Old 10-04-2004   #1
CD Freaks Senior Member
 
babychar2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 592
How to connect a standard dvd player to a Computer?

I want to connect my standard dvd player to my computer. Both of my computer and the dvd player have a s-video slot. The Video slot didn't say in or out. I was wondering after you connected them together where do you go to copy the dvds file to my computer, which then i could burn it to a cdr. I dont have a dvd drive so i was wondering if the metho would whork. Pleas Help
babychar2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2004   #2
Retired Senior Moderator
 
ChickenMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oz
Posts: 2,659
If your DVD Player has S-Video OUT and your PC's video card has S-Video in, yes you can capture from dvd player to pc. But if its TV OUT from your Video card, then guess what, sorry no. Establish the in's and out's of your S-Video before you go any further. Check your Video card manual or check their home site.
__________________
Cheers,
CM

Please don't PM me with technical questions, use the Forum, that's what it's here for.
ChickenMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2004   #3
CD Freaks Senior Member
 
babychar2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 592
My Video card has a s-video slot but it didnt say in or out. My dvd has a s-video slot and it didnt say in or out but avosly it is a out.
babychar2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2004   #4
CD Freaks Senior Member
 
babychar2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 592
i wanta know after u plug it in where you go to play the dvd.
babychar2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2004   #5
CDFreaks Resident
 
ZigZagMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,277
most video cards with an s-video port are tv/out.......not in

unless you have a "capture card"....this will not work for you.

what you need is a "capture" device........be it a card or external, there are many fine products that allow you to do this....

In either case.....captureing directly from you set top player is faced with challenges, ie....dvd protection......there are ways around it............
__________________
My Current Rig:Nvidia Gforce4 MX 4000 128meg, Biostar M7NCD, AthalonXP 2500+, 512meg DDR2700 1x 512, NEC 2510A, Matshita DVD-RAM LFD310, 160gig via 2x 80gig IBM Deskstar, 400watt ps, Win98SE, Chieftech Tower with extra fans and flashy lights,,,,I find the lights annoying and cool at the same time..hmm

Rig 2:Nvidia Riva TNT2 Pro 32meg, Gigabyte 7ZXE F9, AthalonXP 2100+, 640meg PC133 2x 256 / 1x 128, LG 52x24x52x, Creative DVD-Rom DVD2240E, 120Gig via 1x 40gig WDC400BB-00DKA0 / 1x 80gig ST380021A, 300watt ps, Firewire, XpPro SP1, Generic Mid tower case.

Rig 3:800 Duron, Crap ass cirrus 2 meg video card, 55 gig via 1x 15 gig seagate, 1x 40 gig IBM deskstar. 512 meg ram pc133 (I'm so proud..lol )

____________________________
Hurray for boobies!!!
ZigZagMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2004   #6
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Deadwood
Posts: 11,533
MUCH cheaper and easier to just buy a DVD drive
rdgrimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2004   #7
CDFreaks Resident
 
ZigZagMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,277
I agree with rdgrimes.....and his goofey new avatar.........
__________________
My Current Rig:Nvidia Gforce4 MX 4000 128meg, Biostar M7NCD, AthalonXP 2500+, 512meg DDR2700 1x 512, NEC 2510A, Matshita DVD-RAM LFD310, 160gig via 2x 80gig IBM Deskstar, 400watt ps, Win98SE, Chieftech Tower with extra fans and flashy lights,,,,I find the lights annoying and cool at the same time..hmm

Rig 2:Nvidia Riva TNT2 Pro 32meg, Gigabyte 7ZXE F9, AthalonXP 2100+, 640meg PC133 2x 256 / 1x 128, LG 52x24x52x, Creative DVD-Rom DVD2240E, 120Gig via 1x 40gig WDC400BB-00DKA0 / 1x 80gig ST380021A, 300watt ps, Firewire, XpPro SP1, Generic Mid tower case.

Rig 3:800 Duron, Crap ass cirrus 2 meg video card, 55 gig via 1x 15 gig seagate, 1x 40 gig IBM deskstar. 512 meg ram pc133 (I'm so proud..lol )

____________________________
Hurray for boobies!!!
ZigZagMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2005   #8
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
Re: How to connect a standard dvd player to a Computer?

Is it posible, to connect dvd player to pc?
I have a Nvidia card (FX 5200 from Asus with s-video in and out) an a standard dvd player with s-video out...
If it is posible plz help me with the confugurations
Lacooda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2005   #9
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1
Re: How to connect a standard dvd player to a Computer?

Just buy a DVD burner and rip your movie.
You'll probably get better quality doing it that way and you'll also get the 5.1.

Edit: And you can get a normal DVD burner for like $50.
FragaGeddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005   #10
MyCE Member
 
unicorn23`'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: India
Posts: 226
Re: How to connect a standard dvd player to a Computer?

Hi,

I would agree with everyone on this much. It is better to buy a DVD burner(if not even a dvd drive will do but you wont be able to make a DVD copy) coz I tried what this thread is talking about and the aggravation just aint worth it. Took me a whole day to capture a home made DVD of a friends to the comp and make a workable SVCD out of it. This was way before I got a dvd drive/DVD burner and in today's times(with the prices as they are ) it is just not worth it.

Unicorn23'.
unicorn23` is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005   #11
MyCE Member
 
unicorn23`'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: India
Posts: 226
Re: How to connect a standard dvd player to a Computer?

Hi Laccooda,

If you still want then connect your S-Video cable(assuming you have one) from your s-video Out of the DVD player to the S-video In of your Video card. Use the capture software(whatever you use, if NOT read the guides and other posts in this forum) and select the S-video as the source, then capture.

Hope this helps.
Unicorn23'.

PS. The audio cable still needs to be connected seperately as S-Video is just that it is only video information, Nothing else. Audio from the O/P of your player to the I/p of your sound card and select the I/p in the capture software as Line-in of your sound card.
unicorn23` is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connect a Standard dvd player to a computer. babychar2002 General Software 6 01-02-2009 21:40
external dvd burner will not connect to computer superdu Newbie Forum 5 26-08-2006 04:07
Connect DVD player to PC aljabal General Hardware Forum 1 10-03-2006 16:01
how to burn audio dvd for standard player? keynotes_88 Newbie Forum 0 23-08-2005 03:33
How do I connect DVD player to PC Lacooda Video Edit Software 2 04-01-2005 17:38


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:57.
Top