Old 09-09-2009   #1
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Fuzzy screen problem

After 4 years of owning my samsung 42" and no probs whatsoever, today I switched the TV on and found fuzzy horizontal coloured lines which are in sections across the screen mainly in the top half, the middle part of the screen appears to be OK......any thoughts?
mikomi1995 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009   #2
Senior Moderator
 
platinumsword's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5,611
Re: Fuzzy screen problem

I believe that Plasma TV's have logic buffer boards which control both the X and Y axis. ( Vertical lines + Horizontal lines) It's possible that one is failing.

Does your problem look something like this?

Attached Images
 
__________________
Monster HDP 2500 / Toshiba 55UL610U / Onkyo TX-NR818 / Energy RC-70,RC-LCR,CF-70 / Velodyne EQ-Max 12 / Oppo BDP-83 / LG LDA-831


Three simple rules:

1. Never Change the Deal
2. No Names.
3. Never Open the Package.


platinumsword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009   #3
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Re: Fuzzy screen problem

thank you, yes it looks exactly like this! what do I need to do now?
mikomi1995 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009   #4
MyCE Resident
 
CDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,294
Re: Fuzzy screen problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikomi1995 View Post
thank you, yes it looks exactly like this! what do I need to do now?
Either call a service tech, or head down to BestBuy and shop for a new TV. You should prolly get a quote on a new logic board installed at home. My assumption is that it could be 1/2 the price of a comparable new TV. 42" is getting pretty cheap.
__________________
Current drives running here: LG-GSA-H62N, iHBS 112-2, LG-WH14NS40, iHAP 422
CDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009   #5
Senior Moderator
 
platinumsword's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5,611
Re: Fuzzy screen problem

Repair costs for big screen TV's on average will usually cost about $400.00 to $600.00 outside of warranty. While I am pretty sure that your problem is a logic board it's possible that it could be something else. Unless you have a firm grasp on electronics your best bet is to have a qualified technician look at the problem and give you a diagnose of what it is and how much it's going to cost you to fix it. From there you will have to justify your means.

__________________
Monster HDP 2500 / Toshiba 55UL610U / Onkyo TX-NR818 / Energy RC-70,RC-LCR,CF-70 / Velodyne EQ-Max 12 / Oppo BDP-83 / LG LDA-831


Three simple rules:

1. Never Change the Deal
2. No Names.
3. Never Open the Package.



Last edited by C0deKing; 12-09-2009 at 07:20.
platinumsword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2009   #6
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Re: Fuzzy screen problem

thanks for help!!!!!
mikomi1995 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2009   #7
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
I have the same problem but i cant find the part that i need to repair it. Would you know where i could get the part from in the uk or have a part number for the buffer board as i cant find it anywhere
truesmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012   #8
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Re: Fuzzy screen problem

Hi, I have a 42" Akai and the splash screen comes on normally, and I tried to connect to dvd player. The picture was fine for about 10 seconds, then all I see is static across the screen. Sound is fine. Any one have any ideas what the problem could be? Thank you so much.
ladychris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012   #9
Senior Moderator
 
mciahel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 17,090
Re: Fuzzy screen problem

Hi and Welcome!

does the same happen if you connect another source device like a video recorder, set top box etc.? If there is another input terminal, you might try the player there, too.
Also, if possible, try your DVD player with another TV. Other cables can be helpful for troubleshooting either.

Michael
mciahel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012   #10
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Mine does too.

Need another post to view attachment.

Last edited by olyteddy; 10-12-2012 at 06:41. Reason: You might still need another post...
Rhudgins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Software Problem: Fuzzy pictures leslieg Movie copy software 2 20-08-2009 03:05
DVD backup is fuzzy 98bird Movie copy software 6 20-03-2006 18:43
Nero 7 Green Fuzzy preview screen persian_pride Nero & InCD 6 15-03-2006 03:38


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:10.
Top