Old 25-02-2007   #1
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
DVD5 vs DVD9

Sorry if this has already been answered. I am new. Is it better to put it in DVD9 mode even if you are not using double layer discs. I see that the quality is always at 100%.
marstc09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2007   #2
CDFreaks Resident
 
maineman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 5,269
Re: DVD5 vs DVD9

Quote:
Originally Posted by marstc09
Sorry if this has already been answered. I am new. Is it better to put it in DVD9 mode even if you are not using double layer discs. I see that the quality is always at 100%.
Hi marstc09 and welcome to cdfreaks.

In a word, no.
When you choose dvd9 as the "target size", you are in fact choosing a DL disc as the target, that's why it says 100%.
100% means no compression.
If you were to try to place a large file movie, say 8 GB or so, onto a SL disc and choose dvd9, the burn will fail. The default target size for a dvd5 = 4300MB(. You can increase this to about 4470 MB.)
Any movie file larger than this when dvd9 is chosen, will fail. Actually, the application should prompt you when the incorrect target is chosen.

Sorry for the short explanation, but I'm headed out the door.

Hope this helps.
__________________
If it ain't broke, don't fix it!

You know how to whistle, don't you, Steve? You just put your lips together and... blow. | Lauren Bacall | "To Have and Have Not" (1944).

Last edited by maineman; 25-02-2007 at 22:09.
maineman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2007   #3
Nightwatchman
 
signals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,030
Re: DVD5 vs DVD9

Quote:
Originally Posted by marstc09
Sorry if this has already been answered. I am new. Is it better to put it in DVD9 mode even if you are not using double layer discs. I see that the quality is always at 100%.
Welcome to the forum. Don't think I'd do that. It tells DVDFab to expect a DL disc, and finding a SL instead will have unpredictable results, the best of which is a box popping up asking for a DVD9 to be inserted. DVDFab's compression works well with most movies down to 70% or so, even lower in some cases. If you want to keep the quality number up, use Customize mode and unselect some of the audio streams and disc extras. Select DVD9 only for burning one or if you want to write an uncompressed file to your HDD.

/EDIT/Sorry, Tom. Slow typing+wordy post=two replies for lucky marstc09.
signals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2007   #4
CDFreaks Resident
 
maineman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 5,269
Re: DVD5 vs DVD9

Quote:
Originally Posted by signals
/EDIT/Sorry, Tom. Slow typing+wordy post=two replies for lucky marstc09.
Boy, you can't be any slower than yours truly...
Besides, like you said, two replies (or more) is a good thing...
__________________
If it ain't broke, don't fix it!

You know how to whistle, don't you, Steve? You just put your lips together and... blow. | Lauren Bacall | "To Have and Have Not" (1944).
maineman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting DVD9 to DVD5 BoSox2882 Movie copy software 14 06-09-2007 06:05
DVD9 or DVD5??? Hickpoppy DVDFab / DVD Region+CSS Free 22 09-04-2007 03:22
dvd9-dvd5 commandline? boombastic Movie copy software 5 14-09-2005 22:42
DVD9 to DVD5 KOTOK Movie copy software 5 04-02-2005 00:43
dvd9 to dvd5? babychar2002 Burning Software 7 20-05-2004 18:42


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:23.
Top