Old 11-09-2006   #1
New on Forum

sony vaio dvd problems

i am 100% forum/it virgin. please be nice.

i have a sony vaio laptop, model vgn-s4z
purchased in england so model actually 'invalid' according to any sony internet support

purchased comp nov 05 --multi drive plays CDs but does not recognise dvds. never has played dvds but was too busy in england to care & send back to sony on warranty

now moved to US and want to fix it. called sony support --uninstalled driver (matshita UJ 832d) and messed around with support on the phone but still dvds not recognised. they said i need to send to service centre ...they will try to change drive but might not be able to because purchased in england. and if they can is is $249 for new drive.

arghhh i dont have that money and this is there fault!!

so... how much is a new driver for this laptop? can i get it fixed anywhere else? (i cant send off my laptop for 10 days ...im a student who needs it)

i dont know what to do

thanks
hyudbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2006   #2
CD Freaks Member

Re: sony vaio dvd problems

You may find some useful information here: http://forum.rpc1.org/search.php?mode=results
type in your drive name and search you might find others have had similar issues. Good Luck
pacmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2006   #3
MyCE Resident

Location: Between a rock and a ...bar (usually nearer the bar than the rock)

Go here
http://www.vaio-link.com/downloads/s...erie=-1&m=1976
Scroll down to Optical Drives...download your Firmware update for MATSHITA UJ832 optical drive. Download Version (12/5/2005 9:55:39 AM ) : 1.03
Size: 3.07 MB