Old 23-04-2009   #1
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Can I get a blank dvd above 20 gb?

I recently bought a camera and I filmed a show and I want to burn it to dvd. My problem is that it is about 21gb. Its standard definition. Is it possible to get a blank dvd to take that much?

Thanks,
Paul
Stookan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2009   #2
MyCE Resident
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2,698
Re: Can I get a blank dvd above 20 gb?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stookan View Post
I recently bought a camera and I filmed a show and I want to burn it to dvd. My problem is that it is about 21gb. Its standard definition. Is it possible to get a blank dvd to take that much?

Thanks,
Paul
Not on one standard single or even dual layer disk. You can break it into segments or look into Blu-ray. Another option is to convert it to avi, but the quality will suffer.
Whappo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2009   #3
DVD Freak
 
pinto2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Valhöll
Posts: 7,731
Re: Can I get a blank dvd above 20 gb?

Wellcome to cdfreaks Stookan.

No, its not possible to burn 20GB to a DVD single sided disc. But say, 4 - 4.3GB might be okay though.

Please tell us what type/make camcoder you got and also please read manual and check the box camera came with for a CD with additional software for your camera.
pinto2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2009   #4
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Re: Can I get a blank dvd above 20 gb?

Its a Canon xl2 I got it second hand recently There was no software with the camera I can reduce the quality on the computer but I was hoping to keep the quality....... Is it alot of work to burn it onto blue ray? I only have a run of the mill dvd burner in my laptop.....
Stookan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2009   #5
MyCE Resident
 
Dr. Who's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Washington State
Posts: 5,053
Re: Can I get a blank dvd above 20 gb?

You might look into using Nero, if i remember right you can compress the video down some but I am not 100% sure. Maybe someone else may say something about it.
Dr. Who is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2009   #6
CD Freaks Expert
 
RichMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,134
Re: Can I get a blank dvd above 20 gb?

To burn to Blu-ray you would need a blu-ray burner and blank blu-ray disc, both of which are still fairly expensive. The resulting disc would, of course, only be useable in a blu-ray player.

I think you will just need to burn the video to 2 (or more) dual layer DVDs.

RM
RichMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2009   #7
Senior Moderator
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: In the present, the past was so long ago...
Posts: 7,453
Re: Can I get a blank dvd above 20 gb?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stookan View Post
I recently bought a camera and I filmed a show and I want to burn it to dvd. My problem is that it is about 21gb. Its standard definition. Is it possible to get a blank dvd to take that much?

Thanks,
Paul
What really matters is how long (time) the recording is. 21 Gb sounds like you have about 2 hours of DV in an AVI container. If that's the case then when you convert it to MPEG (DVD) format it should easily fit a standard disk with reasonable quality.
olyteddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2010   #8
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stookan View Post
I recently bought a camera and I filmed a show and I want to burn it to dvd. My problem is that it is about 21gb. Its standard definition. Is it possible to get a blank dvd to take that much?

Thanks,
Paul
you can go to bestbuy website and they sell 25 gb dvds 10 pack. hope i helped
mik490 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2010   #9
MyCE Resident
 
Jimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Great Southwest Desert (Arizona)
Posts: 5,208
Re: Can I get a blank dvd above 20 gb?

Those would be BR media no standard dvd media goes anywhere close to that
__________________
Jim ( Turtle Brigade Commander )
Windows XP Home Edition Version 2002 SP3 & IE8
Intel Pentium 4 CPU 2.80GHz
2.81 GHz 1.00 GB of RAM
( Old like me ) But does the job great
Pioneer 112L FW 8.25
Pioneer 112L FW 8.25
Taiyo Yuden & Verbatim +R's Only In My Burners
DVDFAB

Paid Not To Work
US Navy Retired ( 20 Years )(San Diego Gas & Electric Retired (20 years)
Proudly Served On
USS Coral Sea CVA-43 (VF-154) / USS Oriskany CVA-34 (VFP-63) / USS Ranger CVA-61 (VF-121)
6 trips to the Gulf Of Tonkin
Jimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2010   #10
MyCE Resident
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 8,119
Re: Can I get a blank dvd above 20 gb?

Also being from 2009 would consider the OP has found the right medium to use and no longer requires reposting again.
coolcolors is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question: how can i mount 6.20 gb image in two dvd?? ichigo89 Nero & InCD 2 11-11-2008 19:48
How to make a copy of 8.5 GB movie DVD into a 4.7 gb dvd_guru General Software 10 12-09-2008 11:33
Is it Possible to transfer an HD-DVD 30 GB Movie onto a BD-R 25 GB Auzzie Kid CD, DVD and Blu-ray Writers 1 03-01-2008 21:43
4.5 gb dvd taking over 20 minutes 16x - help? digitallive Newbie Forum 4 12-09-2007 06:49
Philips DVDRW824k/20 does not see blank media phev Newbie Forum 2 18-09-2004 14:03


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:40.
Top