Old 06-07-2007   #1
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 25
Can't find the "Advanced Setting" tab under IDE channels to check DMA

I have just put together this Windows XP PC.
When I went to Device Manager to check if DMA is enabled for my hard/optical drives. To my surprise, I could not find the "Advanced Setting" tab under all IDE channels to check DMA (see screenshots).

What is going on? Mine is Windows XP Pro SP2 will all latestes updates.

I used this forum tutorial to Enable/Check DMA under Windows XP.
http://club.cdfreaks.com/showpost.ph...29&postcount=5

Please advise. Thanks!!!

--------
Hardware configurations:
5 IDE hard drives - one for the OS and the other four are raided.
Three opticals - DVDRW and CDRW.
All hard drives and opticals are working - except that I have not burned anything (new system)
Please let me if additional info is needed.
Attached Images
To view attachments in this forum your post count must be 2 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
__________________
+ NEC ND-4550A firmware v.1.06
+ TY media always
o Windows XP Pro SP2

Last edited by concerned807; 06-07-2007 at 05:03.
concerned807 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007   #2
MyCE Resident
 
Nemesys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 1,361
Re: Can't find the "Advanced Setting" tab under IDE channels to check DMA

From the Device Manager screenshot it appears the motherboard has an Intel chipset.

Frequently, the installation of the Intel Application Accelerator will manage the settings of the IDE controllers. As such, the Advanced Settings tab is eliminated.

Unfortunately, I've witnessed the demise of a few system by IAA. Some from the installation and some as a result of the uninstallation.
In order to manually configure the data transfer options with referene to memory (DMA), IAA must be removed from the system.
__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower Motherboard: ASUS P8P67 Deluxe CPU: Intel Core i7-2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.8GHz (Cooler Master V8 CPU Cooling) RAM: 8GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 PC12800 Video Card: EVGA GTX460 1GB Sound Card: Creative X-Fi Xtreme Audio Monitor: HP 2711x (27” LED) Audio System: MASSIVE PSU: Silverstone Strider Plus 1000W
DVD-RAM: Lite-On iHAS524
DVD-RAM: Lite-On LH-20A1L BL06
Hard Drive (Internal Storage): Seagate Barracuda 1TB SATA II File Storage
Hard Drive (Removables): ICY DOCK MB877SK SATA Screw-Less Mobile Rack
Drive #1. 128GB OCZ Vertex 4 SSD Win 8 Professional
Drive #2. 90GB OCZ Vertex 2 SSD WIN 7 Ultimate
Drive #3. Seagate Barracuda 250GB SATA II WIN XP x64 Professional
Drive #4. Seagate Barracuda 320GB SATA II Testing
Nemesys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007   #3
MyCE Resident
 
CDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,294
Re: Can't find the "Advanced Setting" tab under IDE channels to check DMA

Need a lot more info here, like HOW the drives are RAIDed, chipset on the board, etc. Intel application Accelerator will remove that option, and SATA drives in RAID will not have the option either. It's not really an option for any SATA drive.
CDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007   #4
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 25
Re: Can't find the "Advanced Setting" tab under IDE channels to check DMA

You both are right - I have IAA installed from M/O driver CD.
Quote:
My M/O: GIGABYTE_GA-8IRXP
CPU: Intel Pentium 4 2.2 GHz with 845 Chipset, Socket 478
Raid: 4 disks raided as individual drives using Promise raid controller onboard
It is not really a new system. I just put PC up using spare parts laying around...
Anyway I attached a full IAA hardware report.

Are you suggesting that uninstalling IAA will make the "Advanced Settings" for IDE channels?
From additional screenshots I attached, I see these IAA settings...
Quote:
Current Transfer Mode for Primary Channel: UDMA-5
Current Transfer Mode for Primary Channel: UDMA-2
As you can see in the screenshots, there is no option for enabling DMA for those Raided disks.
Are the above settings managed by IAA the optimal for burning DVDs?

Thanks for advising!
Attached Images
To view attachments in this forum your post count must be 2 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Attached Files To view attachments in this forum your post count must be 2 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
__________________
+ NEC ND-4550A firmware v.1.06
+ TY media always
o Windows XP Pro SP2

Last edited by concerned807; 06-07-2007 at 05:48.
concerned807 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007   #5
MyCE Resident
 
CDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,294
Re: Can't find the "Advanced Setting" tab under IDE channels to check DMA

I'm still not clear on how your discs are RAIDed. But if everything is functioning as expected, might be best to leave it alone.
CDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missing "Nero Digital" Properties Tab Bugs63 Movie copy software 0 05-07-2007 22:28
No Advance Tab for setting DMA bf6239 General Hardware Forum 8 30-01-2007 19:22
Advanced Setting tab is missing Big_Al General Software 9 30-12-2005 10:39
"Advanced Analysis" check box grayed out palladia Movie copy software 2 08-04-2005 14:10
DMA Settings Can't Find Advanced tab in XP home Kroozemissile General Hardware Forum 4 17-10-2004 00:38


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:13.
Top