Old 18-09-2004   #1
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 18
Missing Desktop Background

Hello again every1

I have come across yet another problem...

My desktop background seems to be missing and doesn't want to show itself.
Of course I have tried going into the Dektop properties and changing my background, but no backgrounds will show. All I have for a background is the selected background colour.
Also, this is happening with the other 2 accounts on my computer.

I was wondering if anyone knew what I should do.

Here are some important system specs:
-nVidia GeForce FX 5200 128MB
-Cicero Monitor
-Windows XP Professional SP1


I would really appreciate it if someone could help me out
thnx
The reason i posted under hardware and not software is because I think that it might be a problem related to my video card

~pHoNz
phonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2004   #2
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Rome
Posts: 21
Re: Missing Desktop Background

Ok! I've also experienced this few months ago...if our problems are the same you should go control panel\nVidia Desktop managment and select single display insted of double or set all parameters to default.....if solved then organize your desktop again as you wish.
Hkhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2004   #3
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 18
Re: Missing Desktop Background

hmmm
I cant find that option...
I know its there, i have seen it b4
But it doesnt seem to be there now :S
Can you tell me exactly wehre i should be loooking
phonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2004   #4
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Rome
Posts: 21
Re: Missing Desktop Background

Hi You may try install it again..guess you should clean your registry too.... http://download.yacapa.com/download/230.html download advance system optimizer and try....good tool....
Hkhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2004   #5
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Rome
Posts: 21
Re: Missing Desktop Background

Have you tried desktop\properties\settings.........select desktop 1 and try solving if not select desktop 2..........I think it should solve the problem
Hkhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2004   #6
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 18
Re: Missing Desktop Background

Im just gonna going to remove all nVidia drivers and reinstall, then update
phonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2004   #7
Top Referrer
 
bcn_246's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 3,649
Re: Missing Desktop Background

try removing your current drivers, the restart, then download the new v61.77 drivers HERE and then install and restart.

ps. you said that you can select a desktop background colour, so is it displaying a background colour correctly?
__________________
Click HERE to join CDFreaks... do it or I will dead you.
bcn_246 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2004   #8
MyCE Resident
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,941
Re: Missing Desktop Background

Open IE (or whatever browser you use)
File > Open > Select the image
Right click image
Set as wallpaper
theone1_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2004   #9
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 18
Re: Missing Desktop Background

background colour is displayed correctly.
and theone1_, what you saud to do does nothing :S
Im using Mozilla FireFox, but I also have IE and use it from time 2 time

EDIT
K, i tried setting the background using IE explorer
The first time I tried i got an error (ferget what it said), and every other time after that I got a different error.

"Cannot create a file when that file already exists."

Now when i try to access my Display Properties my comp freezes :S

EDIT AGAIN
Okay, that error left, also, heres something else i found
When I try to change my background to another, it ends up reverting back to the original background it was on when the background stoppped working.

I was using a reaper.bmp or w/e
I would click on another background, (bliss.bmp), then click apply, now it appears to be that the bliss background was loaded, but if i close the Display Properties and then reopen them, it will be back on the reaper.bmp...

Last edited by phonz; 27-09-2004 at 00:08.
phonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2004   #10
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 18
Re: Missing Desktop Background

Can anyone else help me out :S
Please!
I beg of you, LoL


No really
I need help :S
phonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2004   #11
MyCE Resident
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,941
Re: Missing Desktop Background

Try setting the background with other programs. ACDSee does it for me

If that doesn't work, go into (my computer with Windows 2000):
C:\WINNT
Then arrange by 'type'. Find the .BMP files and move them to another folder (backup purposes). Make sure to move only the ones that are not hidden, and the ones that you know are the backgrounds.

Now try again.
theone1_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2004   #12
CDFreaks Resident
 
ZigZagMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,277
Re: Missing Desktop Background

active destop blows up on me often..........usually on an inproper shut down or the result of visiting....how do I say....questionable site......usually prompts after reboot.....restore active desktop?......if not....I right click on the desktop, select properties......browse to my wallpaper....and select...

