Old 18-03-2012   #1
MyCE Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 34
DVDREMAKE don't open files that play OK

I haven't used DVDReMake for several years. I have ripped several DVD's to the HD using DVDShrink. They all play perfectly using VLC player,WMP or Power DVD. As soon as I try to open a DVD using DVDReMake I get an error message & says it can't continue. The files open anyway & the program allows me to edit them. I won't allow me to make a test DVD.

When I go to the log I find in red the following sort of message for several different files.

'Recovering C_ADT & VOBU_ADMAP tables (818):vobdata.cpp)
Cell #4 uses vobus(vobID=1,cellD=4)not present in vob file.Substituting blank cell instead. (2117:PGC.cpp)'

I get several line similar to that in quotes above.

I even tried ripping a couple of old home videos's of our holidays & tried opening in DRM with the same result.

Does anyone have any idea as to what the problem is & how do I fix it?
__________________
Thanks in advance
The Old Fart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2012   #2
Administrator & Reviewer
 
Wombler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 12,767
Run the files through FixVTS using the 'Full DVD' option and see if that sorts it.

It's very good at fixing problems with non-compliant files and it's pretty quick too.


Wombler
__________________
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
Forum Help: Forum Rules, Myce Help Centre
If you find these forums useful then: Register Here
DVDFab/ImgBurn: Choosing the correct Layer Break Position in ImgBurn
DVDFab: BDMV-REC Supported Burners
Reviews: Ideal DVD Copy, Magic DVD Copier, DVDFab DVD Copy v9

Wombler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2012   #3
MyCE Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 34
I tried FIXVTS as you suggested. I think that I did it correctly as I could not find any instructions for the program. All I did was click open & pointed it to file on my PC. It created a new BU file with in the Video_TS folder.. I then tried opening the file with DRM again but got errors immediately. I then tried directing DRM to the BU file but the results were the same.

I was always a bit sceptical about this working at all since the same problem occurs from both ripped DVD's as well as DVD's that I created from scratch.

Could the problem have been in either my burner reading the files them selves? Or even more likely a Windows problem.
__________________
Thanks in advance
The Old Fart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2012   #4
Administrator & Reviewer
 
Wombler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 12,767
It could be a lot of things but my suspicions are that there's something wrong with the rip as FixVTS never fails to work unless there's something fairly seriously wrong with the files.

You could try opening the DVD fileset in PgcEdit which will automatically attempt to fix any errors.

Point it to the VIDEO_TS folder and say yes to any prompts when PgcEdit opens the files.

If you've any problems with PgcEdit let me know and I can advise further.


Wombler
__________________
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
Forum Help: Forum Rules, Myce Help Centre
If you find these forums useful then: Register Here
DVDFab/ImgBurn: Choosing the correct Layer Break Position in ImgBurn
DVDFab: BDMV-REC Supported Burners
Reviews: Ideal DVD Copy, Magic DVD Copier, DVDFab DVD Copy v9

Wombler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2012   #5
MyCE Resident
 
cholla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Amarillo ,Texas
Posts: 8,162
Re: DVDREMAKE don't open files that play OK

This is one bit of advice I found & I don't have DVDReMake so I can't test it.
Quote:
Don't worry it's not actually an error, it's a mismatch between the ifo time tables and the vob files. Drm corrects this problem when you export you're disc.
That would seem to be the easiest if it works.
I read several posts about this & I think the problem is caused by editing software.
DVDReMake may be one of them or is just detecting what other editing software has done .
My opinion is that cells have been removed that are still referenced in the ifo .
This also causes a time map error . Removed cells equal less time.(Even if it is a small amount). That is why DVDReMake tries "Substituting blank cell" .

With some help from Wombler PGCEdit can probably fix this .

Some said IFOEdit's "Mockstrip" fixed it for them but I think PGCEdit would be easier.

There were some posts indicating the poster believed it was caused by a text , multi-angle , or interleaved problem. Since you also got the error from "old home videos's ". I don't think any of those are your problem.
__________________
cholla pronounced ˈchȯi-yə click on cholla to hear
cholla is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No program will read files from DVDremake...what am I doing wrong? stannmaple Movie copy software 12 03-10-2007 05:35
Summary of DVDReMake vs. DVDReMake Pro differences? DukeOfUrl Movie copy software 4 02-10-2007 19:14
movie doesn't play after editing with DVDReMake ramarunk Movie copy software 3 06-09-2006 19:08
DVDReMake 3.5 speeds the up loading of project files Crabbyappleton Latest News Headlines 1 06-05-2006 02:51
New versions of DvdReMake and DvdReMake Pro released Crabbyappleton Latest News Headlines 0 10-08-2005 20:43


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:42.
Top