Old 07-11-2003   #1
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2
IDE #1 Error.

Please help! I have a Toshiba Tecra 8100 laptop. I upgraded its original DVD-ROM - SD-C2402 drive to a Toshiba CD-RW/DVD-ROM combo drive - model: SD-R2102, and ROM Ver. is 1006. Now, my new drive is not recognized by System during Boot process (IDE #1 Error), but is recognized by the operating system (XP), after it's re-seated.

Thank you for your help and time.

Sincerely,

Justin
justinm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003   #2
Retired Moderator
 
AZImmortal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,941
u seem to have left out ur question.
__________________
Vob Blanker | DvdReMake (Pro)

I don't respond to questions through PM that should be asked in the forum
AZImmortal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003   #3
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2
IDE #1 Error

What should I do to fix an error "IDE #1 Error", so I can boot from a CD-RW/DVD-ROM drive normally?

Thank you for your time.
justinm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003   #4
CDFreaks Resident
 
cloakdoa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: United States- Florida
Posts: 1,457
Try looking at your bios settings and see if you can auto-detect if possible and make sure the cable's pin 1's are lined up correctly
__________________
Oh my, is that cd on fire?? I smell some hot plastics...

Look at the orange button at the top 6th over from the left. It says Search. You can use this to help !!!!
cloakdoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2003   #5
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 14
This is a Master/Slave problem. With drives for desktop machines you can freely change the Master or Slave IDE setting using jumpers. Laptop drives are different -- in effect, the setting is encoded in the firmware and the drive maker customises the firmware to be Master or Slave according to the laptop maker's requirements. Your problem is that your laptop expects its optical drive to be Master (or maybe Slave) but your new drive has Slave (or maybe Master) firmware and you've ended up with an IDE conflict.

Suggest you:

1. Temporarily re-install the old drive and run Nero Infotool to see what the correct IDE setting is for the optical drive in your laptop.

2. Post an enquiry on The Firmware Page to see if someone can identify a firmware version with the right IDE setting for your new drive:

http://forum.firmware-flash.com/portal.php
joegib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2004   #6
New Member
 
deeznutz529's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA NJ
Posts: 19
I had the same problem with my toshiba portege 7200 with a qsi sbw241 combo drive and i searched around and if u solder pins 45 and 47 it will fix this issue as without any flashing involved..
deeznutz529 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2004   #7
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5
Sorry m8,can you explain wich pins you have soldered?
In combo drive or laptop?
I have the same problem with my Satellite 1800,I have tryed with 3 diferents combo and 2 dvd drives and always have IDE #1 Error.

Thx and regards.
voodoo_popeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2004   #8
New Member
 
deeznutz529's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA NJ
Posts: 19
some drives have jumpers or dip switches check for those before you go soldering. anyway pins 45 AND 47 are right next to eachother you have to pull the drive out and find pin 1 and go from there. i think one side is pins 1-49 and the othr is 2-50. my combo is still working great!
deeznutz529 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2004   #9
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3
hI dEEZNUTZ
I am having the same issue on a toshiba portege 4010 and a Toshiba DVDRW drive PA3294A0-1DV1 [ panasonic UJ-811B].

I have poped the top off the drive there are no jumper switches. I can arrange to solder the connecting plate pins 45 & 47 . My question is is that OK or does it have to be on the drive?

Do you have any pictures?
furnitur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2004   #10
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5
M8,many thanks for your answers and interesting for this problem.I'm a lammer for comp hardwer and we waiting for pics from you.
Thx and regards.
voodoo_popeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2004   #11
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5
No,waiting at pics from you.Can you upload here?
voodoo_popeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2004   #12
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5
1.000.000 x thanks for you m8!
I'll will try this solution and post result here.
voodoo_popeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2004   #13
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3
Pasting a bit of paper [ I used sticky tape actually] over contacts 45 & 47 didn't work for me.
furnitur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2004   #14
New Member
 
deeznutz529's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA NJ
Posts: 19
the sticky tape thing worked for me in an old thinkpad.
deeznutz529 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2004   #15
New Member
 
deeznutz529's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA NJ
Posts: 19
it just came to me! alternatively you can also use aluminum foil! just cut a small piece and slide that bad boy in there.
deeznutz529 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2004   #16
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3
Well you guys are GREAT! and thanks to this forum my issue is fixed [ no thanks to TOSHIBA support ]

soldering the connector plate pins as per the pictures [ 45 & 47 ] worked ..... Phew...

