Old 22-12-2009   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Can I use my another windows vista CD from laptop A to install in laptop B?

I have two laptops from Dell one the OS is windows vista Basic and another is windows vista home premium. The one with the vista basic have its windows corrupted. The problem is I lost the installation CDs, Can I ask whether can i use the CD of windows home premium to install in my corrupted laptop? THANKS ALOT
tlgoh1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2009   #2
MyCE Resident
 
pipemanid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In The Mountains
Posts: 5,374
Re: Can I use my another windows vista CD from laptop A to install in laptop B?

One License per disk.... One computer per disk...
Contact Dell and have them replace the missing disks...
__________________
Main System
Intel D865GBF P4 3.2E 4GB DDR400 2x Maxtor 250GB BenQ 1650 BenQ 1620 Matrox P650
InWin Q500/Antec True550 Dual 19"LCD

Backup System
Intel D865GLC P4 3.0E 4GB DDR400 2x Maxtor 250GB BenQ 1620 BenQ 1650 Matrox P650
InWin Q500/Antec True550 Dual 17"LCD

Workhorse System
SuperMicro P6DBS P3 850MHz x 2 1GB SDRAM 4x Seagate UW 9.1GB LiteOn 1633S Pioneer A-305S Matrox G450
InWin Q500/PC Power & Cooling 510 ATX Dual 15"LCD

Play System
AOpen AX4SG P4 2.8E 2GB DDR400 2x Maxtor 160GB BenQ 1620 BenQ 822A Matrox G550
Antec CS600/Antec True550 Dual 17"LCD

Server/Firewall
Biostar P4TDK P4 2.4GHz 2GB DDR400 2x Seagate 160GB BenQ 1620 LiteOn SOHD 167T
Matrox G450 Antec CS600/Antec True550 19" CRT

All Computers Use TB SantaCruz Sound Cards & RealMagic Hollywood+ DVD Decoder cards
pipemanid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2009   #3
MyCE Resident
 
cholla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Amarillo ,Texas
Posts: 8,162
Re: Can I use my another windows vista CD from laptop A to install in laptop B?

I think with Vista it's just a matter of putting in the correct Product key .
So my opinion is as long as you use the correct Product key for the Vista Basic it should work.
It may require a call to Microsoft to reactivate but it is a toll frre number & it will come up if it is required.
If my understanding of Vista is correct all 4 versions are already on your OS you just have to pay for the upgrade & you get a new Product key to activate that version.
cholla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2009   #4
Senior Moderator
 
mciahel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 17,090
Hi and Welcome!
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlgoh1 View Post
I have two laptops from Dell one the OS is windows vista Basic and another is windows vista home premium. The one with the vista basic have its windows corrupted. The problem is I lost the installation CDs, Can I ask whether can i use the CD of windows home premium to install in my corrupted laptop?
I guess, not.
With a normal (retail or system builder) Vista install disc, you could do that since the features (Premium, Basic, Ultimate) are determined by the product key during installation. The Dell OEM disc might install Home Premium without asking. If you can enter your home basic key after installation, then all is okay.

Apart from ordering a new set of discs from Dell, you may have a look into your manual if there is a recovery partition which will restore the factory preinstallation.

Michael

@pipemanid: Most laptops and brand name computers come without any Windows install disc, so the one disc - one license claim is IMHO not justified.
mciahel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2009   #5
MyCE Resident
 
pipemanid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In The Mountains
Posts: 5,374
Re: Can I use my another windows vista CD from laptop A to install in laptop B?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mciahel View Post
@pipemanid: Most laptops and brand name computers come without any Windows install disc, so the one disc - one license claim is IMHO not justified.
Good point, but the OP specifically said they lost the original installation disks...
In addition, my interpretation is that they wished to use one installation disk for 2 separate computers, which is not allowed unless they somehow have the original key...
__________________
Main System
Intel D865GBF P4 3.2E 4GB DDR400 2x Maxtor 250GB BenQ 1650 BenQ 1620 Matrox P650
InWin Q500/Antec True550 Dual 19"LCD

