Old 23-08-2010   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 9
Connecting a VCR to a Media Center PC

I'm currently trying to connect a Teac MV4092G 4-head VCR to a second hand HP M7288a Media Center PC.

I have connected the VCR to the antenna in cable on the Media Centers Hauppague WinTV88x tuner and have also connected cables from the videos outputs to the RCA input connecters on the tuner card.

I have been unable to get the VCR image to appear on the computer monitor, even after I ensured the tuner was set to Analog.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Graham2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2010   #2
MyCE Resident
 
Mr. Belvedere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: (╯°□°)╯ ლ(ಠ益ಠ)ლ
Posts: 19,338
Re: Connecting a VCR to a Media Center PC

Can't you just use the composite out (or scart) of the vcr and the composite in of the hauppauge card?
__________________
"Use the force Harry!" - Gandalf
Mr. Belvedere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2010   #3
MyCE Resident
 
Mr. Belvedere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: (╯°□°)╯ ლ(ಠ益ಠ)ლ
Posts: 19,338
Re: Connecting a VCR to a Media Center PC

-- double post removed --
__________________
"Use the force Harry!" - Gandalf
Mr. Belvedere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2010   #4
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Belvedere View Post
Can't you just use the composite out (or scart) of the vcr and the composite in of the hauppauge card?
The VCR only has Video/Audio outputs (No SCART or S-Video). I have connected these to the composite inputs but I've no idea how to display this through Windows Media Center and/or the hauppauge card, on my monitor.
Graham2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2010   #5
MyCE Resident
 
Mr. Belvedere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: (╯°□°)╯ ლ(ಠ益ಠ)ლ
Posts: 19,338
Re: Connecting a VCR to a Media Center PC

Do you happen to have the manual of this VCR?
__________________
"Use the force Harry!" - Gandalf
Mr. Belvedere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2010   #6
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 9
No, I don't. The connections I'm using though are the same as if I was connecting the player to a television.
Graham2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2010   #7
AGJ
MyCE Resident
 
AGJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Somewhere in Canada
Posts: 2,171
Re: Connecting a VCR to a Media Center PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham2001 View Post
No, I don't. The connections I'm using though are the same as if I was connecting the player to a television.
To be able to get video all you need to do is hook up the coaxial cable to your tuner card and to get the sound you need to hook up the Red and White RCA cables. So either disconnect the coaxial cable or the RCA Video cable as you not need both hooked up. Not sure how to get the computer to show the Vidoe using VCR but it could be because you have the VCR hooked up wrong
AGJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2010   #8
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 9
I'll give that a try tomorrow. Hopefully it will work, the help files have not been much help.
Graham2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2010   #9
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 9
After a lot of messing around, partial success, I had to tell Media Center that I had a set-top box to get it to read the composite input but then the setup fell down because I did not have an IR receiver.

I'm not sure where to go from here.
Graham2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2010   #10
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 9
I'm getting rather frustrated with my inability to use the composite ports on the computer to allow me to watch films on VHS though the installed Hauppague WinTV88x card.

Does anyone know of alternative (Open Source/Freeware) packages that might allow me to do this?
Graham2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2010   #11
Senior Moderator
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: In the present, the past was so long ago...
Posts: 7,453
Re: Connecting a VCR to a Media Center PC

If it's a Hauppauge, can't you use the WinTV software that comes with it? That's what I use for both of mine.
__________________

It's been at least 2 years, 5 months, 6 days, 11 hours, 52 minutes and 35 36 37 seconds since I had a sig...
(but who's counting?)
olyteddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting a VCR to A TV tuner/capture card markf505 General Hardware Forum 1 27-05-2006 11:51
Need Sony DW-Q28A drivers for Media Center, Win Xp recognizes it, not Media Center cgonzal2 LiteOn / PLDS / Sony Writer 2 18-01-2006 11:49
Linux portable media player has Windows Media Center GUI Crabbyappleton Latest News Headlines 0 05-11-2004 03:25
Windows XP Media Center question about DVD in Media Center mode willb3d Newbie Forum 0 28-12-2003 00:43
connecting a vcr to a pc...is it possible? EFloUVA Newbie Forum 12 19-01-2003 06:06


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:35.
Top