Hope this helps
__________________
My Current Rig:Nvidia Gforce4 MX 4000 128meg, Biostar M7NCD, AthalonXP 2500+, 512meg DDR2700 1x 512, NEC 2510A, Matshita DVD-RAM LFD310, 160gig via 2x 80gig IBM Deskstar, 400watt ps, Win98SE, Chieftech Tower with extra fans and flashy lights,,,,I find the lights annoying and cool at the same time..hmm

Rig 2:Nvidia Riva TNT2 Pro 32meg, Gigabyte 7ZXE F9, AthalonXP 2100+, 640meg PC133 2x 256 / 1x 128, LG 52x24x52x, Creative DVD-Rom DVD2240E, 120Gig via 1x 40gig WDC400BB-00DKA0 / 1x 80gig ST380021A, 300watt ps, Firewire, XpPro SP1, Generic Mid tower case.

Rig 3:800 Duron, Crap ass cirrus 2 meg video card, 55 gig via 1x 15 gig seagate, 1x 40 gig IBM deskstar. 512 meg ram pc133 (I'm so proud..lol )

____________________________
Hurray for boobies!!!
ZigZagMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2004   #13
MyCE Resident
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,941
Re: Missing Desktop Background

Well if he hadn't done that yet, I'd slap him. Talk about strike out the obvious!
theone1_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-2004   #14
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 18
Re: Missing Desktop Background

hmmm,
LoL, i still have this problem...

I have one more idea, but im not totally sure if it will work.

I downloaded the latest BIOS for my Vid Card
I wish to flash the new bios but it tells me that ther is a problem and that I should do it manually.

How do i do it manually?
phonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2004   #15
MyCE Resident
 
ckin2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Strongbadia
Posts: 3,464
Re: Missing Desktop Background

not to dodge the question - but there are several theme managers for windows that should be able to do what you need. if they fail - then we have issues

i recommend stylexp, as its easy
__________________
www.livingwithoutmicrosoft.org

last 5 cd's
Avril Lavigne - Whatever the new one is called
Lucky Boys Confusion - Throwing the Game
lostprophets - Start Something
Story of the Year - Page Avenue
Flaming Lips - Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots



Don't let schooling interfere with your education.
-Mark Twain
ckin2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2005   #16
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 18
Re: Missing Desktop Background

OOOH
I've come across a discovery that could help me solve my problem

My Wallpaper comes back if I goto display properties
Choose Desktop tab
Click Customize desktop
and click the web tab
and enable a webpage to display on my dektop.

Only problem with do that is that there is now a webpage on my screen and I can't move it off the screen, and as soon as it is closed, my desktop wallpaper disapperas.

Anyone got any ideas why this happens?

BTW Thnx ckin2001, i was thinking the same thing myself
phonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005   #17
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 18
Re: Missing Desktop Background

Eye
It seems that Style XP didnt clear up my problem either
Im going to try Konfabulator
phonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005   #18
MyCE Resident
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,261
Re: Missing Desktop Background

Use System Restore...go back to an older windows configuration before the problem appears. You're running WXP with 128MB RAM. Get at least another 128 stick. Otherwise, you're constantly hitting the pagefile, resulting in a very slow PC.
furballi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005   #19
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 18
Re: Missing Desktop Background

Can't restore to an older date
That was the first thing i tried
The file was corrupted

2nd
im running with 2x256 DDR RAM
Im running a 128MB Video Card
phonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005   #20
MyCE Resident
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,261
Re: Missing Desktop Background

You only have one restore point? Try others.
furballi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2005   #21
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 18
Re: Missing Desktop Background

Have u ever used Windows XP?

If a restore point previous to the date you Are trying to bring back is corrupted, then the rest are corrupt.
And if the rest are corrupt, then it's recommended that you clear all restore points.
And if you noticed, this happened sometime before I posted, which was "18-09-2004"

I personally think my Desktop problem has something to do with the active desktop, i just can't figure out what it is. I've been searching the regestry and checking some of the keys for the Desktop, but everything seems to be in order. Someday I'll figure this out. DOn't know when that will be, but some day.

Anyways, thanks for all your help guys.
phonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
no background image desktop wanne Newbie Forum 4 09-11-2005 20:59
Background Noise insightn Newbie Forum 7 11-05-2002 03:04
CDFREAKS desktop background crazy_gijs Dutch: De Woonkamer 26 04-06-2000 14:10
CDFREAKS Desktop background crazy_gijs Living Room 7 04-06-2000 05:56
CDfreaks Desktop background crazy_gijs Dutch: De Woonkamer 2 02-06-2000 20:31


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:30.
Top