Old 03-03-2007   #1
CD Freaks Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 30
ImgBurn DVD DL Layer Break Setting Right ?

wanted to burn few DVD DL with Img Burn.i was told this

Quote:
go to layer break & make it user defined & enter "1913760" without the quotes.
keep write method DOA & booktype dvd-rom.
is this Right & Advisable ? ... looking for a Good Burn
chief-techie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007   #2
CD Freaks Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 30
Re: ImgBurn DVD DL Layer Break Setting Right ?

bump go help
chief-techie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007   #3
Senior Moderator, Editor and Guru
 
geno888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Italy
Posts: 29,201
Re: ImgBurn DVD DL Layer Break Setting Right ?

The layer break is calculated based on the amount of data you want to burn on a disc. Forcing a value for any disc is not a good idea.

What do you want to do exactly? Where you got that value of "1913760"? Who said that you should use that specific value?
__________________
Click here or here to download latest version of CD-DVD Speed
Click here to read more about DMA
User guide for CD-DVD Speed: English version - Versione Italiana
User guide for ImgBurn in BUILD mode English version - Italian version

Please do not ask questions via PM. Post in the forum instead. Thanks
Per favore, non chiedete consigli o suggerimenti tramite PM. Usate invece il forum (che serve proprio per questo).
KTPHTT
geno888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007   #4
MyCE Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: sheffield,uk
Posts: 68
Re: ImgBurn DVD DL Layer Break Setting Right ?

i think thats the layer break value you use if your burning an xbox 360 backup image to a dual layer disc.
dangerouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007   #5
CD Freaks Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 30
Re: ImgBurn DVD DL Layer Break Setting Right ?

Was told by one of my friends ...about "1913760"...i guess Defualt settings will do good ?
chief-techie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007   #6
Senior Moderator, Editor and Guru
 
geno888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Italy
Posts: 29,201
Re: ImgBurn DVD DL Layer Break Setting Right ?

If you don't give more information it will be very difficult to answer. What are you trying to burn exactly? How did your friend calculate that value? How big is the file? Do you get an error from ImgBurn when it calculate the LB?
__________________
Click here or here to download latest version of CD-DVD Speed
Click here to read more about DMA
User guide for CD-DVD Speed: English version - Versione Italiana
User guide for ImgBurn in BUILD mode English version - Italian version

Please do not ask questions via PM. Post in the forum instead. Thanks
Per favore, non chiedete consigli o suggerimenti tramite PM. Usate invece il forum (che serve proprio per questo).
KTPHTT
geno888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007   #7
Author of DVD Decrypter & ImgBurn
 
LIGHTNING UK!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,111
Re: ImgBurn DVD DL Layer Break Setting Right ?

I do wish people would stop recommending the setting should be fixed on a certain value, that's not how it's supposed to be used.

It's meant as a 1 off thing for power users.

Once you've fixed it on a custom value, it'll use that for everything you ever burn - regardless of correctness. If you forget to change it from this fixed value when you burn a different DL project, tough, you just burnt a potential coaster.

If you leave it on Auto, it'll use the LB value as taken from the .DVD or .MDS file, and if no such thing exists, it'll try and find the best one by scanning the content of the image (or files if you're using Build mode).

So basically, leave it on auto and trust the program that made the image and/or ImgBurn to do what's right.
__________________
The Official ImgBurn Website
LIGHTNING UK! is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ImgBurn DL layer break? Dubbjr ImgBurn 37 27-04-2008 07:25
DL disc with non-DVD data needs setting layer break ? maicod Blank Media 11 05-10-2007 10:34
IMGBurn - Setting Layer Break BoSox2882 ImgBurn 21 14-07-2007 06:30
ImgBurn layer break w33z312 Newbie Forum 2 19-08-2006 08:25
AnyDVD | DVD Decrypter | IMGBurn And Preserving DL Layer Break bjkg ImgBurn 4 08-08-2006 16:20


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:49.
Top