Old 03-04-2011   #1

How to put my dvd movie collection onto a hard drive and play on T.V.

Hi there members, I am a newbie and would like to copy my movie collection onto an external hard-drive so that I can watch them on my T.V. when ever I need. My question to the forum is as follows:
1. What hard drive should I buy?
2. What program do I need to download, to copy the movies and play them
back on my T.V.?
3. Is there anything else I need to do?
4. Should it be a hard-drive or Pvr?
5. I have about 600 movies so two hard-drives may be needed?

Any advice at all would be appreciated, so many thanks in anticipation.
Shibumi.
shibumi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011   #2
MyCE Resident

Re: How to put my dvd movie collection onto a hard drive and play on T.V.

Quote:
Originally Posted by shibumi View Post
Hi there members, I am a newbie and would like to copy my movie collection onto an external hard-drive so that I can watch them on my T.V. when ever I need. My question to the forum is as follows:
1. What hard drive should I buy?
2. What program do I need to download, to copy the movies and play them
back on my T.V.?
3. Is there anything else I need to do?
4. Should it be a hard-drive or Pvr?
5. I have about 600 movies so two hard-drives may be needed?

Any advice at all would be appreciated, so many thanks in anticipation.
Shibumi.
I have yet to see a external HDD connect to a tv just by itself?? What format are you going to use to store the movie? Are you watching just the movie itself of a iso or ripped movie portion? What format are you current movie in right now? There are some more stuff you need to provide others reading this to know what kinda setup your trying to setup??
coolcolors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011   #3