Old 03-08-2006   #1
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1
TSSTCorp TS-L632D Problems

Hello everyone! I found this site through some searching. It looks like a great place.

I just purchased an ASUS S96J notebook from an online reseller. I have a TSSTCorp TS-L632D DVD burning drive. I wanted to burn a DVD, so I placed one of my blank 8x Sony DVD-R's into the drive. Unfortunately, the drive took 5 minutes to finally read it as a blank disc! I've tried Sony discs that I already burned information onto with my desktop, and they take anywhere from 1 to 5 minutes to finally load. My own DVD+RW's load instaneously, blank or burned, and my friend's DVD-R's (I don't know of the company) load instaneously as well.

Does anyone know of a possible firmware update or perhaps driver update I can get so my drive will read these discs in a timely manner? I already called my reseller, but they weren't sure what I should do, other than uninstall the device and reinstall it (which does nothing).

Does anyone perhaps have any suggestions of better-quality media I should buy?

Here is what Discinfo has to say:

DISCINFO VERSION : 1.6.1.6
VENDOR : TSSTcorp
MODEL : CD/DVDW TS-L632D
REVISION : AS05
VENDOR SPECIFIC : Z
LOADING MECHANISM : Tray
SERIAL NUMBER : TS-L632DFirm
NUMBER VOL. LEVELS : 256
BUFFER SIZE : 2048KB
TOSHIBA CODE : OEM AS
TOSHIBA MODEL :
INTERFACE : ATAPI
RPC2 SCHEME : YES
STATUS : Set
USER CHANGES : 4
VENDOR CHANGES : 4
CURRENT REGION : 1
ANALOG AUDIO PLAY : YES
COMPOSITE OUTPUT : NO
DIGITAL PORT-PORT1 : NO
DIGITAL PORT-PORT2 : NO
READ UPC CODE : YES
MULTISESSION READ : YES
MODE 2 FORM 1 : YES
MODE 2 FORM 2 : YES
READ ISRC CODE : YES
READ BAD CODE : NO
BUFFER UNDER-RUN : YES
MT. RAINIER : YES
CAN READ CDR : YES
CAN READ CDRW : YES
CAN READ CDRM2 : YES
CAN WRITE CDR : YES
CAN WRITE CDRW : YES
CAN TEST WRITE : YES
CAN READ DVD-ROM : YES
CAN READ DVD-R : YES
CAN READ DVD-RW : YES
CAN READ DVD-RAM : YES
CAN READ DVD+R : YES
CAN READ DVD+RW : YES
CAN WRITE DVD-R : YES
CAN WRITE DVD-RW : YES
CAN WRITE DVD-RAM : YES
CAN WRITE DVD+R : YES
CAN WRITE DVD+RW : YES
MAX CDR READ SPEED : 24
MAX CDR WRITE SPEED: 24

Thanks a lot!
Albel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2006   #2
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Re: TSSTCorp TS-L632D Problems

I'm having a very similar issue...

My buddy bought a dell B130 with the TS-L632D DVD Drive in it. I've noticed that everything seems to lock up whenever any kind of burnt media is put it (CD-R, DVD+R, etc...). Dell's site doesn't provide the original flash nor do they have anything in their knowledge base. I've been looking around and I'm lead to believe that this is something that a firmware upgrade might fix. I'm hoping to get in contact with Dell today to see if one's available yet.

I'll try to keep you updated...

-Rick
rvvisse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2006   #3
MyCE Resident
 
_chef_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: @FX labs .de ...playing LLAMATRON :-]
Posts: 31,135
Re: TSSTCorp TS-L632D Problems

This is no firmware issues but a drivers issue.
__________________
Enable DMA with micrAp$0ft Enable DMA free at your will busTRACE => Upper/Lower Filters Util
DevCon
***HOW TO ... Delete the Upper & Lower Filters!***

If you expect help then please use the powerful SEARCH. Try ThreatFire
I am looking for DVD-R for Authoring & HD DVD media. Please PM me if you can help me.

Vamos Tribbles! V-a-m-o-s!!
_chef_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2006   #4
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Re: TSSTCorp TS-L632D Problems

Any ideas on how do I fix it?

As of right now, Dell doesn't offer any drivers or flashes for this drive. The only Samsung drives they offer drivers for on the Inspiron B130 are the TSST TS-L532B slim 8x DVD+/-RW and the TSST TS-L462C 24x slim combo. I have the TS-L632D slim 8x DVD+/-RW DL

I'm ready to cry.
rvvisse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2006   #5
MyCE Resident
 
_chef_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: @FX labs .de ...playing LLAMATRON :-]
Posts: 31,135
Re: TSSTCorp TS-L632D Problems

DRIVERS come with the OS.
You may want to test the drive in another computer, even with an slimline adaptor...
__________________
Enable DMA with micrAp$0ft Enable DMA free at your will busTRACE => Upper/Lower Filters Util
DevCon
***HOW TO ... Delete the Upper & Lower Filters!***

If you expect help then please use the powerful SEARCH. Try ThreatFire
I am looking for DVD-R for Authoring & HD DVD media. Please PM me if you can help me.

