Old 20-07-2008   #1
MyCE Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 62
Transfer DVD FAB from old computer to new computer

Can I transfer my "legacy" DVD FAB PLATINUM from my old computer to a new computer and give up my lifetime upgrades on my old computer?
crtguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2008   #2
Bob
Resident lunatic
 
Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Looking for my zigzags ~ I come from the no place and i go to the no where
Posts: 17,877
Re: Transfer DVD FAB from old computer to new computer

I don't see why not.
__________________
"You've got a hole in your soul if you don't dig the Blues" .....My Not So New Anymore *Build* is Finished.

Click HERE to join CDFreaks.com

Keith Richards ~ "If You Want The Last Laugh........Join The Rolling Stones"
Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2008   #3
MyCE Resident
 
90312's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Missouri Bootheel
Posts: 853
Re: Transfer DVD FAB from old computer to new computer

Sure, just download a new copy of Fab on the new computer and use your key on it. Then you can remove the copy from the old computer.
__________________
The more you learn about a hammer the more everything looks like a nail.
90312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2008   #4
MyCE Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 62
Re: Transfer DVD FAB from old computer to new computer

I tried that and it won"t run. 5060 starts to read the copied disk and then closes. I think it has to do with only one license per computer. This is a new problem I didn't encounter until 5055 and later. Fengtao is there an answer?
crtguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2008   #5
Bob
Resident lunatic
 
Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Looking for my zigzags ~ I come from the no place and i go to the no where
Posts: 17,877
Re: Transfer DVD FAB from old computer to new computer

I run it on both my XP Pro 32 bit and Vi$ta Ultimate 64 bit dual boot and have no problems. It's the same pc in other words.

There are others that run the same key on 2 pc's with no problems. Just not using it at the same time on both pc's from what i understand.

Maybe you need to change a setting or something.
__________________
"You've got a hole in your soul if you don't dig the Blues" .....My Not So New Anymore *Build* is Finished.

Click HERE to join CDFreaks.com

Keith Richards ~ "If You Want The Last Laugh........Join The Rolling Stones"
Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2008   #6
MyCE Resident
 
Jimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Great Southwest Desert (Arizona)
Posts: 5,208
Re: Transfer DVD FAB from old computer to new computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by crtguy View Post
I tried that and it won"t run. 5060 starts to read the copied disk and then closes. I think it has to do with only one license per computer. This is a new problem I didn't encounter until 5055 and later. Fengtao is there an answer?
Did you try with the orignial disc ? There could be several factors here such as is the copied disk closed, brand of media and so forth
__________________
Jim ( Turtle Brigade Commander )
Windows XP Home Edition Version 2002 SP3 & IE8
Intel Pentium 4 CPU 2.80GHz
2.81 GHz 1.00 GB of RAM
( Old like me ) But does the job great
Pioneer 112L FW 8.25
Pioneer 112L FW 8.25
Taiyo Yuden & Verbatim +R's Only In My Burners
DVDFAB

Paid Not To Work
US Navy Retired ( 20 Years )(San Diego Gas & Electric Retired (20 years)
Proudly Served On
USS Coral Sea CVA-43 (VF-154) / USS Oriskany CVA-34 (VFP-63) / USS Ranger CVA-61 (VF-121)
6 trips to the Gulf Of Tonkin
Jimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2008   #7
DVDidle Author
 
fengtao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,024
Re: Transfer DVD FAB from old computer to new computer

Hi crtguy,

You can transfer DVDFab from old computer to new one without any problem.

For upgrade, if your license is bought before May 8, 2008, you will get lifetime free upgrade.

To get new version, please download it from http://www.dvdfab.com/download.htm and follow the instructions.

Thanks!

Best Regards,
Fengtao
__________________
DVDFab - The ultimate DVD copying/converting/burning software! Copy any DVD to DVDR/PSP/iPod/etc.
VideoFab Converter - Convert source video file on your PC to target device.
DVD Region+CSS Free - Watch and copy any region code CSS-encrypted DVD on any DVD drive!
http://www.dvdidle.com/
fengtao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2008   #8
MyCE Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 62
Re: Transfer DVD FAB from old computer to new computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by fengtao View Post
Hi crtguy,

You can transfer DVDFab from old computer to new one without any problem.

For upgrade, if your license is bought before May 8, 2008, you will get lifetime free upgrade.

To get new version, please download it from http://www.dvdfab.com/download.htm and follow the instructions.

Thanks!

Best Regards,
Fengtao
Thanks Fengtao but every time I download up to 5065 I get open DVD source when running original disc to copy and then program closes. I have tried clean uninstall and redownload with no success. Version 5050 works fine. Any suggestions?

Last edited by crtguy; 22-07-2008 at 18:32. Reason: spelling
crtguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2008   #9
MyCE Resident
 
90312's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Missouri Bootheel
Posts: 853
Re: Transfer DVD FAB from old computer to new computer

Just a hunch but after a clean uninstall and reinstall you'll probably need to reboot the computer to install the drivers and stuff prior to trying to make a backup.
__________________
The more you learn about a hammer the more everything looks like a nail.
90312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVD FAB Locks Up Computer cleary71 DVDFab / DVD Region+CSS Free 0 11-03-2008 05:09
Opening DVD Fab Decrypter locks computer G_Ivan Awfulitch DVDFab / DVD Region+CSS Free 15 24-12-2007 16:42
how to transfer from ipod to computer dlambert Consumer electronics 3 22-12-2006 07:06
DVD Fab Express -- It completes the burn but will only play in my computer. Doc Hollidey DVDFab / DVD Region+CSS Free 10 06-07-2006 19:49
How to transfer 1click program from old computer to new computer? piper123 Movie copy software 1 15-01-2006 21:05


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:30.
Top