Old 07-10-2004   #1
CD Freaks Junior Member

What is the best software to reduce Video DVD size???

Hello, everybody!

I'm new to the DVD backup and really need your advise on what product is better for DVD9 to DVD5 transcoding? I'm interesting in the product that will:
- produce the best movie quality over all other products;
- allow me to remove useless stuff like "warnings", extra audio, subtitles and bonuses (or leave it) - I mean not the option "Copy All" or "Copy Movie Only", but the possibility to choose what to remove;
- simplicity of usage;
- the possibility to recover data from "bad sectors" (if possible).

I'm asking about ONE product to do the above, not several. I read a lot of guide on how to use different programs, but I really don't like to remember all that things to do. Just one one program to do all the job by simple choosing the required settings.

I don't care about copy protection or CSS disks, because all disks I have are not encrypted and region free. I don't care about the speed, because my computer is Dual AMD Athlon MP 2600+ with enough memory.

PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE!!! Advise! Or at least point me to the comparation guides?

Thank you very much in advance!
EMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004   #2
Retired Moderator

Re: What is the best software to reduce Video DVD size???

there's no single program that can do everything you're looking for. if you want the best of everything you've mentioned, you'll have to use multiple programs.

I don't respond to questions through PM that should be asked in the forum
AZImmortal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004   #3
CD Freaks Senior Member

1. CloneDVD for ease of use. (Quality imho is so so)
2. DVDFab for ease of use and features. Copies DVDs with little if any loss in quality. (Quality is good). Powerful and easy to use.
3. Nero Recode for medium ease of use and well supported. Plentiful Video Editing and Authoring features. Popular. (Quality is excellent)