Cheers to all from downunder....

furnitur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2004   #17
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5
deeznutz529,
I have solved this f*****g problem too with this solution(crossing 45&47) and once again,many,many,many thanks to you!
Reagrds.
voodoo_popeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2004   #18
New Member
 
deeznutz529's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA NJ
Posts: 19
I've attached a pic of the connector. Enjoy!
Attached Images
 
deeznutz529 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2004   #19
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
thanks to this forum, my error is gone but i cannot read or write from the drive. can anyone has a solution for this..

reply will be appriciated...

thanks
paresh07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2004   #20
New Member
 
deeznutz529's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA NJ
Posts: 19
try cleaning the " Laser " with a q-tip and rubbing alcohol.
deeznutz529 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2004   #21
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
thanks man you are the best. i did clean my laser and my drive works now. my drive woke up from dead after almost more than a year... thanks again..
paresh07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2004   #22
New on Forum
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1
Big Thank's ...

Hi,
I just find this forum through the Google after getting a bad problem with my TECRA 8100 and TEAC DVD/CD-RW hardware. I got "IDE #1 ERROR" message just after powering on my laptop.

I read this thread, and then I try to connect pin 45 and 47. Voilla, it's work great, the error message is dissapear.

Thank you very much ...

RizaPN,
Jakarta - Indonesia
rizapn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2005   #23
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1
Re: IDE #1 Error.

Thanks Everyone. I Fixed The Error I Had. I Have A Toshiba Tecra M2 Laptop And I Changed My Drive To A 'toshiba Sd-r6372 Dvd-rw'.

I Then Had The 'ide#1 1error'. After Days Of Searching For Solution.

I Picked Out The Pins 45 And 47 On The Drive, Slipped Some Aluminium Foil (kitchen Foil) Between Them, Connected It Up And Bye Bye Problem.

I Love My Drive And My Laptop. And Special Thanks To Deeznutz529 For Givining Me The Idea!!!!! Thanks Again
taaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2005   #24
New on Forum
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1
Re: IDE #1 Error.

Hi I'm an italian boy i'm sorry for my bad english i have a toshiba satellite and a dvd writer lg 4080 with the same problem "IDE #1 ERROR" i need to can where solder the pins 45 and 47 to the internal of dvd writer, to the mainboard or to bus thank you.
i prefer that you send me message to this mail

Thank you friend

Last edited by Kerry56; 31-07-2012 at 08:32. Reason: removed email address
jaguarsil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2005   #25
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1
Re: IDE #1 Error.

I too suffered the IDE #1 error, then searched for a solution via Google.

The photo from deeznutz529 helped me to get my Matshita UJ-830S working :-)

One thing though, the caddy I used had a different pcb (Toshiba), with no arrow or pin numbering. To get the correct orientation I made sure the connector key was the same as the photo.

To answer the previous posting, I would recommend bridging pins 45 &47 adjacent to the drive connector rather than attempting to do this on the drive itself. I did consider the reverse side (the laptop bay connector) but this is laptop specific and on the Toshiba seems to have more pins!

I put a solder blob between the two pins (pcb tracks), but for a less permanent solution I suppose you could use some real silver paint, the conductive type used to repair rear windscreen elements.

Stewart
tabbycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!!!! IDE Error on Toshiba Laptop jbiro General Hardware Forum 5 23-09-2008 02:34
Toshiba IDE Error #1? Please help. sosaiso General Hardware Forum 11 10-09-2007 18:34
IDE #1 Error agnosticbottle Newbie Forum 10 21-02-2007 22:48
IDE#0 error..not 1 emzo Newbie Forum 8 26-10-2006 23:45
Nec 6500a Ide #1 Error demian13gr NEC / Optiarc Writer 8 23-12-2004 14:43


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:41.
Top