Old 03-04-2002   #1
CD Freaks Senior Member
 
PaRaNoiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Perth. Western Australia.
Posts: 268
Hard drive low level format.

I have a hard driver that has a pile of bad clusters and wont format properly but i got told a low level format might be able too fix this hard drive but i dont know how to do it.

Does anyone know how to do a low level format?

Thanks.
__________________
Asus-The Brand You Know And Trust.

PaRaNoiD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2002   #2
MyCE Resident
 
Mr. Belvedere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: (╯°□°)╯ ლ(ಠ益ಠ)ლ
Posts: 19,338
google for : MAXLLF

If it's a SCSI drive , type CTRL-A for the Adaptec bios. If another scsi card , check your manual.
__________________
"Use the force Harry!" - Gandalf
Mr. Belvedere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2002   #3
CD Freaks Senior Member
 
PaRaNoiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Perth. Western Australia.
Posts: 268
Its just small 10gig seagate ide hard drive.
__________________
Asus-The Brand You Know And Trust.

PaRaNoiD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2002   #4
MyCE Resident
 
Mr. Belvedere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: (╯°□°)╯ ლ(ಠ益ಠ)ლ
Posts: 19,338
Quote:
Originally posted by PaRaNoiD
Its just small 10gig seagate ide hard drive.
MAXLLF it is then
__________________
"Use the force Harry!" - Gandalf
Mr. Belvedere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2002   #5
CD Freaks Senior Member
 
PaRaNoiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Perth. Western Australia.
Posts: 268
Thanks Mr. Belvedere.
__________________
Asus-The Brand You Know And Trust.

PaRaNoiD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2002   #6
Blown to smitherines
 
debro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Between the CDFreaks Orange and Blue Portals
Posts: 13,685
Does "MAXLLF" work for any IDE HD? Or only for maxtor drives?
debro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2002   #7
CD Freaks Senior Member
 
PaRaNoiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Perth. Western Australia.
Posts: 268
If your going to do a low level format,check your hdd makers site for low level format exe. before trying any other llf exe.
__________________
Asus-The Brand You Know And Trust.

PaRaNoiD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2002   #8
MyCE Resident
 
Mr. Belvedere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: (╯°□°)╯ ლ(ಠ益ಠ)ლ
Posts: 19,338
despite what matrox says , maxllf works with any ide device , even laptops and ultra ata
__________________
"Use the force Harry!" - Gandalf
Mr. Belvedere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2002   #9
Waiting on Activation
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Romania
Posts: 100
you can llf from BIOS, that'll work. Still, I recommend throwing tha HDD and getting a new one , ESPECIALLY if you intend to burn CDs from the HDD.
__________________
Sony CRX210E1, Teac CDW-540E, Teac CDW-548E, Nec ND-1100A
war4peace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2002   #10
MyCE Resident
 
Mr. Belvedere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: (╯°□°)╯ ლ(ಠ益ಠ)ლ
Posts: 19,338
Quote:
Originally posted by war4peace
you can llf from BIOS, that'll work. Still, I recommend throwing tha HDD and getting a new one , ESPECIALLY if you intend to burn CDs from the HDD.
Arwuh ?

You suggest throwing away the "bad sector" disk without even TRYING to repair it ?

And how the hell is cd recording affecting the drive ?
Bad clusters are MARKED and not used by the operating system and thus not affecting writing to disc via temporary files or files on that disk.

I'll give you credit if you meant that in most of the times an harddisk with bad sectors tends to get more and more bad sectors over a period of time. (For instance , a liitle dust moving around the platter , destroying the surface and everytime it moves , it destroys another piece of the platter).
__________________
"Use the force Harry!" - Gandalf
Mr. Belvedere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2002   #11
Waiting on Activation
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Romania
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally posted by Mr. Belvedere


I'll give you credit if you meant that in most of the times an harddisk with bad sectors tends to get more and more bad sectors over a period of time. (For instance , a liitle dust moving around the platter , destroying the surface and everytime it moves , it destroys another piece of the platter).
Yes, that is what I meant. Upon copying data on HDD for burning, you can have more clusters damaged. I wouldn't mind for a bad cluster or two. but if you have more than 1% of the drive damaged, that could lead to the existence of some impurities inside the drive. So... it's unsafe to use it.

Check out Active Smart (it's an effective tool for SMART capabilities of your drive).
__________________
Sony CRX210E1, Teac CDW-540E, Teac CDW-548E, Nec ND-1100A
war4peace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2002   #12
MyCE Resident
 
Mr. Belvedere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: (╯°□°)╯ ლ(ಠ益ಠ)ლ
Posts: 19,338
Quote:
Originally posted by war4peace


Yes, that is what I meant. Upon copying data on HDD for burning, you can have more clusters damaged. I wouldn't mind for a bad cluster or two. but if you have more than 1% of the drive damaged, that could lead to the existence of some impurities inside the drive. So... it's unsafe to use it.

Check out Active Smart (it's an effective tool for SMART capabilities of your drive).
I know , i used it.

You get credit.
__________________
"Use the force Harry!" - Gandalf
Mr. Belvedere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2002   #13
Waiting on Activation
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Romania
Posts: 100
Thank you.

After 10+ years of hardware troubleshooting I think I know a small amount of things
__________________
Sony CRX210E1, Teac CDW-540E, Teac CDW-548E, Nec ND-1100A
war4peace is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
After I format my hard drive? pavlekocev25 General Software 18 07-12-2005 18:11
format hard drive!?! deanwell13 Newbie Forum 6 03-12-2004 19:35
Low-level CD drive programming Sailor Mercury CD, DVD and Blu-ray Writers 2 06-08-2003 03:16
Low Level Format popov1917 Italian: Chat 4 30-07-2002 09:51
How do i Low level format my HDD? Ch5Micky Solid State Drives (SSD), Hard Drives (HDD) and NAS 10 28-08-2001 19:37


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:14.
Top