Old 16-05-2009   #1
CD Freaks Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 42
what cable do i need to flash my xbox 360?

do i need to buy a special cable? thanks
__________________
wickedsick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2009   #2
NBR
MyCE Resident
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,377
Re: what cable do i need to flash my xbox 360?

well SATA (ports/cable) is generally needed to flash your XBox360.

and also... iXtreme v1.6 just came out for Samsung/BenQ/Liteon. Hitachi's v1.6 is not out yet as that is still @ v1.51.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16815124022 ... that is what i used to flash a Samung or BenQ drive. it works great and it should work on Liteon to (for Liteon though you pretty much need to buy roughly 50 dollars in additional equipment)

http://tinyurl.com/6hpktl ... that link will tell you what drive you pretty much have without opening up your XBox360.

so basically...

Red (Samsung) or Grey (BenQ) wire = easy to mod with that newegg.com website link above i gave you.

Yellow (Liteon) wire = it's going to cost you roughly 50 dollars more in equipment (CK3 (lite or pro) + Probe) cost to mod it.

no wire (Hitachi) = it's a Hitachi drive and in general a nforce SATA chipset i think is recommended to mod that as the card in the link above i heard sometimes can work on Hitachi's while others say it might not work... but in general onboard nforce SATA chipset seem to be quite compatible with Hitachi's etc etc from what i heard.
NBR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2009   #3
CD Freaks Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 42
Re: what cable do i need to flash my xbox 360?

thanks for that , that was the best info i got yet

sad to say i see yellow wire

so what is "CK3 (lite or pro) + Probe" ? thanks for the help sir
__________________
wickedsick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2009   #4
NBR
MyCE Resident
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,377
Re: what cable do i need to flash my xbox 360?

http://www.divineo.com/cgi-bin/div-us/hb-360-xck3lite (CK3 Lite)

or... http://www.divineo.com/cgi-bin/div-us/hb-360-xck3pro (CK3 Pro)

the PRO version supports USB where as the Lite needs a SERIAL port. if money is not a issue get the PRO version instead of the LITE version. (you only need one of those... either the LITE or PRO)

http://www.divineo.com/cgi-bin/div-us/hb-360-ck3p (the Probe ... makes it so NO soldering is needed. a good idea to get this but it's not required. bottom line... get this (it plugs into the CK3 Device which makes the entire job solderless) )

(those CK3+Probe website links are for USA people... so if your located somewhere else you might need to find another site to order from etc)

here is the official instructions on how to use it from Team Xecuter's website... http://team-xecuter.com/ck3/liteon_windows.htm

here is the newest JungleFlasher... http://xrl.us/besvx3 (JungleFlasher v0.1.60 Beta) .. which your pretty much going to need to flash the Liteon in your XBox360.

your also going to need this... http://xrl.us/besvuw (iXtreme v1.6 Lite-on Firmware)

p.s. the ONLY reason you need to buy that 'CK3 + Probe' is strictly for getting the drive key out of the xbox360's Lite-on drive. which sorta sucks since your paying 50+ dollars for some minor (but important) thing. lol ... because that's pretty much not needed once you extract the drive key from the Lite-On once.

VERY IMPORTANT! ... whatever happens MAKE SURE you DO NOT lose your Lite-on's DRIVE KEY! (if you lose it and the drive somehow gets messed up your XBox360 is total junk and nothing can get it working again!!!) (the drive key is located inside the XBox360's DVD-ROM drive's FIRMWARE and it's required to have original game discs or backup discs load up on your system!)

Last edited by NBR; 17-05-2009 at 10:30.
NBR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2009   #5
CD Freaks Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 42
Re: what cable do i need to flash my xbox 360?

hell yea dude you rock, ima buy these tools Friday , because i def cant afford the price of xbox games
__________________
wickedsick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010   #6
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by NBR View Post
well SATA (ports/cable) is generally needed to flash your XBox360.

and also... iXtreme v1.6 just came out for Samsung/BenQ/Liteon. Hitachi's v1.6 is not out yet as that is still @ v1.51.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16815124022 ... that is what i used to flash a Samung or BenQ drive. it works great and it should work on Liteon to (for Liteon though you pretty much need to buy roughly 50 dollars in additional equipment)

http://tinyurl.com/6hpktl ... that link will tell you what drive you pretty much have without opening up your XBox360.

so basically...

Red (Samsung) or Grey (BenQ) wire = easy to mod with that newegg.com website link above i gave you.

Yellow (Liteon) wire = it's going to cost you roughly 50 dollars more in equipment (CK3 (lite or pro) + Probe) cost to mod it.

no wire (Hitachi) = it's a Hitachi drive and in general a nforce SATA chipset i think is recommended to mod that as the card in the link above i heard sometimes can work on Hitachi's while others say it might not work... but in general onboard nforce SATA chipset seem to be quite compatible with Hitachi's etc etc from what i heard.


What about the white wire 0.o I have 3 xbox 360s two with rrod one that kinda works but the dvd drives keeps messing up more frequently now. So i was gonna take a dvd drive ffrom the other xbox but i hear u have to flash it and the rrod xbox has 2 white wires.
and idk if it matters but the one that works with a dvd drive thats messing up has no wires. pleasee helpp thankk you
elcidian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where Is The Best Place To Buy HDMI Cable TCAS CD, DVD and Blu-ray Writers 32 10-12-2007 12:16
What Cable Should I Buy bhavcorp General Software 1 22-02-2005 18:17
1620 "special" IDE cable? Owen Stubbs BenQ / Philips Writer 13 06-11-2004 04:43
special cable for digital sound card? cdfwannabe LiteOn / PLDS / Sony Writer 2 23-01-2003 06:23
Where to buy UTP Cable?? RglNf Living Room 2 14-04-2000 11:31


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:51.
Top