Old 02-07-2007   #1
New on Forum

DVD Burner - IDE or SATA Interface?

I'm a complete noob here, and also when it comes to buying a DVD burner. I apologize if this topic has been covered hundreds of times here. I was referred here by a fellow member of SilentPCReview.com.

I'm getting ready to build my first PC. The PC will not be a gaming or home theater rig - the most intense activity will be photo editing (and possibly some video editing if I ever buy a camcorder). I want powerful and quiet.

I need a CD/DVD burner mostly for loading software, and making backups of data, photos, etc. I occasionally make music mix CDs for my wife and I also.

I will need one drive for sure, and am leaning towards the SATA interface as the cables are smaller (better for airflow inside the case it would seem). I am trying to make a decision between getting a bruner with the IDE interface or the SATA interface, and have some questions:

1. Is the SATA interface better than IDE?
2. If the SATA interface is the way to go, are there many drives out there that are of good quality?
3. If there are quality SATA DVD bruners out there, can you suggest one or two? I need it with a black bezel.

I am building a Core 2 Duo system with an E6600 CPU and an Asus P5W DH Deluxe motherboard. I will be running Windows XP Pro SP2 to start with, and may possibly switch to Vista down the road (once one or two service pack updates are released by MS). I will be using a P812 case from Antec.

My main priorities for a burner (in order) are as follows:
- able to burn CDs and DVDs, and also dual-layer DVDs
- accurate CD and DVD creation (low frequency of producing a drink coaster)
- low noise relative to other drives out there

Thanks in advance for helping this noob make a purchase decision.

Jason
Jason W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2007   #2
MyCE Resident

Re: DVD Burner - IDE or SATA Interface?