Old 18-05-2009   #1
New on Forum
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
making a sata a slave

I have a Dell Optoplex 170L PC with a Sata hard drive as the primary master and an IDE drive as the slave.Is there any way that i can make the Sata hard drive the slave and use the drive on the IDE channel as the master drive instead? Please note that the motherboard only has one Sata connector on it and two IDE connectors.
ismailj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2009   #2
Senior Moderator
 
mciahel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 17,090
Re: making a sata a slave

Hi and Welcome!

the only way to install a Sata HDD if no Sata connectors are available, is either using a Sata->Pata converter or (that's what I would suggest) a Sata controller card that is installed in a PCI (or PCIe) slot.

An additional option would be installing the drive in an external USB enclosure.

Michael
mciahel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009   #3
f1y
CD Freaks Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 35
Re: making a sata a slave

Plug in both harddrives, just install windows to the IDE drive, and it will become your master drive. The sata will then sit idly by as a storage drive.

It would probably help to set the IDE channel boot priority above that of the sata channel in the BIOS as well just for added measure.

satas don't have any jumper settings for master slave either, just thought i'd toss that out there. normally just jumpers for sata 1, or sata 2 setting
__________________
Neffing@Work

I'm [H]ard, are you?
f1y is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help setting up slave ata hdd w/ my sata hdd beginner123 Solid State Drives (SSD), Hard Drives (HDD) and NAS 7 22-01-2008 18:01
SATA slave drive error bigreenblob General Hardware Forum 4 21-01-2008 14:25
how do u set SATA as slave and IDE as master kisarci General Hardware Forum 7 31-05-2005 22:02
Advantages of SATA Drives. Lite-on SATA in the making? tavenger5 LiteOn / PLDS / Sony Writer 2 01-03-2005 03:10
SATA as slave? rfjr23 General Hardware Forum 7 06-02-2005 13:08


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:04.
Top