Vamos Tribbles! V-a-m-o-s!!
_chef_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2006   #6
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Re: TSSTCorp TS-L632D Problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by _chef_
DRIVERS come with the OS.
You may want to test the drive in another computer, even with an slimline adaptor...
Well, I unfortunately don't have access to any of those things. But, I have done a clean install of XP on it and I continue to face the same issues. My drive is also set to DMA so that's not the problem either. TOSHIBAer said he was going to look into into it with his friends at Toshiba, but he didn't make any promices. I'll keep you updated.
rvvisse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2006   #7
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6
Re: TSSTCorp TS-L632D Problems

Help...I am new to forums but not puters...I have a Dell XPS M1710....love the puter hate the DVD Drive...It seem to work fine when I first got it but now it is EXTREMELY slow...using all Proc resouces...speed will not go above 1.75x....when reading or writing....It is a TSST CORP. TS L-632D Firmware DE03. I have been investigateing on the net and finding several people with the same problem with this drive...but no solutions...ANY Help would sure be appreciated ....
Thanks from the newbe...juggy203
juggy203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2006   #8
MyCE Resident
 
_chef_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: @FX labs .de ...playing LLAMATRON :-]
Posts: 31,135
Re: TSSTCorp TS-L632D Problems

Enable DMA mode.
__________________
Enable DMA with micrAp$0ft Enable DMA free at your will busTRACE => Upper/Lower Filters Util
DevCon
***HOW TO ... Delete the Upper & Lower Filters!***

If you expect help then please use the powerful SEARCH. Try ThreatFire
I am looking for DVD-R for Authoring & HD DVD media. Please PM me if you can help me.

Vamos Tribbles! V-a-m-o-s!!
_chef_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2006   #9
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6
Re: TSSTCorp TS-L632D Problems

DMA mode is enabled...checked that right away...
juggy203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2006   #10
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6
Re: TSSTCorp TS-L632D Problems

says DMA mode(if available)
juggy203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2006   #11
MyCE Resident
 
_chef_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: @FX labs .de ...playing LLAMATRON :-]
Posts: 31,135
Re: TSSTCorp TS-L632D Problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by juggy203
says DMA mode(if available)
That is the unimportant part.

What DMA or PIO mode is actually on?
__________________
Enable DMA with micrAp$0ft Enable DMA free at your will busTRACE => Upper/Lower Filters Util
DevCon
***HOW TO ... Delete the Upper & Lower Filters!***

If you expect help then please use the powerful SEARCH. Try ThreatFire
I am looking for DVD-R for Authoring & HD DVD media. Please PM me if you can help me.

Vamos Tribbles! V-a-m-o-s!!
_chef_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2006   #12
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6
Re: TSSTCorp TS-L632D Problems

It says Current Transfer mode - Not Applicable
Not sure what that means...but I'm think'in it can't be good....
juggy203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2006   #13
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6
Re: TSSTCorp TS-L632D Problems

OK ...guess that means my DVD burner is not on Primary IDE ....Secondary IDE says device O is set to DMA if available...Current Transfer Mode: PIO ....should I switch the transfer mode to PIO..???
juggy203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2006   #14
Senior Administrator & Reviewer
 
Arachne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tabby Towers, West of England
Posts: 33,938
Re: TSSTCorp TS-L632D Problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by juggy203
OK ...guess that means my DVD burner is not on Primary IDE ....Secondary IDE says device O is set to DMA if available...Current Transfer Mode: PIO ....should I switch the transfer mode to PIO..???
Hi juggy203 ...Current transfer mode: PIO is not good - you want Ultra DMA as the current transfer mode

Follow the steps in this thread to get your burner using UDMA
__________________
RIP Baz 8/1997-11/2013 - love ya buddy

How to delete your upper and lower filters : How to check/enable DMA by Womble

Click here to join MyCE.com and be part of our friendly community!

