Old 27-02-2009   #1
New on Forum

Installed a new (used) HD in Presario 700 laptop. Can't load XP.

Hi, all..Newbie here. Not a computer expert by any means although I have been using them since the 286 was the newest thing around. Could use a little help..
HD crashed on my Presario 700 laptop, toshiba MK2017GAP. I got another HD for free, a used 20 gig. Fujitsu MHR2020 AT. It had Linux on it but was wiped clean. I am trying to install XP home from my original OS disk.. When I turn on the computer with new HD is says no operating syystem. No surprise there. If I change the BIOS to CD rom and load my XP home OS disk it just sits there after checking hardware. It did go through set up a couple times but said there was no HD. If I change BOIS to HD, it lights up the HD light but sits there and tells me no operating system.. The first time I tried, I did get a set up recover option and it showed me the HD partitions. I did not change anything just exited. I Downloaded start up disks from MS and it goes through set up disks to a point where it gives me message unable to continue setup. Unable to load "setupreg.hiv" Error 4103. press any key to exit. I created a dos boot disk but it will only give me the A: drive and not take any commands beyond A:dir. The CD rom drive works, as far as i can tell so does the new HD. The computer will not recognize the HD so i can't seem to configure it or load operating system. Any ideas , I am about out of things to try. Thanks Don
donaldly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2009   #2
MyCE Resident

Re: Installed a new (used) HD in Presario 700 laptop. Can't load XP.

So, both the hard drive and the cd rom drive show up in the bios? Does your windows disk have any obvious scratches or smudges? Do you have any linux boot disks you can try? If you have access to a cd burner you can try Puppy, http://www.puppylinux.org/, it's about a 100mb download. The startup floppy disk images from are MS, are they the 7 floppy disks?