Old 03-12-2006   #1
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
frozenwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 68
Burning High File Size .Iso to 2 Discs

Hi, I have a question on burning a software to 2 discs.

I have an Image File at 5.2Gbs, but I only have 4.7Gb Discs, Is there any way I can split the Image File so they install using 2 discs?

An Example: When I install the game and it meets the data end point, it would say "Please Insert Disc 2".

Is there any way I can do that?
frozenwind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2006   #2
Retired Administrator & Reviewer
 
Womble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: On a Spoon!
Posts: 4,749
Re: Burning High File Size .Iso to 2 Discs

Nope.

Well actually there probably is but you will need to reprogram the game to do it.

Time to buy some 8.5gb discs.
__________________
I'm not inactive. I'm just asleep!!!
Womble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2006   #3
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 26
Re: Burning High File Size .Iso to 2 Discs

Buy multi-layer disks
clarky92au is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006   #4
MyCE Resident
 
_chef_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: @FX labs .de ...playing LLAMATRON :-]
Posts: 31,135
Re: Burning High File Size .Iso to 2 Discs

DVD±R DL media.
__________________
Enable DMA with micrAp$0ft Enable DMA free at your will busTRACE => Upper/Lower Filters Util
DevCon
***HOW TO ... Delete the Upper & Lower Filters!***

If you expect help then please use the powerful SEARCH. Try ThreatFire
I am looking for DVD-R for Authoring & HD DVD media. Please PM me if you can help me.

Vamos Tribbles! V-a-m-o-s!!
_chef_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2006   #5
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
frozenwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 68
Re: Burning High File Size .Iso to 2 Discs

Any ideas are what I should search for if there is a program?
frozenwind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2006   #6
Retired Administrator & Reviewer
 
Womble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: On a Spoon!
Posts: 4,749
Re: Burning High File Size .Iso to 2 Discs

I serious doubt there is a program. Simply becuase you will have to mess around with the coding of the game. That means that you need to know what language it is written in.

The program would have to decompile it add the bit in which says go to disc one/ go to disc two. Fiddle with the copy protection so that dosn't fail the copy check and then recompile it. It also has to do this in a way so that you are not swappig discs every 3 seconds because of where the split in the disc is located.
__________________
I'm not inactive. I'm just asleep!!!
Womble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2006   #7
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
frozenwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 68
Re: Burning High File Size .Iso to 2 Discs

All that just to get the Install shield to read from 2 discs? o_O
frozenwind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2006   #8
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
frozenwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 68
Re: Burning High File Size .Iso to 2 Discs

because I'm not playing the ISO, I just want it to install from 2 discs instead of one.. I thought it would have been easier than In-Play disc reading..
frozenwind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2006   #9
MyCE Resident
 
_chef_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: @FX labs .de ...playing LLAMATRON :-]
Posts: 31,135
Re: Burning High File Size .Iso to 2 Discs

Quote:
Originally Posted by frozenwind
because I'm not playing the ISO, I just want it to install from 2 discs instead of one.. I thought it would have been easier than In-Play disc reading..
For what sense, I may ask?!?
__________________
Enable DMA with micrAp$0ft Enable DMA free at your will busTRACE => Upper/Lower Filters Util
DevCon
***HOW TO ... Delete the Upper & Lower Filters!***

If you expect help then please use the powerful SEARCH. Try ThreatFire
I am looking for DVD-R for Authoring & HD DVD media. Please PM me if you can help me.

Vamos Tribbles! V-a-m-o-s!!
_chef_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2006   #10
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
frozenwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 68
Re: Burning High File Size .Iso to 2 Discs

because it's 5.2gbs and I don't wanna get a 8gb disc x_x
frozenwind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2006   #11
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
Re: Burning High File Size .Iso to 2 Discs

You could zip or rar the image into parts, the 700mb selection is fine. Then just burn the parts to two discs and when you need to install it, unrar, mount with DT4 and away you go.

