Old 23-06-2003   #1
MyCE Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 32
Winrar - Extracting Corrupt Files

I recently downloaded an avi movie consisting of about 50 compressed rar files. 2 files near the end of the archive are incomplete. Is there any chance (or program) that will allow me to extract the remaining rar files? I am hoping to extract what I can to watch the movie - minus, of course, the 2 missing files (maybe 4-5 minutes worth of video).

Any help would be appreciated.
WhatAboutBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2003   #2
MyCE Resident
 
ckin2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Strongbadia
Posts: 3,464
have you tried avipreview? it comes as a tool along with kazaalite now, as well as individually - and is pretty efficient.
__________________
www.livingwithoutmicrosoft.org

last 5 cd's
Avril Lavigne - Whatever the new one is called
Lucky Boys Confusion - Throwing the Game
lostprophets - Start Something
Story of the Year - Page Avenue
Flaming Lips - Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots



Don't let schooling interfere with your education.
-Mark Twain
ckin2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2003   #3
Retired Moderator
 
AZImmortal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,941
his problem's not that he has an incomplete avi, but he was dl'ing an avi compressed into multiple rar volumes, and the final two volumes are incomplete. i don't think there's anything u can do about extracting it, cuz it spans the entire set.
__________________
Vob Blanker | DvdReMake (Pro)

I don't respond to questions through PM that should be asked in the forum
AZImmortal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2003   #4
CDFreaks Resident
 
ExpertTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,000
WhatAboutBob, there is a way out. Here's how to get the data out of the - lets say 48 out of 50 archives... where 49 onwards is corrupt.

PROCEDURE 1: (Simpler)

1. Lets say Part 48 is corrupt . Delete it.
2. Start extraction from the 1st volume. As the volumes get extracted, a avi file will be created.
3. When extracting WinRAR will wait for you to supply the 48th file. Let it wait.
4. Go to explorer and make a copy of the avi file created in the folder.
5. Now you have a incomplete avi. If its a DivX file, use DivX fix, a utility to fix incomplete avis.

You now have the MuV till the 48th part.

PROCEDURE 2: (If 1 doesn't work)

1. Start extraction from the first part.
2. Immediately go to the folder where its is being extracted. You will see a .avi file being created.
3. As soon as RAR encounters the corrupt file, it may delete this 'temporary file' - so as soon as u know the corrupt archive part is about to be extracted (maybe a few minutes more), make a copy of it in Explorer. You need to be very agile in this step and it may take a few tries.
4. Now you have a incomplete avi. If its a DivX file, use DivX fix, a utility to fix incomplete avis.

One of this should work out - do let us know if there are any problems.
__________________

Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3.2 Ghz (400 x 8)
Asus P5W Wifi Deluxe AP
Asus Silent Square Cooler
FSP Group FX 700 GLN 700W PSU
4 GB OCZ PC-6400 DDR2 SDRAM
eVGA GeForce 7600 GS 256 MB PCI-e SLI
1 x WD Raptor 10K RPM SATA - 150 GB
Other drives: Seagate 320/500/250 SATA 300, Samsung ext 120, Buffalo ext 500

BenQ 1640 BSRB - Shelved
BenQ 1655 BCGB @ 1650 BCIC
LG GSA H55N 1.00
ViewSonic 19'' widescreen 16:10 LCD

For desis
My lil blog!
ExpertTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2003   #5
MyCE Resident
 
ckin2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Strongbadia
Posts: 3,464
avipreview is a utility that extracts audio / video frames. if he is missing 2 files, then the problem seems to be extracting the first 48 without thte 2, and then viewing them. i have no idea about how the extract works - but there is probaby some kind of option to "not delete corrupt files" to make it extract what it can from an archive. i'd try and extract with all but the last 2 in the directory, and see what it says.

if you can get a file to work with, avipreview constructs a video feed out of whatever parts are present.
__________________
www.livingwithoutmicrosoft.org

last 5 cd's
Avril Lavigne - Whatever the new one is called
Lucky Boys Confusion - Throwing the Game
lostprophets - Start Something
Story of the Year - Page Avenue
Flaming Lips - Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots



Don't let schooling interfere with your education.
-Mark Twain
ckin2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2003   #6
MyCE Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 32
Thanks!

Many thanks to all that responded to my question. To clarify matters - I first needed to extract a copy of the avi before I could use anything to try viewing it (ie. avipreview) which I managed to do, thanks to ExpertTech's suggestions. I did repair it with DivFix which worked like a charm. Incidentally, the only part I'm missing of the video is the very end (the credits) - so I really didn't miss any of it after all.

