Old 13-03-2006   #1
CDFreaks Resident
 
haveacigar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 2,089
Red alert 2 xp compatible?

I found an old game the other day (red alert 2) and thought id give it a go, however it doesnt seem to work. Im not sure if it is the disk (a few years without a case will do that to a disk) or if it isnt compatible. I decided to try a copy of the disk to see if it was readable, and it was successful in the copy, however the same problem came up after i ran that disk (the setup wont run after the auto run)

Does anyone else know what to do? or should i just chuck the disk?
haveacigar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2006   #2
MyCE Resident
 
gregtherotterius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,782
Re: Red alert 2 xp compatible?

i dont suppose right clicking on the .exe file of the game, and fiddling around with the compatibility modes would do anything?
gregtherotterius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2006   #3
CDFreaks Resident
 
haveacigar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 2,089
Re: Red alert 2 xp compatible?

yeah i gave that a go and my computer froze then had to refresh (that happened before, when running setup).
haveacigar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2006   #4
CD Freaks Fartman
 
slayerking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Crypt of Kaos©
Posts: 2,660
Re: Red alert 2 xp compatible?

red alert 2 works fine on xp. Try using the other disc (if you used the soviet disc now try the allied one)
__________________
there's always a way!
cd protections are illegal!
what's that smell!

Join Us! Here at cdfreaks
"Space. . . It seems to go on and on forever. But then you get to the end and a gorilla starts throwing barrels at you."

Chat Quotes
[4:44pm] * @taHkroW dubs SK the best king of the world.
DO NOT message me asking about diablo 2 .mpq files you will not get a response.
slayerking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2006   #5
Blown to smitherines
 
debro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Between the CDFreaks Orange and Blue Portals
Posts: 13,685
Re: Red alert 2 xp compatible?

That's a damn funny game .... "Please drive Carefully"

It definately works in XP.
__________________
/* ----- I remember when all this will happen again -----*/

You will be baked ... and there will be cake ... you monster.
Click here to still be alive!

Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life. --Terry Pratchett

Primary PC: 1.4Ghz Quad Core Cortex A9, 2048MB Ram, Mali 400 video, 32GB Primary, 64Gb Secondary, 802.11N 2.4/5Ghz, 1280x800@10.1" with one years supply of Jelly Beans

Secondary PC: i7-Q720@1.6Ghz, 4GB, 500GB Hybrid HDD, Win7 x64 BusPre, Ati HD5470M-1GB, backlit keyboard.

Tertiary PC: Amd Phenom II 945, 4GB DDR2, 120GB Plextor M5S, AMD HD7850(OC) 2GB , Win8 Pro, 24" 1920x1200, cordless keyboard + mouse + gaming mouse.
debro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2006   #6
CDFreaks Resident
 
haveacigar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 2,089
Re: Red alert 2 xp compatible?

Must be the disk... or my system... anyway its not working so i guess the disk will make a good coaster... or i could sell it to a game shop for 50p
haveacigar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2006   #7
CDFreaks Resident
 
coathi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: København
Posts: 1,514
Re: Red alert 2 xp compatible?

I will work in XP A few people had the same problem your having and to fix it they had to change some of the settings in there Video Card for it to work. Use Google and there is a few web Sites that have the details of what setting to use for it to work.
coathi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2006   #8
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 52
Re: Red alert 2 xp compatible?

has anyone got network games working in XP?
utopian201 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2006   #9
Blown to smitherines
 
debro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Between the CDFreaks Orange and Blue Portals
Posts: 13,685
Re: Red alert 2 xp compatible?

Which games? Red Alert? Quake3/4? Doom? NFS series? Something you've downloaded illegally from P2P, but checks serial numbers on all LAN clients?
__________________
/* ----- I remember when all this will happen again -----*/

You will be baked ... and there will be cake ... you monster.
Click here to still be alive!

Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life. --Terry Pratchett

Primary PC: 1.4Ghz Quad Core Cortex A9, 2048MB Ram, Mali 400 video, 32GB Primary, 64Gb Secondary, 802.11N 2.4/5Ghz, 1280x800@10.1" with one years supply of Jelly Beans

Secondary PC: i7-Q720@1.6Ghz, 4GB, 500GB Hybrid HDD, Win7 x64 BusPre, Ati HD5470M-1GB, backlit keyboard.

Tertiary PC: Amd Phenom II 945, 4GB DDR2, 120GB Plextor M5S, AMD HD7850(OC) 2GB , Win8 Pro, 24" 1920x1200, cordless keyboard + mouse + gaming mouse.
debro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2006   #10
CDFreaks Resident
 
coathi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: København
Posts: 1,514
Re: Red alert 2 xp compatible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by debro
Something you've downloaded illegally from P2P, but checks serial numbers on all LAN clients?
Now Now debro what have you been smoking? if your mother finds out she will put you over her knee and spank you! We all know it’s only a urban myth that there are games to download on P2P. the only games I ever seen on P2P are free Shockwave and Linux games.

I think he meant networking 2 PC together and playing a game against the other person on the 2nd PC
coathi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2006   #11
Blown to smitherines
 
debro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Between the CDFreaks Orange and Blue Portals
Posts: 13,685
Re: Red alert 2 xp compatible?

LAN games still need a PC serving, even if it technically is also one of the clients.
Some games check the serials of all clients connecting (even though they are not going back to a master key server on the internet) and refuse connection of multiple clients with the same serial / Key

It's a very simple method of keeping people honest.

That must be why the non-existant groups fanning the flames of urban myth include multiple mythical serials in the mythical archives, that are, of course, only a figment of everyones mind.
__________________
/* ----- I remember when all this will happen again -----*/

You will be baked ... and there will be cake ... you monster.
Click here to still be alive!

Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life. --Terry Pratchett

Primary PC: 1.4Ghz Quad Core Cortex A9, 2048MB Ram, Mali 400 video, 32GB Primary, 64Gb Secondary, 802.11N 2.4/5Ghz, 1280x800@10.1" with one years supply of Jelly Beans

Secondary PC: i7-Q720@1.6Ghz, 4GB, 500GB Hybrid HDD, Win7 x64 BusPre, Ati HD5470M-1GB, backlit keyboard.

Tertiary PC: Amd Phenom II 945, 4GB DDR2, 120GB Plextor M5S, AMD HD7850(OC) 2GB , Win8 Pro, 24" 1920x1200, cordless keyboard + mouse + gaming mouse.
debro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2006   #12
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 52
Re: Red alert 2 xp compatible?

I meant Red Alert 2 multiplayer on windows XP.
utopian201 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2006   #13
MyCE Resident
 
abrown15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 844
Re: Red alert 2 xp compatible?

I just bought Command & Conquer the First Decade and they all work under XP (has all 12 C&C games) - however my original disc of Red Alert (not RA2) will not work under XP - mind you got the shock of my life when I played the original C&C again - it is sooooo bad!!!
abrown15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Red Alert 2!!!! redbonefish Copy Protection 19 17-04-2007 09:40
I OWN Red Alert 2 but.... bucly Burning Software 23 26-04-2002 15:22
Red Alert 2 Slussh Burning Software 22 02-04-2002 20:25
red alert 2 TNT Bomber2 Dutch: De Woonkamer 6 03-06-2000 23:30
Red Alert 2?? RMX Dutch: De Woonkamer 5 03-06-2000 11:22


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:51.
Top