Ive had to do that because I cant shell out the cash for DL discs yet. They are sooo damn expensive.
Pejell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006   #12
MyCE Resident
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 7,877
Re: Burning High File Size .Iso to 2 Discs

Quote:
Originally Posted by frozenwind
Hi, I have a question on burning a software to 2 discs.

I have an Image File at 5.2Gbs, but I only have 4.7Gb Discs, Is there any way I can split the Image File so they install using 2 discs?

An Example: When I install the game and it meets the data end point, it would say "Please Insert Disc 2".

Is there any way I can do that?
If you want to have a decent job done then burn this file size into Double Layer disc.
TCAS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006   #13
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
frozenwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 68
Re: Burning High File Size .Iso to 2 Discs

Quote:
Originally Posted by frozenwind
because it's 5.2gbs and I don't wanna get a 8gb disc x_x
Please Read TSAC, I said I don't want to buy a 8GB Dual Layer disc, I wanna make it 2 bootable dvds, so when I install the first DVD it installs and tells me "Please Insert Disc 2" when it's done so I can install Disc 2
frozenwind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006   #14
MyCE Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 74
Re: Burning High File Size .Iso to 2 Discs

ROXIO 6 will perform that function if you can find it.
[IMG]
Attached Images
 
BONJOPI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006   #15
MyCE Resident
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 7,877
Re: Burning High File Size .Iso to 2 Discs

Quote:
Originally Posted by frozenwind
Please Read TSAC, I said I don't want to buy a 8GB Dual Layer disc, I wanna make it 2 bootable dvds, so when I install the first DVD it installs and tells me "Please Insert Disc 2" when it's done so I can install Disc 2

Then you better google your request may be there is a solution for it but I doubt it.
TCAS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006   #16
MyCE Resident
 
_chef_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: @FX labs .de ...playing LLAMATRON :-]
Posts: 31,135
Re: Burning High File Size .Iso to 2 Discs

The point is: Use the original disc!
__________________
Enable DMA with micrAp$0ft Enable DMA free at your will busTRACE => Upper/Lower Filters Util
DevCon
***HOW TO ... Delete the Upper & Lower Filters!***

If you expect help then please use the powerful SEARCH. Try ThreatFire
I am looking for DVD-R for Authoring & HD DVD media. Please PM me if you can help me.

Vamos Tribbles! V-a-m-o-s!!
_chef_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2010   #17
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by frozenwind View Post
Hi, I have a question on burning a software to 2 discs.

I have an Image File at 5.2Gbs, but I only have 4.7Gb Discs, Is there any way I can split the Image File so they install using 2 discs?

An Example: When I install the game and it meets the data end point, it would say "Please Insert Disc 2".

Is there any way I can do that?

if its just a game you can get daemon tools and mount your iso to a virtual drive and run it from there.
Zackeriess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2010   #18
MyCE Resident
 
_chef_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: @FX labs .de ...playing LLAMATRON :-]
Posts: 31,135
Re: Burning High File Size .Iso to 2 Discs

Quote:
Originally Posted by frozenwind View Post
Any ideas are what I should search for if there is a program?
Nope!

Did YOU create that game iso or from where is it???
__________________
Enable DMA with micrAp$0ft Enable DMA free at your will busTRACE => Upper/Lower Filters Util
DevCon
***HOW TO ... Delete the Upper & Lower Filters!***

If you expect help then please use the powerful SEARCH. Try ThreatFire
I am looking for DVD-R for Authoring & HD DVD media. Please PM me if you can help me.

Vamos Tribbles! V-a-m-o-s!!
_chef_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why the 2gb file size limit for ISO? ProfessorX Nero & InCD 8 19-09-2008 17:34
burn iso file size more than 4G rashanoureldin Burning Software 2 10-11-2006 10:57
File size reduced after ISO conversion?? danhenshy23 Newbie Forum 1 17-05-2006 19:19
iso burning probs-incorrect block size pofd66 Burning Software 0 01-04-2003 11:32
ISO 9660 file size Help Signuke General Software 5 27-03-2003 02:33


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:43.
Top