Old 13-08-2008   #1
New on Forum

Drive no longer recognizes any blank CD-R...suggestions?

Hello, newbie here!

ISSUE:

Drive will no longer recognize any blank CD-R.

SYSTEM:

Dell Dimension E510 (purchased June 2006)
Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition SP2
HL-DT-ST DVD+/-RW GWA-4164B (combination CD/DVD drive)

BACKGROUND:

A little over a week ago, I successfully burned an MP3 disc via iTunes using black Memorex 40x CD-R media. Two days later, using an identical disc from the same spindle and attempting the same task, the recognition problem first surfaced.

For no apparent reason, iTunes spit the disc back out and returned the message, "Please insert a blank disc...," when I clicked the "Burn MP3 CD" button. Thinking it was possibly a bad disc, I tried again with a different color Memorex CD-R from the same spindle. No luck. Again, iTunes spit the disc out and returned the same message. Thinking it was possibly an iTunes issue, I placed the first unsuccessful disc back in the drive and attempted to view its properties through Windows Explorer to confirm that it was, in fact, blank. The system completely froze.

On the odd possibility that there was just something funky about the last two discs of the Memorex spindle, I opened a new package of silver TDK 52x CD-R discs and placed one in the drive. Right-clicking on the drive icon in Windows Explorer and selecting "format" instantly brought up an "Insert media" message...indicating that the drive did not recognize the disc at all. Subsequent attempts using various brands of blank CD-Rs have all returned the same result.

Checking other media, I have successfully read, copied and burned CD-RW, DVD-R and DVD-RW discs of mixed brands since the issue began. Previously recorded CD-R (both data and audio) discs -- including the last successful MP3 burn mentioned earlier -- play just fine.

The only issue I can see is the drive's sudden inability to recognize blank CD-Rs.