Old 27-11-2011   #1
MyCE Member

Anything better than Spybot Search & Destroy ?

hey,

i use avast anti virus and i like its ease of use and it works well for me , i have also been using Spybot searcch & destroy for years but recently avast has been poping up that it has detected teatimer is a threat ,

so i uninstalled Spybot, and i would like to know is there a better program i can use rather than spybot , i want a free program and i am not an expert in all the settings , so i dont want anything too complicated .

i am running win xp sp3 .

thanks .
ghosts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2011   #2
Administrator

Re: Anything better than Spybot Search & Destroy ?

MalwareBytes. http://www.malwarebytes.org/products/malwarebytes_free

The free version works fine. Just do a manual scan from time to time.

And I prefer Microsoft Security Essentials over Avast. It is uninstrusive and scans for spyware as well as virus infections and trojans.
Kerry56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2011   #3
Senior Moderator

+1 what Kerry ^ said.

It's been at least 2 years, 5 months, 6 days, 11 hours, 52 minutes and 35 36 37 seconds since I had a sig...
(but who's counting?)
olyteddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2011   #4
MyCE Senior Member

Windows XP is old, but I don't believe in any extra Utility Programs. Your OS is up to date, so all you need is a good Anti-Virus. Avast is good, I put it on all my Client's computers. The paid Professional has Malware protection. A Lean Clean Machine is the Best!
alchav21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2011   #5
MyCE Resident Old Fart

Location: Diehard Old CDFreak Lurking In The Back Of Your Mind

Yo-

Kerrys recommendations of M$ Security Essentials and Malwarebytes is the best overall 'free' solution IMO2.

I personally use a combination of BitDefender Internet Security 2012 - M$ Security Essentials and SuperAntiSpyware for my defense system on all my computers-eh.

(Y) <- - - (a tribute to *someone*)