Go Back   Club Myce > Hardware > Blank Media

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-01-2005   #1
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 17
1Media 8x DVD-Rs bought - are they genuine TYs ?

I've bought a spindle of 1Media 8x DVD-Rs from Strathfield (Adelaide, Australia). And so far I've got no luck with them on my Lite-On SOHW-812S (f/w vUSON). I tried to burn at the possible lowest speed, i.e. 2x, and still could not get good copies as they skipped and stopped closer to the end of the movie.
The spindle did not have any indication of the country of origin for the discs and the DVDIdentifier showed the following :
-----------------------------------------------------------
Unique Disc Identifier : [DVD-R:TYG02]
-----------------------------------------------------------
Disc & Book Type : [DVD-R] - [DVD-R]
Manufacturer Name : [Taiyo Yuden Co. Ltd.]
Manufacturer ID : [TYG02]
Blank Disc Capacity : [2,298,496 Sectors = 4,489.3MB = 4.38GB (4.71GB)]
Recording Speeds : [1x , 2x , 4x]
[6x And Higher Might Not Always Be Detectable]
-----------------------------------------------------------

And here's my question : are these discs are genuine Taiyo Yuden DVDs or just fake ones? And if not how can I avoid such problems in the future.

I know there are quite a few threads where question like this one are discussed but I'm really mixed up with what I've got as the discs look like genuine ones though no good copies so far.
Thank you.
Foma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005   #2
MyCE Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 292
Re: 1Media 8x DVD-Rs bought - are they genuine TYs ?

Odds are they are probably fakes, and your best bet to avoid this in the future is to buy from trusted sites, and to get trusted media that we all know is either TY or Ritek. There are a few threads about buying media in the land down under. Good luck
Ranmacanada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005   #3
CDFreaks Resident
 
dicer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 718
Re: 1Media 8x DVD-Rs bought - are they genuine TYs ?

Strathfield sell nothing but crap on their cd and dvd's. Without a doubt fakes.
dicer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today
Always the best offers
 
 
Join Date: Today
Location: Myce HQ
Posts: Zillions
Old 04-01-2005   #4
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 17
Re: 1Media 8x DVD-Rs bought - are they genuine TYs ?

Thanks guys. I am wondering if we've got a descent on-line shop with good reputation and good prices that ships DVDs to Australia. The ones I've checked do not ship here as they are based in US.
Foma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005   #5
CDFreaks Resident
 
dicer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 718
Re: 1Media 8x DVD-Rs bought - are they genuine TYs ?

In case you haven't seen the oz bargains thread, http://forum.cdfreaks.com/showthread...&goto=lastpost
dicer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005   #6
Moderator
 
Jesterrace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 5,560
Re: 1Media 8x DVD-Rs bought - are they genuine TYs ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foma
I've bought a spindle of 1Media 8x DVD-Rs from Strathfield (Adelaide, Australia). And so far I've got no luck with them on my Lite-On SOHW-812S (f/w vUSON). I tried to burn at the possible lowest speed, i.e. 2x, and still could not get good copies as they skipped and stopped closer to the end of the movie.
The spindle did not have any indication of the country of origin for the discs and the DVDIdentifier showed the following :
-----------------------------------------------------------
Unique Disc Identifier : [DVD-R:TYG02]
-----------------------------------------------------------
Disc & Book Type : [DVD-R] - [DVD-R]
Manufacturer Name : [Taiyo Yuden Co. Ltd.]
Manufacturer ID : [TYG02]
Blank Disc Capacity : [2,298,496 Sectors = 4,489.3MB = 4.38GB (4.71GB)]
Recording Speeds : [1x , 2x , 4x]
[6x And Higher Might Not Always Be Detectable]
-----------------------------------------------------------

And here's my question : are these discs are genuine Taiyo Yuden DVDs or just fake ones? And if not how can I avoid such problems in the future.

I know there are quite a few threads where question like this one are discussed but I'm really mixed up with what I've got as the discs look like genuine ones though no good copies so far.
Thank you.
Yeah, it sounds like fakes to me. This is why I always tell people to avoid "cutting corners" and to order the Manufacturer's own label.
Jesterrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005   #7
CD Freaks Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 373
Re: 1Media 8x DVD-Rs bought - are they genuine TYs ?

Isn't this illegal? I mean if TY didn't manufacture these media, who did? Couldn't TY go after them or something (lawsuit and what not) for using their name/brand?
DevHead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005   #8
ase
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 17
Re: 1Media 8x DVD-Rs bought - are they genuine TYs ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevHead
Isn't this illegal? I mean if TY didn't manufacture these media, who did? Couldn't TY go after them or something (lawsuit and what not) for using their name/brand?
Making knock off products is a whole industry. Its not worth their time or hassle to go after these people. Buy from sources you know to be legit and not worry about it.

Or would you rather have a coupple cents premium ontop of every blank made to cover the costs of going after them?

*plays with his fake rolex and oakley sunglasses he got from a street vender for $10*
ase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005   #9
MyCE Resident
 
Two Degrees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Surrounded by granite in North GA
Posts: 5,925
Re: 1Media 8x DVD-Rs bought - are they genuine TYs ?

Technically they aren't using TY's brand name, just their media code. There doesn't seem to be any legal issues with this unfortunately.
Two Degrees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2005   #10
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 17
Re: 1Media 8x DVD-Rs bought - are they genuine TYs ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ase
Buy from sources you know to be legit and not worry about it.
That's what I am doing at the moment. Thanks guys. It was a good lesson for me.
Foma is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bought Some Fuji -Rs at BB No Good? drgrafix Blank Media 7 08-04-2007 01:13
Where to buy 4x or 8x genuine Taiyo's? valnar Blank Media 7 11-11-2005 01:08
BestMedia Platinum DVD+R 8x, genuine TY (T02)? teknologen Blank Media 0 18-08-2005 14:14
www.xmediatrade.com - do they sell genuine TY DVD+Rs? febe Blank Media 0 20-07-2005 00:38
Where to buy genuine +R TY (8x or 4x) in the UK?? YaZ Blank Media 7 10-09-2004 15:43


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:45.
Top