Old 11-01-2003   #1

Copying LPs to CDs

I've never tried this before. I'm trying to copy some old LPs (better know to us oldies as phonograph records ) to a CD-R using Roxio 5.1 Platinum and Windows XP.

First question, what do I attach to what? I had to dig up my old Denon amplifier and turntable. I might have figured this out but an audio card connection has never been an option for me before. Do I use computer speakers or hook up the amp to some speakers?

Confused Newbie
nooyawkah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2003   #2
No longer with us

I think you best connect your line out of your amplifier to your line in of the soundcard of your computer....
Da_Taxman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2003   #3
Management

Check this site:

http://www.delback.co.uk/lp-cdr.htm
Old 12-01-2003   #4
CD Freaks Member

Copy LP to CD

The software I've had the most success with is AudioTool. Plenty of options and flexibilities to record off line-in from LPs and tapes. I like the autotracking function, where you just put on the record and the program will parse the individual songs by the silences between tracks. I only use it to produce WAVs, then encode to mp3 with CDex, so no idea about how well it produces encoded files on its own but you would be going from WAV to CDA anyway, right?
themushroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2003   #5

Thanks for the info, people. It took me a few days to remember to look here. For some reason I didn't get email telling me of your responses. Domin8tor, that site is excellent. I had none of the correct boxes checked. Will let you know what happens.
nooyawkah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2003   #6
New on Forum

Patch the "tape out" on your Denon amp to the "line in" on your soundcard.