Backup System
Intel D865GLC P4 3.0E 4GB DDR400 2x Maxtor 250GB BenQ 1620 BenQ 1650 Matrox P650
InWin Q500/Antec True550 Dual 17"LCD

Workhorse System
SuperMicro P6DBS P3 850MHz x 2 1GB SDRAM 4x Seagate UW 9.1GB LiteOn 1633S Pioneer A-305S Matrox G450
InWin Q500/PC Power & Cooling 510 ATX Dual 15"LCD

Play System
AOpen AX4SG P4 2.8E 2GB DDR400 2x Maxtor 160GB BenQ 1620 BenQ 822A Matrox G550
Antec CS600/Antec True550 Dual 17"LCD

Server/Firewall
Biostar P4TDK P4 2.4GHz 2GB DDR400 2x Seagate 160GB BenQ 1620 LiteOn SOHD 167T
Matrox G450 Antec CS600/Antec True550 19" CRT

All Computers Use TB SantaCruz Sound Cards & RealMagic Hollywood+ DVD Decoder cards
pipemanid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2009   #6
MyCE Resident
 
cholla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Amarillo ,Texas
Posts: 8,162
Re: Can I use my another windows vista CD from laptop A to install in laptop B?

If there is a Recovery partition you may be able to make a setting in your BIOS so it will be an option at boot.I have deleted the one that came on my computer but I think either F2 or F 10 was the option button to access the recovery partition on my computer.
mciahel is correct most computers now come with no Windows discs.
@pipemanid ,I don't have a laptop but on my desktop there is a key sticker on the case.
cholla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2009   #7
Moderator
 
bean55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago Land Area
Posts: 7,212
Re: Can I use my another windows vista CD from laptop A to install in laptop B?

F11 for some HP , E machines for Recovery
__________________
My Signature:

Forum Rules: http://club.myce.com/f34/announcemen...uidelines.html

GO TEAM GO Fold for team 13505 http://folding.stanford.edu/

Help us save some lives by joining the Distributed Computing Teams : F@H or WGC or BOTH
bean55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2009   #8
MyCE Resident
 
cholla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Amarillo ,Texas
Posts: 8,162
Re: Can I use my another windows vista CD from laptop A to install in laptop B?

You might want to give this article a read :http://www.goodells.net/dellrestore/recover.htm
These are the ptedit.exe fro the article:
ftp://ftp.symantec.com/public/englis...ies/ptedit.zip
ftp://ftp.symantec.com/public/englis...s/PTEDIT32.zip
This is a useful tool to show if you have a hidden partition in a working Windows too.
cholla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2009   #9
Senior Moderator
 
mciahel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 17,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by pipemanid View Post
Good point, but the OP specifically said they lost the original installation disks...
In addition, my interpretation is that they wished to use one installation disk for 2 separate computers, which is not allowed unless they somehow have the original key...
No problem with Dell laptops. The key is on a sticker located on the bottom of the unit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bean55 View Post
F11 for some HP , E machines for Recovery
From the manual of my Dell Vostro 1500:
  1. Press F8 key several times to show the "Advanced Start Options" screen of Vista.
  2. Select "Repair Options"
  3. Select keyboard layout
  4. Log in as user "Administrator" (no password normally)
  5. Klick "Dell Factory Image Restore"
The procedure should be similar for many Dell laptops, but reading the manual before is highly recommended.

Michael
mciahel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Frontpage Question: I am unable to connect the toshiba 400gb hdd to my windows vista laptop? almellora Solid State Drives (SSD), Hard Drives (HDD) and NAS 1 22-08-2009 01:17
Please Help: New laptop shows additional CD Drive which does not function (Vista) Carvin General Hardware Forum 3 29-05-2009 14:55
Question: install windows onto laptop HD from another laptop noknockers General Hardware Forum 3 25-05-2009 02:03
Please Help: Bootable Recovery CD for Toshiba Vista Laptop? techshare General Software 1 13-12-2008 03:07
Software Problem: HP Laptop Windows Install oconnor.khors Newbie Forum 10 04-12-2008 15:50


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:40.
Top