Old 09-07-2006   #1
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 11
dual layer dvd won't play in dvd player

but it will play fine on the pc??? why won't my JVC DVD player run the DL disc.
It is Memorex DVD+R9 media. I have an idea that it may have something to do with changing booktype? my burner is a LG 4167B. how do I change and maintain the dvdrom booktype status while burning the movie? I did burn a movie to the DL from HDD ripped files and it is working in the PC, but not on my standalone player. Single layer discs compressed with dvd decrypter/shrink/nero
6.3/ work fine in the standalone. your help is much appreciated. thanks
coffeecrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006   #2
Senior Administrator & Reviewer
 
Arachne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tabby Towers, West of England
Posts: 33,938
Re: dual layer dvd won't play in dvd player

It could be that your JVC is picky...or bitsetting it may well help.

Memorex isn't the best media, though - for DL, I'd recommend Verbatim.

You can set the Booktype in Nero or ImgBurn, though you'll have to reset it to DVD-ROM for each DL disc you burn. At least, I believe that's how it is for the 4167B.

BTW, setting the booktype can only be done prior to burning...you can't change the booktype on an already-burned disc.

__________________
RIP Baz 8/1997-11/2013 - love ya buddy

How to delete your upper and lower filters : How to check/enable DMA by Womble

Click here to join MyCE.com and be part of our friendly community!

Smile...people will wonder what you're up to
Arachne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006   #3
MyCE Resident
 
_chef_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: @FX labs .de ...playing LLAMATRON :-]
Posts: 31,135
Re: dual layer dvd won't play in dvd player

Old Nero, wrong Booktype and bad media choice are the three points to check out.
__________________
Enable DMA with micrAp$0ft Enable DMA free at your will busTRACE => Upper/Lower Filters Util
DevCon
***HOW TO ... Delete the Upper & Lower Filters!***

If you expect help then please use the powerful SEARCH. Try ThreatFire
I am looking for DVD-R for Authoring & HD DVD media. Please PM me if you can help me.

Vamos Tribbles! V-a-m-o-s!!
_chef_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006   #4
Senior Administrator & Reviewer
 
Arachne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tabby Towers, West of England
Posts: 33,938
Re: dual layer dvd won't play in dvd player

Quote:
Originally Posted by _chef_
Old Nero, wrong Booktype and bad media choice are the three points to check out.
Short and sweet as ever, _chef_
__________________
RIP Baz 8/1997-11/2013 - love ya buddy

How to delete your upper and lower filters : How to check/enable DMA by Womble

Click here to join MyCE.com and be part of our friendly community!

Smile...people will wonder what you're up to
Arachne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006   #5
MyCE Resident
 
_chef_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: @FX labs .de ...playing LLAMATRON :-]
Posts: 31,135
Re: dual layer dvd won't play in dvd player

Thanks for the flowers, Arachne.
__________________
Enable DMA with micrAp$0ft Enable DMA free at your will busTRACE => Upper/Lower Filters Util
DevCon
***HOW TO ... Delete the Upper & Lower Filters!***

If you expect help then please use the powerful SEARCH. Try ThreatFire
I am looking for DVD-R for Authoring & HD DVD media. Please PM me if you can help me.

Vamos Tribbles! V-a-m-o-s!!
_chef_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006   #6
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 11
Re: dual layer dvd won't play in dvd player

thanks for the suggestions my friends. I have just discovered a new program called DVD Cloner 3. It is being used to burn instead of having to get "new" Nero. One down. The media choice has already been made and it works as I have burned a movie with this program and it is a thing of beauty when played on the pc. So, the problem is not the media, the problem is it won't play in my standalone. As stated by me previously, single layer disc media dvd movies work great in my standalone. now, chef said one more thing and that is the book type. It seems if I can just do that successfully it may be the answer. I'll try to use Imgburn or nero to change the booktype to DVDROM and I will get back to you again.
coffeecrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006   #7
MyCE Resident
 
_chef_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: @FX labs .de ...playing LLAMATRON :-]
Posts: 31,135
Re: dual layer dvd won't play in dvd player

Check out the LG section too. Only a few LG drives and firmwares support booktyping really.
__________________
Enable DMA with micrAp$0ft Enable DMA free at your will busTRACE => Upper/Lower Filters Util
DevCon
***HOW TO ... Delete the Upper & Lower Filters!***

If you expect help then please use the powerful SEARCH. Try ThreatFire
I am looking for DVD-R for Authoring & HD DVD media. Please PM me if you can help me.

Vamos Tribbles! V-a-m-o-s!!
_chef_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Burned dual layer disc not reading on DVD player fusiondreams Burning Software 20 25-07-2007 04:40
Dual Layer DVD+R: dvd player will not read, but computer DVD drive does? TOC77 Newbie Forum 11 15-09-2006 22:50
DVD+R dual layer and Sony DVD player question patronsilver Consumer electronics 21 19-04-2006 05:37
NEC 3500AG Dual Layer and Home DVD player msuk NEC / Optiarc Writer 6 31-03-2005 10:02
Dual Layer compatible DVD-player Cohen Consumer electronics 30 12-02-2005 22:35


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:03.
Top