Thanks again everyone!
WhatAboutBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2003   #7
Retired Administrator
 
Dee-ehn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: On my chair
Posts: 15,198
When opening an incomplete set in Winrar, be sure to check the "keep broken files" checkbox. Way easier than working with tempfiles etc...
Dee-ehn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2003   #8
CD Freaks Senior Member
 
BeLGaRaTh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 346
Umm .. Dee-ehn beat me to it, just tick keep broken files Far Far easier
BeLGaRaTh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2003   #9
MyCE Resident
 
ckin2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Strongbadia
Posts: 3,464
that might have been the option i was babbling about - kudos to dee ehn.
__________________
www.livingwithoutmicrosoft.org

last 5 cd's
Avril Lavigne - Whatever the new one is called
Lucky Boys Confusion - Throwing the Game
lostprophets - Start Something
Story of the Year - Page Avenue
Flaming Lips - Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots



Don't let schooling interfere with your education.
-Mark Twain
ckin2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2004   #10
Letiled Modelatol
 
Airhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: La Suède
Posts: 7,117
I have a similar problem but a little different.
I have one RAR file which is complete, but for some reason it thinks it is a split archive, which it is not. Ticking "keep broken files" does not work, it still prompts me for the second volume.
Any ideas?
__________________
  • This line is currently vacant. Or Is It???
  • You want fast answers? Use our search. <-- Or else!
  • If you have not already, read our rules! <-- Or else again!
  • bcn_246: "Wales are shitty animals to, all they do is swim around and make funny noises that people cant hear."
  • You really should join us on IRC! IrcNet, #cdfreaks-int | Or go here
  • Fear my massive avatar history log! Not updated!
  • "But do they keep increasing in size like mine?" - kwkard
Airhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2004   #11
CDFreaks Resident
 
$CyBeRwIz$'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: True Blue, aka Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,254
Something like this happened to me along these lines, but I finally extracted the file by extracting from the command prompt with special parameters. It is explained how in the WinRar help file.
__________________
Author of The CD Freaks Offline Help doing version 2 code rewrites. Enjoy version 1.

Version 1 is now released! You can get it here.

In it you can learn about SafeDisc, SecuROM and heaps of other protections and learn on how to defeat them. Also you can take a look at some of my various tutorials in it and some frequently asked questions asked. Plus heaps more!
Enjoy!
$CyBeRwIz$ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2004   #12
Letiled Modelatol
 
Airhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: La Suède
Posts: 7,117
I tried WinRAR E -kb C:\archive.rar C:\temp\ but it does the same thing as the shell version does... I want to stop it from asking me where the second file is...
I didnt find any switch for that.
__________________
  • This line is currently vacant. Or Is It???
  • You want fast answers? Use our search. <-- Or else!
  • If you have not already, read our rules! <-- Or else again!
  • bcn_246: "Wales are shitty animals to, all they do is swim around and make funny noises that people cant hear."
  • You really should join us on IRC! IrcNet, #cdfreaks-int | Or go here
  • Fear my massive avatar history log! Not updated!
  • "But do they keep increasing in size like mine?" - kwkard
Airhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2004   #13
MyCE Resident
 
roadworker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,521
Maybe it will stop asking when you convert it to a zipfile....
roadworker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2004   #14
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: europe
Posts: 52
have you tried isobuster ?
wintron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2004   #15
CDFreaks Resident
 
$CyBeRwIz$'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: True Blue, aka Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,254
Quote:
Originally posted by Airhead
I tried WinRAR E -kb C:\archive.rar C:\temp\ but it does the same thing as the shell version does... I want to stop it from asking me where the second file is...
I didnt find any switch for that.
No, there is a special command to bypass errors like that. I will find it for you.
__________________
Author of The CD Freaks Offline Help doing version 2 code rewrites. Enjoy version 1.

Version 1 is now released! You can get it here.

In it you can learn about SafeDisc, SecuROM and heaps of other protections and learn on how to defeat them. Also you can take a look at some of my various tutorials in it and some frequently asked questions asked. Plus heaps more!
Enjoy!
$CyBeRwIz$ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2004   #16
Letiled Modelatol
 
Airhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: La Suède
Posts: 7,117
Thanks for your efforts $CyBeRwIz$.
Isobuster can't open RAR files and WinRAR gives me the same error when I try to convert it.
__________________
  • This line is currently vacant. Or Is It???
  • You want fast answers? Use our search. <-- Or else!
  • If you have not already, read our rules! <-- Or else again!
  • bcn_246: "Wales are shitty animals to, all they do is swim around and make funny noises that people cant hear."
  • You really should join us on IRC! IrcNet, #cdfreaks-int | Or go here
  • Fear my massive avatar history log! Not updated!
  • "But do they keep increasing in size like mine?" - kwkard
Airhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2004   #17
Former Moderator
 