Smile...people will wonder what you're up to
Arachne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2006   #15
MyCE Resident
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Dallas, TX Area
Posts: 568
Re: TSSTCorp TS-L632D Problems

Current Transfer Mode: Ultra DMA 2

That is what is should say. I have a Dell E1505 with that drive. Had an issue after a bios update, where WinXP ended up re-detecting the drive. If you can't get Windows to recognize Ultra DMA 2...delete the drive from the system in Device Manager...as well as deleting the Secondary IDE. Upon reboot...Windows will re-detect both...and tell you to reboot again. When done...should be Ultra DMA 2 when you get back into Windows
bobmitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2006   #16
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6
Re: TSSTCorp TS-L632D Problems

WAHOO...back to proper speed again....problem for sure was Not being in DMA mode...I tried the suggestions in the thread you sent...but was still not having any luck....was Stuck in PIO mode...then found that DELL's are a bit finicky in this area...I found a link to dell where there is a small program called "PIOtoDMA" which does all the settings for you...just run it and reboot...My XPS is back to being a complete speed demon once again ..Thanks for all the help and anyone with the same problem on a Dell...here is the addy... you should definately try this...thanks again....

http://support.dell.com/support/down...1&fileid=63977
juggy203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2006   #17
Senior Administrator & Reviewer
 
Arachne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tabby Towers, West of England
Posts: 33,938
Re: TSSTCorp TS-L632D Problems

Hey juggy203, glad you got it worked out, and thanks for posting the link for others who might have the same problem!
__________________
RIP Baz 8/1997-11/2013 - love ya buddy

How to delete your upper and lower filters : How to check/enable DMA by Womble

Click here to join MyCE.com and be part of our friendly community!

Smile...people will wonder what you're up to
Arachne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2006   #18
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1
Re: TSSTCorp TS-L632D Problems

Hi Folks.

I'm having the same problem as the original poster.
Everything is set to DMA.

I've searched the internet in vain for new drivers and/or firmware.

Does anyone have any other ideas? or places where a new driver can be found? (newer than 2001ish)

Thanks folks.
VeryCold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2006   #19
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Re: TSSTCorp TS-L632D Problems

I want to thank all the guys that contributed to this tread, I have the same system as Juggy203, and I am having the same problem. I am trying your fixes, so far my DVD playback is normal again, going to try and burn a disk now.
sandman6699 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2006   #20
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Re: TSSTCorp TS-L632D Problems

I want to thank all the guys that contributed to this tread, I have the same system as Juggy203, and I am having the same problem. I am trying your fixes, so far my DVD playback is normal again, going to try and burn a disk now.
sandman6699 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2006   #21
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Re: TSSTCorp TS-L632D Problems

Thanks for the help everyone who contributed to this thread, I have the same system as Juggy203 along with the same problem. Tried your fix and it worked. As opposed to Dell's help which is non-existent after a week. Thanks Again
sandman6699 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2006   #22
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1
Re: TSSTCorp TS-L632D Problems

I'm having a similar problem, but haven't been able to resolve it yet.

I have a Dell XPS m1710 with the TSSTCorp TS-L632D DVD drive. I can playback "Hollywood" movies (store bought) just fine. However, if I try to playback any of the DVD-R discs burned by my Sony RDR-VX500 component unit (the one connected to my TV), things fail. By default, Sony creates a basic main menu system when you "finalize" a DVD in their unit. When I insert one of those DVDs into my Dell XPS m1710, it displays the DVD main menu just fine but it doesn't allow me to start playing any of the video behind it. The same DVD works without any problems whatsoever on every other DVD player I own (TV-based, portable, or even other computers).

I contacted Dell regarding this issue, and spent over 2 hours on the phone with them yesterday. Sadly, we weren't able to figure out a solution.

Does anyone have any idea how I can troubleshoot this issue? I have a ton of DVD-Rs that have been burned this same way.

Thank you.
bc1993 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2006   #23
CDFreaks Resident
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 708
Re: TSSTCorp TS-L632D Problems

try this http://tinyurl.com/yg9b65

ta6dvdramx.exe works on 2 of my Samsung Drives


EDIT - Sorry 1 samsung L632D and 1 Liteon 165P6S
HarrySmiith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2006   #24
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 12
Re: TSSTCorp TS-L632D Problems

Just wanted to say thank you for all the people who contributed to this thread solved my problem only took about 5 minutes no long google searching so thanks

also just to add my little bit which was when i had trouble with my M1710 playing cirtain disks when i first got it i found regscrubxp cured that.
matisamd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2006   #25
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1
Re: TSSTCorp TS-L632D Problems

Helped me as well. Thanks.
d2r2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
About TSSTCorp TS-L632D burning quality Hannez Newbie Forum 0 21-07-2007 17:23
TSSTcorp TS-L632D in Vista? Invader Bugs Samsung / Toshiba / TSST Writer 10 26-06-2007 01:07
tsstcorp TS-L632D event id 51 Victorsand Samsung / Toshiba / TSST Writer 1 16-06-2007 23:02
Trouble playing DVD-9 on my TSSTCorp TS-L632D jhumur Samsung / Toshiba / TSST Writer 6 15-03-2007 06:18
TSSTcorp DVD+-RW TS-L632D David Valencia General Hardware Forum 1 07-02-2007 20:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:45.
Top