Old 02-05-2004   #1
New on Forum

DVD cut out few segments and convert to real

Hi,
guys, excuse my terminology, but I am rather new to all this dvd concept and desperately need help. So, bear with me. Basic tasks to be accomplished are this - I have long dvd movie, interviewing several people. The end result should be several real media or win media files, cut out of this dvd, one for each person - ready to be streamed from the web. What is the best strategy/software to accomplish this task? Is it easier to cut dvd in segments and then convert each one into streaminig format or vise versa? What this the best cheapest fastest way to manage this process?
All your suggestions are greatly appreciated.
Thanks is advance.

regards,
Ellie
Old 02-05-2004   #2
MyCE Resident

Tools:

DVD Decrypter
azid and SSRC
Avisynth + DVD2AVI/MPEG2Dec3 + Decomb
VirtualDubMod
Huffyuv v2.1.1
Windows Media Encoder 9 Series

1. Rip the DVD using

Rip the whole DVD using DVD Decrypter in File mode

Embedded Images

View/download images and remove advertisements by registering now! (it's easy, free and takes less than a minute)

You must be registered in order view images in this forum.

2. Demuxing audio and video

Open DVD2AVI, be sure start with the right vob (usually it's VTS_01_0.VOB). Now a new window will popup telling you what segments DVD2AVI have found, press ok to confirm.
To demux just press F4 and choose an approperiate name for your d2v project file.

3. Converting audio (skip the azid part if you have a wav-file)

I actually tried to stick to GUI applications but it didn't work out so we're going to use two cmdline based ones instead.
azid, an AC3 Decompressor and SSRC, normalizer and a great resampler.

There's the first line for decompressing

azid "E:\PRINCESS_MONONOKE\VIDEO_TS\DVD1 AC3 T01 3_2ch 384Kbps DELAY 0ms.ac3" "E:\PRINCESS_MONONOKE\VIDEO_TS\DVD1 AC3 T01 3_2ch 384Kbps DELAY 0ms.ac3.wav"

...and the second for normalizing and resampling.