Old 09-03-2006   #1
New on Forum

Windows says it is a blank disc after burning

This is my first time here and I have tried everywhere else. I have a dilemma and am completely stumped. I have been burning movies to vdc and dvds for the past three or so months. No problem. Just lately, this past 10 days or so, everytime I converted a movie to a vdc or dvd and burned it, the program would come up and say it burned successfully, wne to put the disc in, but windows, windows player, WinAvi, nothing sees it, says it is a blank disc!

I brought up info on it and it says two sessions were recorded, however it is not a blank recordable disc. ????? And this only happens when I burn video discs. Any data to just burn my files on to keep, no problem. But all videos, movies, etc. come up showing blank even tho you can see the burn discoloration on the opposite side.

I have tried Roxio, only tonight for the first time, have been using All Videot o VCD converter, etc., WinAVI converter which I liked a lot, till it stopped running and shooting blanks, also used dvdSanta, same problem.

Anyone got any good ideas? Or should I just take the poor lc out and shoot it and put it out of it's misery!!

I have tried different brand discs too, as well as different converter programs and different burning programs. They keep their files in a temp directory when they are don converting and it is ready to burn. I can go to that directory and click on the conversion whether it be vob files or mpeg and it will come up and play perfectly on my harddrive, but once I burn it, it's invisible!!!

Hope someone has some ideas cause even HP hasn't a clue.

Thanks for any help or suggestions.

mysticblue
mysticblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2006   #2
MyCE Resident

Re: I need help please-----

I would first check this key in the registry and see what you have for upperfilters and lowerfilters I have seen problems with these filter cause problems like yours.