks got up to 45x+ but I had one coaster so the firmware seemed a bit testy as the old 40x firmware writes fine with them.

All in all a worthwhile flash and certainly it will become more worthwhile as the faster media is more readily available and goes up to 48x and more of the software is able to recognize it.

Since most of my software will not recognize this new firmware, I temporarily flashed back to ZSOG and 40x and had no problem doing that. As more software and higher rated media comes online, I will flash back permanently to the new 48x firmware. It all is really quite wonderful to be able to do this.

Thanks to all those who make it possible to do this, especially you, OC-Freak.
KenL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2002   #18
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
sphere man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: netherlands
Posts: 90
if i do the nero cd speed test it doesnt come over the 40x but it is faster then the old 40x because now the evarage is 36,40x



greetz sphere
__________________
Pentium IV 2,4GHZ on a asus p4pe mobo, asus 4800TI 128mb agp, 512mb pc2700 ddr, promise ultra100 tx2 addon, , liteon dvd 12x, 2x 40gig hd's, 1x 80gig hd ,2x 10gig hd in stripe config on a sata controller, zip drive, sony dru500ax, usb 2.0 nec addon, windows XP PRO
sphere man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2002   #19
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
sphere man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: netherlands
Posts: 90
lolz i put in a 24x certified disk and the average was 39x and ended on 48,90x


greetz sphere
__________________
Pentium IV 2,4GHZ on a asus p4pe mobo, asus 4800TI 128mb agp, 512mb pc2700 ddr, promise ultra100 tx2 addon, , liteon dvd 12x, 2x 40gig hd's, 1x 80gig hd ,2x 10gig hd in stripe config on a sata controller, zip drive, sony dru500ax, usb 2.0 nec addon, windows XP PRO
sphere man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2002   #20
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally posted by sphere man
hmmz i just burnd a music bin file with fire burner in 1minute 30seconds

anybody know another prog that can burn bin/cue files i heard nero could do it but i really dont know how tryed everything

greetz sphere man
To burn a Bin/Cue with Nero..
got To File then Burn Image, browse and select the cue for the set.
Thats it.
__________________
No sig at the moment...
Dragonsfire73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2002   #21
New on Forum
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 8
Thanks!!! 40125s -> 48125W no problems, well there's one problem. I just bought 100 24x TY Fujis and they still only burn at 40x. LOL. Oh well, at least the average burn speed will be faster.
aldamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2002   #22
CD Freaks Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: New York City
Posts: 350
Sphere man,

What kind of 24x media did you use to reach 48x+ at the end of the burn?
KenL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2002   #23
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
sphere man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: netherlands
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally posted by KenL
Sphere man,

What kind of 24x media did you use to reach 48x+ at the end of the burn?
kenL here is some info on the disc

This Disc is designed for CD-RW/COMBO Drive Only.
Disc Type, Material = CD-R, Phthalocyanine
ATIP Lead-in = 97m 22s 66f
Norminal Capacity = 702.83MB (79m 59s 74f)
Disc Manufacturer maybe = Acer Media
__________________
Pentium IV 2,4GHZ on a asus p4pe mobo, asus 4800TI 128mb agp, 512mb pc2700 ddr, promise ultra100 tx2 addon, , liteon dvd 12x, 2x 40gig hd's, 1x 80gig hd ,2x 10gig hd in stripe config on a sata controller, zip drive, sony dru500ax, usb 2.0 nec addon, windows XP PRO
sphere man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2002   #24
New on Forum
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 8
Holy Acer?!?! LOL.
aldamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2002   #25
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
sphere man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: netherlands
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally posted by Dragonsfire73


To burn a Bin/Cue with Nero..
got To File then Burn Image, browse and select the cue for the set.
Thats it.
damn that was verry easy lol i could think of that my self i was always looking at the icons well tnx allot your the best

greetz sphere man
__________________
Pentium IV 2,4GHZ on a asus p4pe mobo, asus 4800TI 128mb agp, 512mb pc2700 ddr, promise ultra100 tx2 addon, , liteon dvd 12x, 2x 40gig hd's, 1x 80gig hd ,2x 10gig hd in stripe config on a sata controller, zip drive, sony dru500ax, usb 2.0 nec addon, windows XP PRO
sphere man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking FROM 48125W xweston LiteOn / PLDS / Sony Writer 3 15-12-2002 10:48
Bad overclocking experience scadillawork LiteOn / PLDS / Sony Writer 0 30-09-2002 15:53
I have flashed my new SONY CRX 195E to Lite-On! Sony owners post your experience here kaushama LiteOn / PLDS / Sony Writer 21 15-09-2002 07:09
I have flashed my new SONY CRX 195E to Lite-On! Sony owners post your experience here kaushama General Hardware Forum 1 08-09-2002 09:05
Lite-on and tagès, post your experience. OC-Freak LiteOn / PLDS / Sony Writer 8 16-03-2002 08:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:23.
Top