xtacydima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 4,014
@Airhead

How are you doing?
Have you tried VCDGear yet? It does a splendid job but I do not know how well it handles broken rar files. Its FREE!!! so why not give it a chance.
__________________
My Rig:
Corsair Obsidian 750D
Corsair HX Series CMPSU-1000HX 1000W PSU
Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge 3.5GHz running Win7 Ultimate 64bit
Corsair H50 Hydro Cooler CWCH50
Intel BOXDZ77GA70K LGA 1155 Intel Z77 motherboard
Corsair DOMINATOR 16GB (4 x 4GB)
ASUS ENGTX570 DCII/2DIS/1280MD5 GeForce GTX 570 (Fermi) 1280MB 320-bit GDDR5
SAMSUNG 840 Pro 512GB Series MZ-7PD512BW
WD Caviar Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
WD Caviar Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
ASUS DRW-24B1ST
Pioneer BD-RW BDR-206D
when needed...
Lite-On LTR-52246S 6S0F (via USB 2.0 to IDE)
Lite-On JLMS XJ-HD166S DS1C (via USB 2.0 to IDE)
NEC 3500AG 2.TC Quiet (via USB 2.0 to IDE)
Lite-On SOHW 1673S JS07 (via USB 2.0 to IDE)

Found a Solution here helpful? Like the forum's?
Well then, what are you waiting for JOIN NOW!!!
xtacydima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2004   #18
Letiled Modelatol
 
Airhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: La Suède
Posts: 7,117
I threw the file away and redownloaded it...
__________________
  • This line is currently vacant. Or Is It???
  • You want fast answers? Use our search. <-- Or else!
  • If you have not already, read our rules! <-- Or else again!
  • bcn_246: "Wales are shitty animals to, all they do is swim around and make funny noises that people cant hear."
  • You really should join us on IRC! IrcNet, #cdfreaks-int | Or go here
  • Fear my massive avatar history log! Not updated!
  • "But do they keep increasing in size like mine?" - kwkard
Airhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2004   #19
CDFreaks Resident
 
$CyBeRwIz$'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: True Blue, aka Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,254
I found it. It's a file in the Winrar directory called 'unrar.exe'. It is a command line extracter that has options to 'force extract' a file.

Open the command prompt and navigate yourself to:
cd %programfiles%\winrar. This will put you in the Winrar folder. Now move the rar file into the root of your c: drive. Then at the command prompt type

unrar x c:\YourFile.rar /kb /v c:\files\

Hope this helps.

Sir Cyber
__________________
Author of The CD Freaks Offline Help doing version 2 code rewrites. Enjoy version 1.

Version 1 is now released! You can get it here.

In it you can learn about SafeDisc, SecuROM and heaps of other protections and learn on how to defeat them. Also you can take a look at some of my various tutorials in it and some frequently asked questions asked. Plus heaps more!
Enjoy!
$CyBeRwIz$ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008   #20
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Re: Winrar - Extracting Corrupt Files

erm...... i cant find ANYWHERE, a checkbox which says "keep broken files"
donedoknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008   #21
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Re: Winrar - Extracting Corrupt Files

dw, i found it.... you have to select the "extract" option, can not chose "extract here" or "extract into *file name in a folder*\"
donedoknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2008   #22
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
Re: Winrar - Extracting Corrupt Files

I have a new game, PES '09.
I can't extract them.
it says : Packet data CRC failed in pro-pes09.mdf . The volume is corrupt.
What does it mean?
What can I do to fix that problem?
flaming fist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009   #23
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Re: Winrar - Extracting Corrupt Files

hello my friends , i agree about you can not fix a corrupted files but you can avoid to have from the beginning !!! YES , from my experiences i can tell you only one advise : it tells ( when you try to download any files , do not try to divide these files by using the option at your download manager under max connection 8, 16 etc !!! but only use 1 connection ..... so , now if you download a movie by your way as a default delete it and start to download with the way i said and tell me the result ...... I AM THE EGYPTIAN PHARAOH
nesnas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009   #24
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Re: Winrar - Extracting Corrupt Files

nesnas, you are god! Or an Egyptian pharaoh, whatever
I've had this problem for the longest time and now it's finally fixed!
I am very happy, thank you!
rartacular is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2009   #25
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
I've found my own way to extract files from multi-part arcive with one part completely broken. I deleted broken part, took next part, rename it so it replaced lost previous.
Advocatus_Diaboli is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
extracting img file with winrar wmckellar Newbie Forum 14 16-02-2005 23:25
Winrar corrupt error?? deanwell13 Newbie Forum 0 02-01-2005 16:42
extracting WinRar separate files dmac93 Movie copy software 3 16-12-2004 05:00
burn iso without extracting from winrar? Nush General Software 2 27-11-2004 22:24
help extracting file with winrar mick4116 General Software 1 27-03-2004 01:10


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:21.
Top