Old 24-01-2005   #1
CD Freaks Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 44
How To Cut Part Of A Video - Pinnacle Studio Hlp Pls

Hello everyone,

Tried this question in the "video authoring" forum but got no answer.


You might consider this question stupid, but been trying to cut away the final part of a video (MPEG2) (captured from VHS with ATI MMC 9.03) with Pinnacle Studio 8 to no avail.
Tried searching the forums - nothing
Tried the supplied help - tutorials - did not get 'em
The problem is that the actual video lasts 1 hour and set the record to last that long, but it didn't stop so now I have a 1:30min long video with 30 min blank at the end.

If anyone can help me here would be greatly appreciated

Thx.
__________________
Running:
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
Athlon64 3500+
1 gig RAM
DVD: NEC-3500A
leousb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2005   #2
CD Freaks Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 44
Re: How To Cut Part Of A Video - Pinnacle Studio Hlp Pls

CAN ANYONE HLP PLS, NO ANSWERS WHATSOEVER -
__________________
Running:
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
Athlon64 3500+
1 gig RAM
DVD: NEC-3500A
leousb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2005   #3
CD Freaks Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 32
Re: How To Cut Part Of A Video - Pinnacle Studio Hlp Pls

If it's just an MPEG-2, you could cut out the blank part by using:
1. Womble MPEG Video Wizard.
2. TMPGEnc Xpress 3.
3. TMPGenc MPEG editor
4. Another cutting program.
5. Try using the "in" and "out" points in Studio. Set "in" at the beginning of the black part and "out" at the end of the MPEG. Then cut.

For discussion forums related specifically to Studio 8, go here:
http://webboard.pinnaclesys.com/read...onID=143&lng=1
robguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2005   #4
CD Freaks Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 44
Re: How To Cut Part Of A Video - Pinnacle Studio Hlp Pls

Thx for your help Rob,

Any more suggestions welcome,as I like to avoid buying another program. I will give Studio another try though . . .
__________________
Running:
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
Athlon64 3500+
1 gig RAM
DVD: NEC-3500A
leousb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2005   #5
CD Freaks Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Detroit, MI USA
Posts: 180
Re: How To Cut Part Of A Video - Pinnacle Studio Hlp Pls

As Rob states, usually in any video editing program there is a video preview window. At the bottom of the window is a sliding bar that keeps track of the clip you are playing. On the sides are usually something like a smaller bar or stop, that are called "mark in" and "mark out" or something like that. You would simply have to set the mark out to the last frame you want viewed, I believe you could also in the timeline, or storyboard at the bottom of the window you could right click in the last frame you want played and it might give you the option to end clip here, or set mark out here. Either way, this is one of the most basic parts of any video editing program, and would surely be available inside the help files associated with Studio. I had Studio 8 installed over a year ago, but I don't remember the exact steps. I hope this helps, and good luck.
pacmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2005   #6
CD Freaks Senior Member
 
Asid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Brummieland - UK
Posts: 405
Re: How To Cut Part Of A Video - Pinnacle Studio Hlp Pls

after you have inserted a clip in to the timeline double click on it in the timeline and a new window pops with with the same clip in it. It has sliders left and right. Move these to where you want the clip to start and finesh and then close this window. Go back to the timeline and play it and you will see that the clip starts from where you set it and ends where you set it
Asid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2005   #7
CD Freaks Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 44
Re: How To Cut Part Of A Video - Pinnacle Studio Hlp Pls

Thx Pacmac, Asid, will give it a try later today, right now @work.
Let you guys know later . . .
__________________
Running:
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
Athlon64 3500+
1 gig RAM
DVD: NEC-3500A
leousb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how pls pls pls hlp to reflash LG HL-DT-ST RW/DVD GCC-4522B mnd1982 LG Writer 1 11-01-2007 09:06
How To Cut Part Of A Video - Pinnacle Studio Hlp Pls leousb Video Edit Software 0 24-01-2005 02:14
A-i-w 9800 Pro Video Capture Problem. Hlp Pls leousb Newbie Forum 3 07-01-2005 02:10
A-i-w 9800 Pro Video Capture Problem. Hlp Pls leousb General Hardware Forum 8 07-01-2005 02:09
Pinnacle Systems Studio Deluxe Version 8 Video Editing Kit theSicknesSpreeds General Hardware Forum 12 18-07-2003 00:00


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:37.
Top